Which Needy Am I?

P1760683~ Courtesy of Greg Abel Photography

I’ve been thinking about the rapport we have with Jesus…more specifically the relationship I have with my Redeemer. And I believe fully there is only one kind worth having: Hot. Don’t you think? Revelation 3 comes to mind…

I have to ask myself: Am I hot for Jesus?

Do I love Jesus or am I completely in love with Him?

Am I Head-over-heels, can’t get enough of Him, smitten?

Friend, a part of me thinks we either realize how much we need Him on a daily basis or we rely on Him only when we feel we need Him.

I have to ask myself: Which Needy Am I?

Do I have moments where I need Jesus to intervene, or do I realize I am nothing without Him, downright needy for Him?

Do I merely call upon His Name at my convenience, when I can’t seem to find my own way, or do I ache for Him throughout my everyday, clinging tightly to His promises…chatting with Him like the friend He wants to be. John 15 comes to mind.

It goes against human nature — to be needy. But in this upside down Kingdom of Grace, that’s a good thing.

Friends, Jesus thought we were worth dying for…I think that qualifies for being smitten.

He is head-over-heels in love with us. He just is. He. Is.

And He wants nothing more than to lighten our load, love on us relentlessly, give Himself to us. He has everything we could ever want. He Is everything we’d ever need.

I don’t know about you, but I realize and want to remind myself daily:

My, do I ever need Him. I’m head-over-heels, completely needy for Jesus.

Everyday. All day.

This week, I want to focus on this in my daily walk. You all know how music speaks to my heart in ways words cannot. So I’m committing to starting each morning with this song. For it sets the tone I want to walk into each day with. And I wanted to share it with you.

Friends, I just gotta have Jesus.

Lord, I Need You

Matt Maher, feat. Audrey Assad

Subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen in to this incredible song.

Lord, I come, I confess
Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heart
Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You
Where sin runs deep Your grace is more
Where grace is found is where You are
And where You are, Lord, I am free
Holiness is Christ in me
Teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus, you’re my hope and stay
Lyrics provided by KLove HERE.

How about you, friend? Are you needy for Jesus? How do you live that out in your everyday? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

10 thoughts on “Which Needy Am I?

  1. I cannot get enough of this song. Whenever I hear it I almost have to stop whatever I’m doing and focus. It’s. That. Powerful.

    Good message, today, nikk. So very true. Do I love Him with all of me? Or is He something I just tuck away in my pocket or put on my utility belt for when I think I need Him? Oh how I wish I were the first one, all day, everyday…but sadly I know I can be lumped into the second more often than not. Thank you for the reminder to keep these thoughts at the forefront of my mind….and wonderful songs like this are so helpful as well.

    • I should have known this song hit you hard, too, Ginger. I’m determined to get this…to change my mindset each day to simply lean hard into Him…so grateful this song is helping me. One day, I hope to answer that He truly is my all in all… ❤

  2. Dear Nikki
    It sounds so noble and admirable to say that one sees a disabling disease as a great blessing, dear friend, but when you were as independent and insecure as I was before my illness, refusing to let anyone in my heart for the fear of being hurt again, you soon realze what a gift true neediness for Jesus is, albeit it comes part and parcel with illness!
    Hugs XX
    Mia

    • Oh these lessons we learn the hard way…hardest way…I’m sure if we devised a tally of the Mia before being riddled with this affliction to the Mia today…we’d both see how much closer you’ve come to being the Mia Jesus came to save! [HUGS]

  3. “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.” Col 3:1-3

    May the head knowledge of this passage plus your beautiful words, translate into a unwavering zeal and an overflowing love in my heart that is not quickly forgotten in the face the daily task lists, joys or difficulties. He has been a sweet friend to me.

    Yes, Nikki, just give me Jesus.

I can't wait to hear from you...

