Friend {And Why We Fit} ~ Five Minute Friday

This is the post each week where I
Link arms with others who like to
Write on the wild side –unabashedly
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

P1580928-M

For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

FRIEND

The label is one I’ve tried to hide behind. Use it as a shield to shelter my heart from the blows this world provides. And the longer I attempt it, the more I realize…being an introvert is no excuse. reason. handicap. shield.

God made us all relational people. We need friends–all kinds.

I’ve often found comfort in the verse “Where two or three are gathered in My Name, there I am” because I can handle two or three just fine. Yet Jesus needed 12. Still, He would need to find a quiet place alone to pray and refuel….

And the longer I allow Him to bend me ’till it’s uncomfortable. Send me where I need to lean hard in to Him. Mold me into what He had planned for me all along, the more I’m beginning to see…

I don’t need less friends…I need more. Because I need Him.

God is so big…we can not fathom the depths of Him. But we can catch glimpses…new aspects of His awesome goodness in each of us.

For He made us. to relate to one another. to all fit together in His Master Puzzle and belong. You and I, living this life as friends brings Him glory.

And let me tell you for the record: I am amazed by you and love how we differ. How we’re the same. How we fit. You are beautiful inside and out. And do you know what? I see Him in you. In ways I would have never seen Him otherwise. Thank you for giving me that chance. It’s no wonder He pursues you…

I’m honored to call you friend.

So I will guard your heart like it was my own. I will seek you out and strive to get to know you the best I can. I will let you in to my vulnerable places.

Because I need more of Him.

And I see Him in you.

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?

Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you, friend? Have you caught new glimpses of Him in one of your friendships lately? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

32 thoughts on “Friend {And Why We Fit} ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Nikki, I’m an introvert too and I understand how we can hide behind that. I am learning that I have to trust that God holds my heart. And if He holds my heart, then I am safe. So glad we were able to meet each other. Looking forward to growing alongside you, friend. πŸ™‚
    P.S. You totally exude courage!!! Imagine that?!!!
    Sending my love and prayers…

  2. Oh Nikki πŸ™‚ I love this. Truly, thank you. I felt like you were speaking specifically to me πŸ™‚ I have caught glimpses of Him in so many people – both good friends, acquaintances and complete strangers. He has that amazing way of getting a message to us through seemingly random encounters. I am constantly in awe of how He draws us together and works through us, even without our knowing. Have a blessed weekend!

    • Oh My! this is exactly what I came over here to say. However, you said it better than I had planned on phrasing it. Thanks April and Thank you so much Nikki!!

  3. Beautiful. As an introvert, I can relate to the caution you express. But to see how our lives are enriched, and we experience MORE of Him through friends is a welcoming challenge. Thank you.

  4. It’s a new approach: “I need more friends, because I need him” If we believe every relationship has the capacity to be used by God in shaping us and revealing the presence of Christ…..I think you’re onto something here….:)

  5. Yes, we see more of the facets of God in each face, revealing His beautiful attributes. We do need each other, we’re more of who He created us to be in the community of friendship. And you truly wear the label friend exquisitely.

  6. this is a beautiful post … so many of my own thoughts you have captured here. The lines “So I will guard your heart like it was my own. I will seek you out and strive to get to know you the best I can. I will let you in to my vulnerable places.”… it is like you are inside my head. I have a hard time letting anyone in, which makes it easy sometimes with God because He’s in no matter what I do. But your words are reminders to me to let others in, even if it might hurt.
    Thank you for this this morning.

  7. YES!!!! You did it!!! You put together the very things I’ve been toiling with in my own heart and made sense of it. Thank you!! Oh how I needed to read this today. πŸ™‚ May you be blessed beyond measure for stepping out into the uncomfortable to grab hands with us as we walk together on this journey home!!

  8. Nikki, you are a beautiful key piece in seeing the picture of God in this world for me. Your words and ways of expressing your thoughts are so different from my own. I would never have them without you. My puzzle would be incomplete.

  9. Pingback: Friend – #fiveminutefriday | Pilgrim Wanderings

  10. Oh, my friend, it is you that has given me a glimpse of Him tonight. Your beautiful words filled with His love touched my heart and soul. I so wish we could chat in person sometime. Maybe someday. πŸ™‚ Many blessings, my friend, Lisa

  11. I tend to be an introvert too, an observer watching others. I will add my thoughts when asked but I don’t jump in and share, I listen and quietly watch the friendships of others.

I can't wait to hear from you...

