Deceiving Whispers Silenced {Forgiven and Loved}

This community Lisa-Jo has built. It has blessed me like no other. Some days I wonder if I felt called to write a blog simply to meet these amazing souls found HERE.

Amy is one of them. I asked her recently if she would be willing to share a piece of her heart here on Music Mondays and she graciously agreed.

Friends, will you please welcome Amy?
golden-reflections-M

Standing at the family room window, I stared across the pond into the darkness.  I knew that soon dawn would be breaking.  The sun would rise from behind the mountain.  I wanted to pray like Joshua for the sun to stand still.  I was not ready to face a new day.  My thoughts were still occupied with days gone by.  My mind had been reliving all the pains and hurts of my past.  Some I had inflicted on those in my life and others that had been perpetrated on me.

Wounds so deep that even now years later; years after I had surrendered my life to the One who created me, after years in church, after years spent in prayer, the pain is still fresh and raw at times.

I felt as if I was Eve standing in the garden.  The serpent hisses in my ear:

“Did He really say ALL your sins will be forgiven?”
“Do you think He actually meant you when He said He loved the world?”

I knew that I had felt God amazing love in the past. I had known His forgiving grace. Not now. Not standing here in the dark.

I had again begun to wonder what the truth actually was.

Could a God so holy really forgive me for all I had done?
Could He love me, the unlovable?

I slowly lowered myself to my knees prayerfully asking that He would remind me of how great His forgiveness and love was toward me. Just as I whispered Amen, I hear these words flowing from my IPod:

Child, you’re forgiven and loved
Child, you’re forgiven and loved
Child, you’re forgiven
And child, you are loved
Child, you’re forgiven and loved

God sent that sweet reminder as the sun broke over the horizon.  The new day had begun as bright as my restored hope.

(I want to share the full lyrics of ‘Forgiven and Loved’ by Jimmy Needham with you in hopes that it will encourage you as much as it did me.)

Forgiven and Loved

Jimmy Needham

Tell me I’m forgiven and loved
‘Cause I hear it from the street corner priests
On how God is love and how man can be clean

But my joy has been on holiday
And my peace has almost passed away
Tell me I’m forgiven and free

O I tried and tried to rectify my hopeless situation
But I bought the lie I still have work to do
Now I’m working nine to five like I can earn my own salvation

But there is no condemnation in You
O whisper to me now that it’s for real
‘Cause in the silence of these walls righteousness lost its appeal

Dirty deeds have done me in
O but that can’t stop the faithful friend
Giving mercy once again as You heal

Here it is I’m feeling it
O He died, He died to rectify my hopeless situation
And His blood commands my guilt to leave

Now on Calvary I stand
Empty pockets, open hands
O there is no condemnation for me

Child, you’re forgiven and loved
Child, you’re forgiven and loved
Child, you’re forgiven
And child, you are loved
Child, you’re forgiven and loved

Subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen in to the song below:

How about you friend? Do you know that you are forgiven and loved? If you don’t know His grace and forgiveness, spend some time talking to God today? Or If you still have questions please feel free to contact me.  I would love to share the freedom I have found.

Amy works for a major Telecommunication company during the week but is a speaker/bible teacher on the weekend.  She is a happily married mother of two grown children. On her blog Living in Harmony Amy shares how God can take your past and use it in harmony with His love to create a beautiful song of hope, peace and renewed dreams. You can read her blog, Living in Harmony, follow her on Twitter at @amypboyd and Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/amypboydspeaks

Thank you for sharing your time with us.

Simply striving,

Nikki (and Amy)

33 thoughts on “Deceiving Whispers Silenced {Forgiven and Loved}

  1. Dear Amy
    Oh, dear one, we are truly forgiven and loved! I hear your heart about the lies wanting to steal the truth from our hearts! But, it helped me when I relentlessly started replacing the lies with truth the moment the enemy started growling in my ear. Thanks, Nikki, for sharing your friend.
    Much love XX
    Mia

    • There is nothing as freeing as when we accept God’s grace and know, really know, that we are forgiven and loved, is there ?? Like you have had to learn to take those lie and cover them with truth.

  2. I so love how the Father speaks words to us through others that are exactly what we need to hear. The thought of the three of us here in this space thrills my heart this morning and males me give thanks for the blessings that you two are to me. Thank you for this amazing start to my day.

    • I am so honored that His words through me blessed you this morning. I love how God mend hearts together across the miles and even through cyberspace. This community has encouraged me so much.

  3. Oh how often I fall to the lie that I’m “not good enough” and forget that it has nothing to do with being good enough – HE LOVES ME ANYWAY! 🙂 And his love makes me good enough! By Him I’ve been redeemed.

    Thank you, Amy, for reminding me this morning of that truth!

    • I catch myself falling to the lies so often and have to continue to remind myself that He does not ask me to be good enough (because I can’t be) but He just ask me to trust and obey Him. I am so blessed that His words through me served as a reminder to you that He loves you.

  4. It’s so easy for those evil whisperings to sneak it and steal our joy. And I love how God uses music to remind us of His love, just when we need to hear it the most. Beautifully done!

    • I am not musically inclined at all. I can’t carry a tune in bucket but I love music. God has often spoken to me through the lyrics of various songs. He continues to remind us that He loves my just as we are. However, He also loves us to much to leave us as we were.

  5. Oh so beautiful friend. I can see you there you know… Kneeling as light breaks the horizon and your heart finally landing on the truth that you are forgiven – no matter what forgiven. What a beautiful reminder sweet friend. Thank you for sharing so bravely here.

    • So glad you enjoyed. That night was such a turning point for me. It was the night that actually saved my life, literally. I had looked at others for my fulfillment when He was the only one that was able to fill my empty heart.

  6. I LOVE this song…”Child, you’re forgiven and loved.” That short sentence carries with it the amazing reminder of all He promises to us. Thank you for your beautiful words today, my friend! So awesome to see your smiling face here today! 🙂

  7. So glad to see you guest posting today!!! It is absolutely amazing when God sends us the Holy Spirit to remind us of the faith he has given us, to set our focus back on Christ and away from the whispers of the enemy. There have been so many times when I have felt God speaking to me thru music – hymns, praise songs, or just regular ol’ songs on the radio. Lovely piece, Amy! Wonderful testimony!!! Love you!!!!

  8. I am so blessed that the Holy Spirit has been sent to remind me of his love. God has always spoken to me in music but now I am also blessed that He is also speaking to me online through blog link-ups, twitter friends and guest posting. Thanks for your love and encouragement !!

  9. Hi Amy! So good to meet you and hear a bit of your struggle. I love how many creative ways the Holy Spirit will bring an encouraging word to us, and music is one of my favorites. I love that song, and pretty much anything that sweet Jimmy Needham sings. Thanks so much for sharing, Amy & Nikki!

    • Thank you Susan and it is so nice to meet a new friend. I stand amazed at how God will use anything to get my attention. Jimmy Needham is great isn’t he ?

  10. Very beautiful Amy and Nikki. I had never heard brother Jimmy before…what a beautiful gift he has been given! I love hearing about God’s redemption in others lives… including mine of course too. 🙂 How thankful are we tonight that Jesus left His Holy Spirit for us, amen? As He prompts us to receive His grace over us. You girls are so appreciated here. ~ Love to you both, Amy

  11. Pingback: Deceiving Whispers Silenced {Forgiven and Loved} Reblog for Thoughtful Thursday | Shandra Harris With Heart Wide Open

  12. Amy, what beauty and redemption in the words to this song. Your pain and your subsequent willingness to get down on your knees before our Gracious God and ask for His grace to rain down on you – it’s beautiful. It is redemptive. I am so mightily encouraged to remember that there is now no condemnation in our Christ, or before our Christ, or with our Christ. You, friend, write lovely things. Thank you for sharing this piece of your heart with us!

  13. Very encouraging story! It was an honor to read this.. it was hard for me to learn to forgive. And always carry that excess baggage with me! But this post really makes a difference in my life. thanks for sharing!

I can't wait to hear from you...

