Do I Know Holy? {After All}

BENDOCK2-M-002

He asks me innocently enough. His silver-toned eyes glistening in the afternoon glow. It’s as if he won’t even blink until he’s heard my reply. And my heart races as I ponder what to say next.

For how can you describe the word ‘Holy’ in a way childlike comprehension can understand?

I close my eyes, as I often do in hopes I can visualize it well enough to explain; but this time is different as I wonder to myself: Do I even know “Holy”?

My mind races through the pages of proof. The Book hallowed enough to claim the word in its title. I contemplate how it’s revered in the text.

Friends, maybe the beauty of Holy is one can never describe it enough. It can’t be encapsulated in to a simple explanation. A summary will never do justice.

So my boy and I…we do our best to decide what awes us the most. Me–I think of the womb. The one cursed with pain and still brings forth such miraculous beauty…despite of us… My boy reflects on recent discoveries involving metamorphosis and new life all the same. And I tell him then — The One who made all that possible…He Is Holy.  He…Is.

It’s because of His wonder I’ll join the shepherd boy, the one penned in Psalm. I’ll dance in the field of dreams. I’ll sing my heart out and shout to the heavens of glory…

I’ll cry Holy.

And I know I’ll never dance well enough. I’ll never sing pure enough. I’ll never shout the right things loud enough. I’ll never BE enough. But friends, do you know what I’m discovering? He doesn’t care about that.

After all… He’s the Holy One.

He came to take my place. Not so that I would take His.

He is enough.

Which makes me wonder: Maybe Holy doesn’t need a definition. For the meaning is found in its infinite wonder. It’s unmatchable beauty. It’s overwhelming grace.

I realize then it’s the eyes of a child one needs to see Holy in all its Splendor. Unadulterated faith is required to revere the only one worthy of such a Title. And I tell my boy he could probably describe it better than I could.

His eyes glance to the frieze. His breathing shallows as he whispers simply,

“Mom, I think Holy is something you just know…”

My lungs freeze as I swallow the lump brewing. I squeeze out quietly,

“Oh, bud…I hope you know…I pray we both do…”

Friends, I don’t know about you, but I don’t ever want to stop striving
To know Him
To see Him in all His glory
May I never rest until I’ve given honor and praise to the One I know as Holy.

After all…He is Holy…I just know it.

This song is worth your time. Subscribers — CLICK HERE to listen in.

After All (Holy)

by David Crowder

I can’t comprehend Your infinitely beautiful and perfect love
Oh I’ve dreamed dreams of majesty as brilliant as a billion stars
But they’re never bright enough after all

You are Holy

I will sing a song for You my God
with everything I have in me
But it’s never loud enough after all

You are Holy

Heaven and earth are full of Your glory
My soul it overflows full of Your glory
Oh blessed is He who reigns, full of Your glory
My cup, it can’t contain all of Your glory

Hosanna we are found after all You are
Holy

I can’t comprehend
You’re infinitely beautiful

How about you, friend? Do you know Holy? What comes to mind for you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

15 thoughts on “Do I Know Holy? {After All}

  1. Dear Nikki
    What a question!!! I have answered this mystery to myself in that our finite minds are totally unable to grasp the magnitude of our Pappa’s holiness, because He is way beyond and totally “wholly other” than we can understand!
    Much love XX
    Mia

  2. Childlike faith-that is my prayer. They see things so much clearer than we do, no? Holy Holy Holy is our Lord God Almighty, so worthy of our praise and adoration. May we never lose our awe of Him. Striving with you, Nikki.

  3. This is one of my favorite songs. I think it’s those last few words to the song…”I can’t comprehend your infinitely beautiful.” It just takes my breath away. But oh yes…I don’t ever want to stop striving to know Him. This was beautiful, Nikki. Thank you for sharing.

    • I think it’s that line that gets me, too, Beth. (and I feel like I should tell you about the comical 20 minutes or so I spent trying to figure out if it should be “You’re infinitely beautiful” or “your infinitely beautiful” because, really, they both work when you consider infinite!

      and I’m back to confusing myself….or just back to being in awe of Him….

      {HUGS} thanks for sharing your day with me, friend!

  4. I love that song. Beautifully written. I think the word that comes to mind when I think of holy is simply Jesus. You’re right. It’s so hard to explain other than Jesus…

    • Jen, my great-grandmother used to tell me the answer should always be Jesus…and I’m so grateful to you for reminding me of that! thank you…Yes…just Jesus.

      Thanks for spending some of your day with me! {HUGS}

  5. BEAUTIFUL, Nikki! Those lyrics and David Crowder’s tender voice — glorious! Will we ever, even in His presence, fully comprehend His holiness? I’m pretty sure it would slay us.
    Thank you for sharing!

  6. I don’t like this post – I love it! I swallowed my own lump at the mystery and beauty and plain and simple childlike faith that is required to just “know” Holy. May we always shout His name in a manner that pleases His heart and brings joy and deeper understanding to our own. Beautiful words to turn over in my mind, friend. Beautiful heart that composed them.

I can't wait to hear from you...

