RED {How it Speaks to Me} ~ Five Minute Friday

This is the post where I
Link arms with others who like to
Write on the wild side –unabashedly
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

DSCN3799

For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

RED

It invokes strength, determination, passion, desire, love. That’s what they taught us in design school.

I decided to paint my kitchen with it.

Not because of any scholarly advice, but because it speaks to me in ways other colors don’t.

Red has always been one of my favorites. My closet proves it. But mostly, I hope and pray my life shows it.

They also teach you in school that red is the color or war. Of blood spilled. Of lives lost.

Friends, it’s that life lost for me I want to honor most.

And I like to think when I crack my Bible open with His words shed in red, it should invoke strength. Determination. Passion. Desire. Love. Due to the war fought for the love of me. Because of the blood shed in my place.

So maybe when I stand at the kitchen sink, His color reflecting upon my face, I’ll think of Him lovingly. Maybe His strength will find me in the suds. Maybe passion will percolate from my soul and I’ll worship Him right there on the woven mat as I scrub away the dirt and crumbs of my everyday.

Father, I love how red speaks to me in ways other colors don’t. Thank You… May that never change.

 

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?

Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you, friend? How does red speak to you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

26 thoughts on “RED {How it Speaks to Me} ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Hi Nikki! So grateful to be beside you at FMF….your words “his color reflecting on my face” are beautiful. Bringing this into the daily-ness of living.
    Happy Friday to you!
    PS I wrote about painting our dining room red as newlyweds…and how every house since has had red. I think it evokes similar emotions as you said.

  2. So very beautiful. πŸ™‚ I loved how you tied in the definition you were taught in design school with the red connected with Christ’s sacrifice. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

  3. Ah yes – the words written in red… they win out over every other word… red wins over every other color… miss and love you sweet friend! I expect nothing less from you! (Me? I was so drained from the day – I wrote about my couch? My COUCH?) πŸ˜‰ Sorry we missed ya tonight!

  4. you have such a beautiful way with words and I love that picture at the top. Thanks so much for sharing. One of the other FMF posts that I was reading mentioned that Jesus’s words were in red. I suggested that they were in red for a reason, maybe to signify his blood and all that he did for us. I have no idea. that question is one my “Ask God when I get to heaven list.” πŸ™‚

    visiting from FMF.

    Have a beautiful weekend!

    Jessica

    http://mybeautifulli.blogspot.com/2013/09/five-minute-friday-red.html

  5. Nikki,
    Sorry we missed each other again…does calling before or after lunch on Wed. my time work for you? Email me some times that work for you…later after dinner, but I wonder if that is too late for you….now I can imagine you in your red kitchen…love how your heart turns toward Him πŸ™‚

  6. I have missed you, friend. It’s been awhile since I’ve been able to be here at Five minute Friday and really be here. Red speaks to me too. Some colors just do and when I logged on and saw the prompt my mind went off in a ton of different directions. I’ve always loved the old gospel hymns of crimson washing us white. May that never change. Yes!

  7. Really appreciated this line: “Maybe passion will percolate from my soul and I’ll worship Him right there on the woven mat as I scrub away the dirt and crumbs of my everyday.” I think we can all relate to that word picture. His red so we could be clean.

    Christy @ A Heartening Life
    http://www.ahearteninglife.com

  8. Oh how I love this. I had thought of His words in red in the Bible, but thinking of His blood shed just because He loves me….. My heart overflows with gratitude to Him. Thank you for these words!! ❀

  9. I shall never see red the same way again. How you melded the two ways we are “taught” to see red together into one Beautiful Color of Love… that spoke right into my heart. Loved this sweet Nikki!

  10. I agree with Missy, you make me look at the color red in an entirely new way. You have such a way with words. I loved everything about this. It’s always a delight to come here. Happy Friday.

  11. Nikki, beautifully said! You never fail to honor him in all that you do, and I love what you’ve said about the color red here. It evokes so much, doesn’t it? Sending love and hugs your way.

  12. You’re beautiful girl… I love when you write from a creative spontaneous heart like this today. We’re truly daughters of the King and SO. WELL. LOVED. Blessings tonight from your sister in Maine, Love Amy

  13. I like splashes of red. I painted my laundry room red once. I could do that – or a bathroom. I have a red couch – go figure that it’s not my favorite color and I don’t wear it – but I love what you did with the word red!

I can't wait to hear from you...

