How I Need Him {And Me Being Okay With That}

Jeremiah 29:13

It’s a simple promise. An invitation, really, to come looking with insurance attached.

Jesus reiterated it in Matthew 7:7 and in Luke 11:9, and my heart warms with the assurance that when I need Him and search for His presence with my whole being, He’ll be there. Always.

Yet how often do I look? How many times in my everyday do I go knocking?

I cannot think of one single day I didn’t need Him. I can’t recall one moment when I should have gone alone. Still I often try.

It was in my devotions a couple of weeks ago I read these verses differently. And something in my heart finally clicked on to the truth.

Friends, God’s expecting us to come looking. He’s fully aware of how much we need Him every moment of every day.

We’re not built to be self-reliant. We may grow old, but we never fully grow up…up to the heights of Him. And He’s okay with that. He’s offering His assistance with a promise that He’ll never turn us down.

And here’s what my heart struggled with: I need to be okay with that.

I need to admit every day I’m useless without His guidance.
I’m hopeless without His promises.
I’m worthless without His salvation.
I’m nothing without grace.

But, friends, just think of what I am in Him…just imagine what I can do with Him by my side or carrying me through…

Oh How I need Him.

So it’s settled. I want to wake up each dawn, see His splendor in the sunrise, bow before Him and knock. I want to appear before the King of Kings each morn and invite Him to my side. Or in front. Or whatever position He deems best for what I’m about to face that day. He knows best. Always.

This morning, it went something like this:

Father, here I am admiring Your masterpiece before me. Just when I think I’ve seen all the beauty there is to behold in a sunrise, you dazzle me with more…more of You. Thank You for showing me You have so much to offer. You have so much to give and You never grow weary of splashing me with surprises. Even in something that happens everyday.

Lord, I don’t know what today holds. I cannot anticipate every incidental or circumstance I’ll need to take on around every bend. Father, please, come with me today. Be my guide. Because You know. You see. You have the best course of action ready. And that’s the one I want. I want…no…I need You right here with me.

Show me the way, Abba, and I’ll go. Lead me and I’ll follow. Carry me and I’ll hold on tight.

So break the dawn, crack the skies, make the way bright before me. For I know in Your light, I will find all I need for today….You.

Oh how I need You…

Then I blast this song and sing along. I invite you, friend, to do the same (subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen in to this amazing moment of worship).

Oh How I Need You

All Sons and Daughters
Integrity Praise

Lord I find You in the seeking
Lord I find You in the doubt
And to know You is to love You
And to know so little else

I need You
Oh how I need You

Lord I find You in the morning
Lord I seek You every day
And let my life be for Your glory
Woven in Your threads of grace

Light glorious light
I will go where You shine
Break the dawn, crack the skies
Make the way bright before me
In Your light, I will find
All I need, all I need is You

How about you, friend? How do you claim your dependence on Him every day? Are you okay with it? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

12 thoughts on “How I Need Him {And Me Being Okay With That}

  1. Dear Nikki
    I was pondering this verse as well the other day and what jumped out to me was “with all your heart”. Well, I have learned that our heart is our spirit and that makes just perfect sense! God is a Spirit and we can find and commune with Him only on a spiritual level.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  2. This is so good Nikki!

    In a culture that preaches independence and self-sufficiency this is such a valuable lesson. One I am learning, over and over. Everything, every single thing, is easier when we allow Him to lead us.

  3. I am seeking…oh how I’m seeking. As my husband prepares to deploy soon I’m seeking Him with all my heart. Oh how I need Him. Beautiful post Nikki. This touched me deeply. And I LOVE the song. I had not heard previously. Thank you for sharing this today. Your words were needed.
    Blessings,
    Beth

  4. For the last week and a half I have been traveling to and fro visiting family, friends in PA, and attending a class reunion in VA . . . . I always feel dependent on my Lord, but especially in hundreds of miles of car and plane travel. Psalm 91 along with spoken and unspoken prayers have been my constant companion.

  5. Crack open that sky, Lord! How I love this thought, Nikki. You help us see the beauty in our dependence on our gracious and loving God. And, I love that!

  6. Nikki,
    Yes…daily dependence…I was telling God this morning that I cannot do life without Him….He is so good to be there for us, and He wants us to call on Him…Thanks so much for your prayers for my trip…I really felt your prayers and God as He pulled me out of my comfort zone…love to you 🙂

  7. I haven’t heard this one, Nikki. But what a great lyric — “Oh how I need You,” indeed! There’s such power in that confession each morning. I love how beautifully your prayer sums that up.
    Hugs to you, sweet friend!

  8. “We never fully grow up – to the heights of Him” – oh, that is true – and what a visual you create. Maybe it’s these challenges of raising a family – the teen challenges – for me it has been through them that I have learned how I cannot- and He can. It is liberating in so many ways to give it all over to Him. I had to learn that not thinking, re-thinking, re-re-thinking trying to do it myself meant that I loved my kids – giving them and the challenge to Him, trusting Him – and seeing them as He sees them – that is loving them best!

    Hope you are doing well, Nikki! hoping you are experiencing joy in this journey!

  9. There is nothing so true as this: we need Him. But I often live like I don’t, like I know what I’m doing and I’ve got it all covered. I’m so thankful He knows what I need and that when I finally realize I can’t do it, He’s right there. Amazing grace! Stopping by to say hello. I so loved this post!

I can't wait to hear from you...

