The Gift of STORY ~ Five Minute Friday

This is the post where I
Link arms with others who like to
Write on the wild side –unabashedly
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

DSCN4724

For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone.

This week’s prompt:

STORY

The bathroom mirror is where I hear it most. Sometimes a splash of cold water will drown it out long enough for me to glimpse reality and see clearly. Other times, I believe it the whole livelong day…

Who am I? No one of consequence…
What have I to offer? Nothing worthwhile…

It’s days like today, though…when I allow someone in and reveal the real me. Days like today when I let others see what He becomes through me.

For no one can tell His story like I can. No one has seen Him the same exact way I have.

And if I didn’t let it happen, no one of consequence would benefit from His grace that percolates through me. Nothing worthwhile would become of the glory discovered on my watch.

Friends, if there’s one thing God has given to each one of us, it’s STORY. His story. And I believe it lives wildly through each of us. Grace runs fluidly through our veins.

That’s the one gift given we get to spend here on earth…

Who am I to squelch the reality that He saves people like me?
What have I to offer but His love…the kind that never fails?

It’s days like today I catch a glimpse in that mirror and see glory glowing on my face. For I saw Him today in my mundane everyday. And I told someone about it.

Oh how I pray they saw His Story through me…

“The Bible sounds different from the mouth of a young mother than it does from the mouth of a widow.
This is because the words do not come straight off the page.
They percolate up through the silt and gravel of real people’s lives
so that the meaning in them is fluid, not fixed.
Listening to one another read/live Holy Scripture,
some of us learn what is meant by ‘The Living Word of God.'”
~ Barbara Brown Taylor, Leaving Church

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?

Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

Friends: I have a novel giveaway going on now! It’s not a feel good story…it’s more a rip-your-heart-out and give it to Christ kind of story. CHECK IT OUT HERE if you’ve ever said, “Father, break my heart for what breaks Yours”!

How about you, friend? What story has He given you? I’d love to hear and see Him through you.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

23 thoughts on “The Gift of STORY ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Oh Nikki! Letting others see what He becomes through me – what a picture of redemptive love. So missed you, friend. I walk away inspired to tell of his glory, too. Again.

  2. “Friends, if there’s one thing God has given to each one of us, it’s STORY. His story. And I believe it lives wildly through each of us. Grace runs fluidly through our veins.”

    Perfect. I want to choose His story over mine, any day of the week!

  3. Nikki – such goodness here. I love your gentle recollection and reminder to let Him be seen in our lives. To let us direct the glory His way. I could quote so much, but this > And if I didn’t let it happen, no one of consequence would benefit from His grace that percolates through me. Nothing worthwhile would become of the glory discovered on my watch. < I love that. And the conquering of the flesh that says – not worthy, by grace that says, through Me, you are worthy. What a blessing. Thank you, friend. Have a blessed weekend!

  4. “And I believe it lives wildly through each of us. Grace runs fluidly through our veins.” Love how you described God’s story in each of our lives and the grace that abounds! I always think that when discouragement sets in and satan tries to deceive us with his lies, that Christ must be working in our lives and satan will do anything to stop it. I could hug you right back and encourage you all the livelong day that the story God is penning in your life is awesome, glorious, and speaks life to many!!

  5. Hi Nikki! I loved the idea of the story sounding different from different people. I even thought about using that as my theme, but went with something else. But it is so true.

    Great to meet you today! Have a blessed weekend 🙂
    Ceil

  6. Shared this today because it totally resonated so deeply with me. Thank you so much for speaking truth about the stories that He gives us…that He wants us to share with others. Because He IS at work…using each of us, in spite of what we might think of ourselves, because he knows that he created us with a purpose and plan…and just the right ‘us’ for his dream for us! joining you from FMF

  7. Dear Nikki
    Oh, I love your words of God’s grace percolating through us. It just says it as it is!! Those days when you only see that little red man with the long tail and pitched fork on your shoulder when you look in the mirror are lies, we must remember that every word we hear is a lie!!
    Luv XX
    Mia

  8. That mirror can hide or reveal. Thank you for your encouragement to share the little bits that we feel are so insignificant. I’ve been away for far too long from your story. So glad to have come to your home today. 🙂

  9. “I saw Him today in my mundane everyday. And I told someone about it.” – I long for that to be my story everyday! Thanks so much for sharing!

  10. I like where you’re going with this. I didn’t even have time to tackle the God-part in the story living & story telling in my post today. It’s so vital to the story. Thanks for sharing and explaining more about His marvelous grace.

  11. “For no one can tell His story like I can. No one has seen Him the same exact way I have.”
    Perfectly expressed!! That is the beauty and wonder in having a real relationship with a personal God. No one knows Him like I do. No one loves Him the way I love Him. How precious, is that? I’m so happy you had an opportunity to share your story. Blessings!!!

  12. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Story | Even A Girl Like Me

  13. I never did like looking into the mirror. It lies to me all the time. But God wants me to peer in long enough to see His own reflection and then the truth will be heard. Thank you for your beautiful words, my friend. I’ve missed you!

  14. “Who am I to squelch the reality that he saves people like me?” We need more cities set on a hill just like that one, Nikki. I love it. Your writing never fails to bless my heart.

  15. “For no one can tell His story like I can.” God made each of us so special and has given to us His precious story to reveal to others. I will be leading a ministry for single moms this Fall and I would like to mention some of what you said to them if that is alright.
    Love and hugs,
    Joy

I can't wait to hear from you...

