Craving Results {And a Little Graffiti, Too}

Friends, I’m completely honored to be sharing some thoughts from my dear friend Alene with you today. I trust she will bless your heart as much as she does mine (and I’ll talk more about her at the end).

Take it away, Alene!

Do You Crave Results?

It was a precious moment in time. I was visiting with my friend Rick, who lives on the streets, when he sensed I was tired and worn-down.

I didn’t realize my wavering spirit was easy to read. I was frustrated. I had been serving and pouring into others and waiting . . .

Waiting for the fruit. I wanted to see results.

Couldn’t God just show Himself to confirm the direction of my call?

I so desperately wanted to know what I was doing was making a difference. I wanted to know that being tired and weary was worth the battle.

Arriving at church the next Sunday, I was met by Rick. He handed me a poem he had written.

The Seed

“We as Christians are called to a deed
To share the love of God, thereby planting the seed.
Not being concerned with the ground it might fall
Just do it with prayer and answer the call.

The world is hurting so much it’s crying
Don’t be another Christian who’s not even trying.
Pointing a finger at one that has fell
Knowing even God wishes no one goes to hell.

Oh! What a tragedy it would certainly be
If even one is lost that could have been free.
Seeing a brother or sister in such desperate need
Then only able to cry to God “why didn’t I plan the seed!”

Are you craving results?

Those are not ours to reap. God instructs us to plant the seed. He is responsible for the results.

Matthew 13:18-23 NLT
“Now listen to the explanation of the parable about the farmer planting seeds:
The seed that fell on the footpath represents those
who hear the message about the Kingdom and don’t understand it.
Then the evil one comes and snatches away the seed
that was planted in their hearts. The seed on the rocky soil
represents those who hear the message and immediately receive it with joy. But since they don’t have deep roots, they don’t last long.
They fall away as soon as they have problems or
are persecuted for believing God’s word.
The seed that fell among the thorns represents those who hear God’s word, but all too quickly the message is crowded out
by the worries of this life and the lure of wealth,
so no fruit is produced. The seed that fell on good soil
represents those who truly hear and understand God’s word
and produce a harvest of thirty, sixty, or even a hundred times as much as had been planted!”

About Alene:  Alene loves to tell the story. With a heart for the broken, Alene Snodgrass speaks, writes, and blogs about her real life experiences serving people in the inner city. Alene’s blog, PositivelyAlene.com, is where many come who are seeking and searching to be challenged to find their purpose through serving others.

You can connect with her

on Facebook
or Twitter.

Friends, Alene has a new e-book out that I am so excited about! I devoured it in one sitting…

Graffiti is about the amazing journey of how two people, Alene and a homeless friend, thought they had nothing in common. As they stepped out of their comfort zones God revealed there was a common heart-story to be shared.

This e-book has a way of letting you see others through the lens of love. Won’t you consider adding it to your library?


You may Download
it here.

Friends, I am blown away by what Alene is offering right now with her e-book Graffiti. If you order it BEFORE November 30th, she is offering 9 of her other amazing resources FREE! That’s a $75 value for less than a tall mocha…

I could go on and on, but you can find out all the info you need HERE.

You all know I’m not a big promotional blogger. I rarely do reviews and it’s not because I haven’t been asked. It’s just not what He’s called me to do. But Alene is near and dear to my heart. I met her in this crazy cyber space back in February. And her passion for reaching out with His hand of love is contagious. Friends, my faith has blossomed because of her outlook and I’m certain you would be blessed by her, too.

How about you? Have you been craving results? Have you planted seeds lately? How do you wait for the fruit? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with us.

Simply striving,

Nikki

25 thoughts on “Craving Results {And a Little Graffiti, Too}

  1. I think it is human to crave results…Yes, planting seeds of love, encouragement, and prayer in the lives of family, friends, and strangers…It encourages me when I remind myself that God is the One who causes the growth, and sometimes He lets me see the results, and sometimes not…I ask for the grace to be faithful ….so much happens underground once I plant a seed- in real life…and I imagine the same applies to spiritual seed …Thanks, Alene, and Nikki 🙂

  2. Alene and Nikki
    Thank you so much! Oh, we are all truly poor without our Pappa God. I don’t think we are able to stop craving results unless He changes our hearts! But the good news is that He loves doing that. I think we are all in some way familiar with that pruning process! And I am thankful that He is the Gardener to for I do NOT have spiritual green fingers!!
    Blessings you two
    Mia

  3. Sometimes, I forget that it’s not really “me” doing the planting at all. And then I wonder why “I” am get so frustrated over not seeing the fruits of “my” labor. Thank you, Alene, for writing this. I so look forward to devouring it on a future plane ride!
    And thanks Nikki for spotlighting it!

  4. Thank you girls for sharing. It sounds like what I’ve been learning about for a while. Life is a journey, a process in which we’re invited into by this almighty God. ~ Love from Maine, Amy

  5. Nikki, it’s so nice of you to introduce us to Alene! I echo what the other gals have said: we SO want to see a little fruit to confirm we’re on the right path! But God doesn’t call us to bring results, He calls us to be obedient. In the end, that’s what we’ll be responsible for.

  6. A great reminder, and nice to hear about Alene and her story. Parenting continues to be one of the biggest ways God teaches me patience in the harvest. Being in youth ministry also – as I see responses to seeds planted many years after I originally tried to harvest something. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  7. Learning to wait on God’s timing is one of the most difficult things we do as a parent and Christian. Thankful that I’m not the one who has to try to make the seed grow since I am far to impatient. Love leaving it all to Him. Blessed by this post.
    Joy

  8. This was such an apt word for me.
    I have really been struggling with validation lately. I feel like The Lord is preparing me for something in the way of community ministry but I am so hesitant and insecure since I feel like all “the little things” I try to do don’t even glean any results. My insecurities and trust issues have been slowly sloughed off me, layer by layer however. Only by God’s patience and grace. I think this post is part of this process. I am heading over to your friend Arlene’s site today.
    Cheers,
    Leah

    • Oh what God can do in and through you, Leah. That sloughing is a painful process at times. Praying you feel His loving embrace today and see how He pursues you. for He validated you long ago…
      Thank you for sharing with me.

    • Thank you, Leah!! Oh my, you hit a word that I struggle with — validation. I continually tell myself I am validated by the King of Kings through His blood. You would think that would be enough!!! But no — that crazy beast rears it’s ugly head and I fight it often. Praying you hold your head high and know that God will make that direction clear for you soon. You’ve been validated — and that validation never runs out!! Hallelujah.

  9. Pingback: 121211 – George Hach’s Inner Disciplines Journal – Tuesday | Quality of Life Ministries

  10. Pingback: The Law of Christ | Quality of Life Ministries

  11. Pingback: Seed | Quality of Life Ministries

I can't wait to hear from you...