Chronological Study Bible {A Review}

 

It came in the mail just before Christmas and I was anxious to dig in during the New Year. Most of you know I like to read through the Bible in a different translation each year and the thought of reading it chronologically excited me. In fact, I decided to use it for the 90 day challenge I was going to participate in for Lent.

Ruth and Naomi At-A-Glance

Ruth and Naomi At-A-Glance

Confession: I couldn’t get through it in 90 days. Not with this Bible as the helps were so distracting! In a good way. I would read and find myself drawn to their points in the margins. Their at-a-glance sections. The colorful maps and the nuggets of wisdom worth dwelling on.

I’ve had it four months now and I’m still in the Old Testament.

(Although I did skip forward for Lent.)

While I assumed I would simply enjoy this Bible for the chronological aspect, I find myself enjoying the Study Helps the most. Even my Sunday School class has benefited from it as I’ve read some of the highlights to them. Such as their little tidbit on the Yoke. And we’ve used the chart listing all the disciples and their occupations, etc.

Yoke

Reading through the path Jesus took to the cross in this format impacted me greatly this Lent. Maybe my heart was simply softened to receive it deeper this year, but one thing I do know: It was easier to picture the story unfold. And it amazed me to see how different the four perspectives of the disciples were and how they recanted the story for us uniquely.

I had planned on getting through this Bible before I wrote my review, but I can tell that’s going to take some time and I feel guilty for having it as long as I have with nothing to show for it. So maybe you simply knowing how much I’m enjoying it is enough?

This isn’t the type of Bible you buy and use one time, then set it on a shelf. This is one you can go back to over and over again. I’m partial to the NLT translation when sharing it with children, as well.

Overall, this Bible is one I would recommend. I’m so grateful for the chance to review it and share it with you.

For more information regarding the Bible, please visit THIS LINK.

How about you, friend? Have you ever read through any portion of the Bible chronologically? Ever read the NLT? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Note: I am a part of the Tyndale Blogging Network. I have received this book for free in exchange for my review. All opinions and thoughts listed above are my own.

3 thoughts on “Chronological Study Bible {A Review}

  1. I DID participate in the 40 day reading challenge and WOW! It was an eye-opener for sure. I hate to confess it’s my first time ever going wholesale through such a large portion of Scripture. Now I’m lost! I need to find another “help meet” and this may be my answer! Thanks Nikki!

  2. We recently purchased the NIV Archaeological Study Bible which is an amazing and huge volume. But some of its helps are distracting. And actually the quality of some of the pictures, which are crucial to some of the archaeological details, isn’t as good as we could have hoped. Your chronological Bible seems to make more sense to me as I think about it. Thanks for giving us a good and honest review, even part way through. It is so good to know you’ll be coming back to us as you can. 🙂

  3. I love this! I have never read through a chronological study before, that sounds really interesting. I have a NLT Life Application Bible and I love it!

I can't wait to hear from you...

