Words {My Prayer for Voice and a Thank You}

IMG_5672

This time you spend with me here, I don’t take for granted. I’ll never get over your willingness to share a bit of your day with me.

Thank you.

I’m nearing my 300th post and realizing more and more — these words I shed, this time you spend, I don’t want them to be wasted.

It may mean I post less or it may mean I share more. All I can promise you is the words will be prayed over.

There are a number of thoughts swimming around and I’m trying to discern how He wants me to proceed. I know I need to share how my prayer life has changed lately. I know I need to talk about this lukewarm Christian business more, because I’m tired of it. And you should be, too.

My biggest fear is that I would allow the words shared here to become watered down, not in poetic form but in truth. And if it takes me longer to live them before I share them, I hope you understand.

Through Lent, I read every translation/version of James I could get my hands on. And a portion of the intro found in The Message has stuck with me:

“For, what good is a truth if we don’t know how to live it?”

Oh, friends, I pray I live His truth. Every day. I pray my words here point You to Him. And I realize how tall of an order that is, as I’m just me. But He’s just Him. And that’s what I plan on clinging to…

Words

by Hawk Nelson

Words can build you up
Words can break you down
Start a fire in your heart or
Put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

You can heal the heartache
Speak over the fear
God, Your voice is the only thing
We need to hear

Let the words I say
Be the sound of Your grace
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

I wanna speak Your love
Not just another noise
I wanna be Your light
I wanna be Your voice

I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

Subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen to this song of my heart.

How about you, friend? How do you resound grace and point to Him? What thoughts are swimming around in you lately? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me. I mean it…

Simply striving,

Nikki

29 thoughts on “Words {My Prayer for Voice and a Thank You}

  1. I know just what you are talking about. I started out as a life style/ photographer blogger. Not necessarily a Christian blogger for several reasons. But I started to feel the pull more and more to publish Christ working in my life. “Spirit led, not comment led” started to become more important. Yet like you I hesitate. For three reasons, the first being shallow: people don’t respond as much when you share intimate struggles and spirituality. Second, being I am very private (believe it or not) and don’t like broadcasting those deep things in me…its seems like being prideful and exposed all at once. And third, because The Lord has never let me forget that words I read years ago my Oswald Chambers, “to be careful with what you share in the demon-possessed valley what has been revealed on the mountain top” {Drawing for the transfiguration of Christ to the three apostles}. Its difficult keeping all that swimming in my head and heart straight. Sometimes I think, oh just blog about recipes and how cute your kids are for heavens sake and stop torturing yourself! I am a writer though.I am owned by Christ. The thing that The Lord keeps convicting me is the importance of Spirituality, the horrible neglect of it, and the shallowness (yes lukewarmness) of all this religious & out of touch nonsense American Christians are fat with.
    I’ll pray for you and you pray for me.
    Cheers,
    Leah

    • Beautifully said Leah. It’s what the Spirit is saying to us…to re-gift our “reach” for the purposes of the Kingdom….not to infuse the world or blogosphere with nauseating “churchianity”…but to be genuine and authentically HIS even here. Bless you sister.

    • Rosann, I want you to know how blessed I am by you and your encouragement! I enjoy receiving your posts in my email, and though I fail miserably at commenting much (ack!) I read your heart. Thank you.

  2. Nikki
    Just beautiful. I love love that song. Let my words be truth. Let my words by life. I heard it in Arizona.. maybe I can bring it back to Canada.
    but also remember we don’t have to “do” for God; it is finished. He only wants us to get closer and closer to Him.
    We will keeping working on it – together.
    Many blessings Sister,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

    • Yes! Bring it to Canada, Janis! πŸ™‚
      I am so grateful for your reminder her. Yes. we don’t have to do…just be. But even that requires daily action — of leaning in. close. and I must say, I’m enjoying the exercise of learning this tilted stance;)

    • Friend–I’m praying for you! We’re getting close, right? Thank you for always liftine me up, Amy. I’m so blessed by and you and so grateful for how God introduced us! (through Jennifer Camp) πŸ™‚

    • I wonder if we confirmed it every day, first thing in the am, if I could get over this feeling I have. It brings me comfort to know I’m not alone in this, Lorretta…thank you, friend.

  3. Oh my sweet sweet friend…I get this and you KNOW I do! Your words have always touched my heart. I’ve been overwhelmed lately and haven’t commented as often as I should, but know that you touch me. Sometimes in the deepest parts of my soul. Praying for you friend.

    Great song too!!

    Hugs~
    Mary

  4. Nikki, I want to encourage you to be bold in your words. God has called you to this, and He will walk with you in the midst of it. The Lord keeps bringing me back to Psalm 121, which says that He is our protector, and our shade. I think He is revealing something deeper in my heart about this protection and my need for it. But for right now, I am just focusing on the fact that He watches over my life. I am re-starting this blogging journey with Him at the forefront, and all I can do is pray, and then step out in faith.

    God bless you sister! πŸ™‚

    PS – can’t wait to hear about your prayer life. I have been trying to grow in that area myself.

    • and what a great encourager you are! thank you, Sarah. thank you.

      and p.s.–love your blog! I’ve been trying to write that prayer post for a couple weeks now. it’s what’s been keeping my words so few here as I am trying to wrap my words around what I’m experiencing πŸ˜‰

  5. πŸ™‚ i too am wanting to sound less “gong”-y!
    “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.”
    to speak less and listen more…

    • You so get me! “less gong-y” was in my rough draft of this post, girly!
      I’m starting to realize it all has to do with my stance. and if I’m tilted in, leaning on him…I can listen better. to everyone around me. crazy how that works;)

  6. Such a beautiful heart felt post. May we all strive to be authentic and led by the Lord. I took a break from blogging to seek the Lord last month. I was led to write a post explaining the Gospel. It was tricky and somewhat awkward to write because I shared some darker parts of my past. Two days after I posted it, a reader contacted me to tell me that she had received the Lord! So awesome. So, yes, seek Him, obey Him and let Him do the work, yes?

    • I can’t even tell you how blessed I was to hear this, Marianne! thank you for sharing that with me. God is so good…look what He can do through us when we abide!
      All for Him with hugs to you,
      Nikki

  7. Yes, I hear you, and that is my heart’s prayer…I always appreciate your heart for Him…Sorry, I haven’t called yet…feeling a bit overwhelmed w/ my online writing class and our girl’s foray into softball…I saw the ACts 3 man show on Friday and it made me think of how much Paul, Peter, and the early church suffered for their faith…blessings and love to you, Nikki πŸ™‚

  8. Friend… your words point me to Him all the time. I want my faith to be on fire… there will be days… lots of days where my faith will feel rather disjointed but journeying right along with you that the words I speak and write will be words from Him… Thank you.

  9. I cant tell you how often I come hungry for encouragement and I am always blessed by “words” or fruit of labor I should say! You inspire me to press on and dive into His Word. To God be the glory as we keep striving…..

    Much love

    • Marie, I am so thrilled to hear from you and know I’m not alone in this…pressing on and diving in… thank you! To God be the glory indeed.
      All for Him with hugs to you,
      Nikki

  10. Oh friend, I love you. I love your heart that burns to be united with Him. I so understand. My life has seemed overwhelming of late. I am writing, but wonder if what I am writing is His heart. I will be taking just a little step back and re-evaluating. I want to encourage, to bring life and hope. But it must be done through His words, not of my own. Hugs!

I can't wait to hear from you...

