Eleven Things About Me Times Two {Take Two}

Friends, my new friend Jenni has awarded me with the Liebster award! Which means I get to share the real me with all of you. Thank you, Jenni!

What is the Liebster Award?

The German word Liebster (pronounced LEEB-ster) means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing and welcome.

The Liebster Award is given to upcoming bloggers who have less than 200 followers.

(Don’t think I should be able to receive this award?
Feel free to like my Facebook Page!)

**Please note: You may view the rules for the award at the bottom of this post.

Some might remember me doing an 11 Things About Me Post before. Hence the name of this post. Please note: I made sure not to repeat myself, which was a challenge! If you would like to read more random facts about me, you may check out my earlier post HERE.

ย 11 Random Facts about Me:

  1. An eye doctor once told me my eyes weren’t really hazel, they’re calico because they change color with what I’m wearing or what’s around me. Something tells me he meant chameleon but didn’t want to call me a lizard. A cat woman is much better…
  2. Pointed heels are not found in my wardrobe. Despite how much I like them, I like my knees not failing me more.
  3. If I didn’t worry about missing nutrition, I would have a loaded veggie burrito bowl every single day of the week and twice on Sundays.
  4. There are certain words in the English language that still mess me up no matter how many times someone tries to explain them to me. Example: Past vs. Passed. If you can describe the difference to me in a way google can’t, please do! And side note: I LOVE emails that point out how I could improve my grammar. Seriously.
  5. ‘Nikki’ and ‘Tech Savvy’ are never used in the same sentence unless there is an “is so not” in-between them. It’s one of the main reasons I fought starting a blog in the first place! And yet I learn so quickly when I put my mind to it. Father, give me the desire to learn all things techy that could serve You.
  6. Currently, I do not own a single bottle of fingernail polish. I threw all my old ones out before realizing how expensive replacing those bottles would be! If you have a very inexpensive line you like that doesn’t wear off every two days, let me know. My toes will thank you.
  7. Even after playing Scrabble Junior 20 some times today, I can still say I LOVE teaching kids how to play board games. I could play them all day long. Preferably not the same one more than 20 times in a row, but if they ask, I’ll never say no. (This one is kind of a repeat, but thank you for grace as I just played Scrabble Junior 20+ times!)
  8. I am extremely easy to shop for. Whether it’s because I never buy anything for myself or I’m not picky makes no difference. That being said, I still believe magazine subscriptions and books are the best gifts ever.
  9. The first thing I do when editing anything I write is go through and delete the excessive amount of ‘thats’ and exclamation points. I must be a joy to talk with in person.
  10. Sitting alone in a crowded waiting room is something I don’t mind at all. But I’m never able to get lost in my thoughts or people watch for long as I always end up having a person go out of their way to visit with me. God sure likes to take advantage of these moments I get and I do strive to show them Jesus.
  11. I prefer to take the stairs over an elevator. It’s not an exercise thing for me, though. It’s a fresh air/claustrophobic thing.

Jenni’s Questions for Me:

What is your greatest fear?

Bees. I fell into a ground hive when I was young and have never forgotten that experience. My heart palpitates at the very mention of them.

Describe yourself in three words.

Kind. Simple. Teacher.

What is your favorite passage of Scripture (verse or book)?

I wake up every morning with Lamentations 3:21-24 on my lips.

Name something that’s on your bucket list.

I have a Blogging Bucket List and a Personal Bucket List if you’d like to see more.
One thing: Make my own bread. The baker bone is not in me…but I’m striving.

Describe what a perfect day would look like to you.

If I’m with my family, it’s a perfect day to me! And if the temps are in the upper 60’s, low 70’s, I’m elated.

What is your favorite color?

Dry sage. Or any shade of green.

Share a brief testimony of how God is working in your life.

He’s turned me upside down lately, which I’ve discovered means I’m finally right side up. Now He’s turning me inside out. It’s been painful and extremely rewarding as I’ve begun to see things I hear Christians talk about so much the words seem to lose their meaning. I now see grace. faith. love. mercy. forgiveness in a whole new light. And I’m bursting to start sharing more.

What is your favorite snack?

Popcorn. Hands down.

If you could live anywhere, where would that be?

Close to family. Now, if only I could get them all to move to Alaska or Colorado…

Name five things that make you smile.

Toothless grins. A child’s giggles. Hand-written cards in the mail. Hearing from all of you (aka comments). My hubby walking through the door.

Why do you write?

Because God gave me a story to tell and has asked me to share it. Including the story in progress. And He’s given me the gift of sorting things out better when I take the time to put thoughts into tangible words. Thank You, Father…ย 

Oofda! Didn’t get enough? Check out my 100 Things About Me Post!

Now, I’m supposed to nominate 11 other people to do this as well. But the 11 I came up with have already been nominated by another! Plus, it would be more fun to hear from all of you…

How about you, friend? Care to share how we’re alike or polar opposite? I’d love to hear!

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

** Rules for receiving this award:
1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
2. Then answer the questions the tagger sent for them, plus create 11 questions for the people theyโ€™ve tagged to answer.
3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
4. Notify the people you have tagged.
5. No tag backs.

31 thoughts on “Eleven Things About Me Times Two {Take Two}

  1. Nikki,

    This is too funny, I just got a Liebster today, and I was thinking of who I was going to nominate, and I thought of you, of course…maybe we can just cross-link each other…I haven’t answered the questions yet…. yes, we’re kindred…love you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Of course you were on my list, Dolly! But I saw on Twitter today that you already received the award! Maybe I should have nominated you anyway to give you another nudge ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to reading what you come up with, friend! Love you, too!

  2. Nikki,

    This was so fun to read! I loved it ๐Ÿ™‚ Have you tried Essie nail polish? I would say its moderately priced, but works great. Although even professional mani’s wear off after a couple of days for this mama. I prefer pedi’s, although my toes don’t show it now!

    I am glad to get your posts to my inbox ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Michele~

    • I might have to resort to Essie, Michele. I was hoping for something cheaper, but you do get what you pay for, don’t you! And you know what? I’m surviving just fine without any! go figure ๐Ÿ˜‰

      His light shines so bright in you, friend. What a blessing you are to me. I, too, enjoy your words in my inbox!! Love you!

      All for Him with hugs to you,
      Nikki

  3. Love this post – it’s so much fun to learn more about you. I really think we are kindred, just a few hundred miles apart!!

    Past is used for time..as in past-tense or half past 10:00pm. Passed is used to describe action as in “I passed him in the hall” or “I was passed up for promotion”. Does that make sense? I am a total nerd, I know. Sigh.

    Best nail polish I’ve gotten was at CVS, cost $2.99 and takes a LONG time to wear off. I think it’s NYC polish?

    Thanks for grace and liking me in spite of my geekiness!!

    • Past=time. Passed=action. Oh.My.Goodness. It might have clicked. But I’m still scared. Now I know who to run them by, though! THANK YOU, Aurie!

      I have a CVS by me, I’m going to take a look. thanks again!

      so blessed by you. those silly miles that keep us away…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I loved learning more about you, Nikki! Baking bread use to scare me. But after spending a persistent month of baking bread 2-4 times a week, I think I’ve got it. At least most of the time my bread turns out. ๐Ÿ™‚ Green is also my favorite color.

  5. I love this and had a running commentary of things I’d say back to you in my head as I read. Let’s see what I can remember:

    I have chameleon eyes too. No heels for me either unless I’m feeling especially dangerous. I haven’t had my nails done in probably over a year. I am inept at doing them myself, and I can’t afford manis and pedis too often. I love the idea of a blogging bucket list. I don’t like popcorn.

    The end. Much love to you and a fabulous weekend!

    • Girl, I’ve never even had a mani or a pedi. Why, I’ve never even had my hair professionally colored. I am so bad at spending money on myself!! and now that i’m not working, well…there might not be hope for me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      not even the smell of popcorn? doesn’t it warm your heart when walking into a theatre? Or is just me?

  6. Nikki, enjoyed learning more about you! No nail polish in this house for the same reason, and my toenails remain hidden. Don’t like bees, never did, never will, stung by some as a young child — another alike. Books and magazines best gifts ever. Popcorn is a winner. I could go on, but you get the idea — despite our age difference, we’re an awful lot alike. Especially the reason we write! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Loving you from OR. Have a fab Friday and wonderful weekend!

  7. I didn’t get to read this until today…loved it! I bought a bottle of Zoya polish at the salon in a clearance bin for $5.00!! Seriously the BEST polish I have EVER used. Even stays on my nails for 5-6 days and a month on my toes! But I think some polishes work on some people better than others. Good luck with
    that! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Such a fun post! Thanks for sharing YOU!

    Mary

  8. Hi Nikki,

    I came to your blog after reading Lisa-Jo’s post today.

    I love that seeing your hubby makes you smile – how romantic! Kids giggling, God’s love, and my friend Colin are 3 that make me smile, and friends and family are more precious to me than anything that can be bought. If I could live anywhere, I think I’d live where I am now.

  9. Ah, the passed past thing was taken care of. Well, that’s good. I was going to use a parade to help. Let your imagination soar. ;D And walmart has teeny tiny fingernail polishes for a dollar or so which work fairly well, says the girl who used to paint all the time but has been very remiss in doing it as of late. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good to know you better. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Well, now I want to hear the parade example! I was thinking of a train…do I have it right if I say “The train passed by the station at a quarter past 10?” thanks for the tip on Walmart! I never go there as it is a drive for me, but I actually have a gift card to use there!!

      I’m enjoying getting to know you, Stacey ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Oh, this is so fun! I love learning all this wonderful stuff about you, Nikki!. You are adorable and real and amazing. With Dolly’s urging, I will have to tackle this too, myself, in a few days. {I detest rats and frogs. When I was mowing the front lawn, when I was a kid, I accidentally ran over a bunch of frogs on the lawn. . . and the bag that collected the cut grass wasn’t attached . . Can you imagine that gory scene? Can you hear my scream? ๐Ÿ™‚ } Love to you!

    • Oh my goodness. I cannot even imagine that scene! ack! And how fun that you’re going to participate! I can’t wait to read ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for taking the time to read mine, friend. You bless me so!

  11. Oh it’s so fun to learn more about you and your awesomeness! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m totally with you on the elevator thing, although mine is purely based on fear. I’m always afraid the elevator will break down and I’ll be trapped inside. I also love playing board games with my family. I’m super competitive too. I don’t believe in throwing the game so my daughters will win. Lol! They need to learn how to lose with grace, right? I know I’m terrible. Haha! Loved this post.

    • Oh you are so funny! I’m not competitive, but it comes off that way since I’m very focused on the game when I play ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m with you–they don’t need to win all the time! Now when I’m playing someone who’s competitive….watch out! I can play with the best of them ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for sharing with me, friend!

  12. Pingback: Liebster Award | belovedpursuit

I can't wait to hear from you...