The Cost of Much Forgiveness {Fed Up With Flat Faith}

drift-wood-Courtesy of Greg Abel Photography

“I tell you, her sins—and they are many—have been forgiven, so she has shown Me much love. But a person who is forgiven little shows only little love.” Then Jesus said to the woman, “Your sins are forgiven.”
Luke 7:47-48

This “sinful woman” had no right…who was she to invade on such a respected home and its elders. Yet nothing could stop her from loving on Him. All else faded into the backdrop. It might as well have been just the two of them.

“She did not care what her actions looked like to others.
Her love for Jesus made that inconsequential.”
~Kathy Howard, Fed Up With Flat Faith

I’ve fallen that hard before. I remember the very moment I fell flat for my now-husband and made the conscious choice to stay smitten. How I could tune out everything in the room but him–when I could calm down the pounding of my own heart that is. I’d often have to remind myself to simply breathe…

Yes, I want that. Again. With Jesus…my First Love.

Friends, I want to be able to drown out this world and focus on the Home I’ll have with Him… I want to recall the nicest thing He’s ever done for me…and hear His voice saying, “Father, forgive her…she didn’t know…”

I want to gasp for air at the very thought of Him.

“We must remember. We must go back to the beginning of our salvation, contemplate our sin, and once again consider Christ’s saving act for us. Then we must not forget.”
~Kathy Howard, Fed Up With Flat Faith

The tearful woman in Luke…the one who drowned her sorrows right on the very feet of her Savior. The one who didn’t let the expectations of this world stop her from pursuing Him. The one who didn’t deserve a response from Him let alone a pardon.

That woman…who gave all, shed all, bore all, confessed all… The one who held no position of authority or decent resumé…I aspire to be her. She got it. And because of it, she got Him.

I’ve been reading this book lately, Fed Up With Flat Faith by Kathy Howard, and I have to tell you, friends, the author–she gets me. Some of you might know my One Word I chose for this year. I haven’t talked about it much, as I couldn’t wrap my mind around how I was going to achieve it yet, but now I see I don’t have to…this book covers it all.

“No substitute will ever permanently  quench our spiritual longing for God. Only an intimate, passionate relationship with our Creator can fully and completely fill us up to overflowing.”
~Kathy Howard, Fed Up With Flat Faith

  • You see, I want to live out a vibrant relationship, not practice religion.
  • Forget less of me and more of Him, I want NONE of me and ALL of Him.
  • I want Him to use me or use me up for His glory.
  • I don’t want to watch what He’s doing, I want to be involved in it.
  • Temporal activities overwhelm, I want to focus on eternal matters.
  • I don’t need more once-in-a-lifetime memories. I want moments that impact eternity.
  • I don’t want to read the Bible, I want to absorb it.

Which are exactly some of the things Kathy talks about on pages 40, 55, 64, 81, 90, 97, and 104.

“Jesus willingly gave His life so we could be forgiven, but we hesitate to give ours to Him. If we have truly received forgiveness of our sin through the blood of Christ, then how can we have any response other than surrender to Him?”
~Kathy Howard, Fed Up With Flat Faith

Friends, when I started reading this book, I desired to be this woman in Luke Kathy talks about a couple chapters in. Now that I finished the book, I realize…I am that woman.

For my sins are many. I don’t deserve a second glance let alone a pardon. And yet…my First Love proved otherwise.

I’m starting to see how my word “Radiate” could look on me, friends. I invite you to stick around and join me on the journey.

And by the way– this book, Fed Up With Flat Faith by Kathy Howard, I recommend.

How about you? Are you fed up with flat faith? How do you remember what He’s done for you? How do you pursue Him? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

NOTE: I jumped on the chance to get this book for free when offered in exchange of a review of some kind. But please know, this post above comes straight from my own heart. No coercion necessary.

24 thoughts on “The Cost of Much Forgiveness {Fed Up With Flat Faith}

  1. Nikki, thank you for sharing how “Fed Up with Flat Faith” has encouraged you. I am honored that you would recommend the book to your readers. I also want to be “that” woman!

  2. This book sounds like you could read it again and again without the freshness wearing out with every dog-eared page.
    You are such and inspiration to me, Nikki! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this today because I, too, am tired of flat faith and want to have a vibrant and alive faith with my first love! You are living out your word for the year as you share your beautiful heart with us all.

    • You’re right, Jamie! I usually loan out my books to friends, but I’m a tad embarassed about my copy–it’s so marked up!
      And girl–you have to be nearly there…you shine so bright to me. {HUGS} Let’s do this thing…what should we call it? Catch the fever?:)

  3. Flat faith – faith that lasts for the moment and flees with the passing of a day – that’s what I want to be done with. I want to live in his presence and bask with his beauty – that the world can see HIM in his glory!!! Sweet friend, you are a blessing…

  4. Thank you for sharing this book. I can’t wait to read it. I want this too. I’m weary of the up and down faith. I also want none of me and all of Him. ❤

    • You’ll love it, Vicki. It’s a book you could read fast and then go back or savor each chapter over a number of weeks (due to all the scripture). Regardless, yes…let’s have the goal–none of us..all of Him. ❤

  5. When I saw Jesus in a vision for the first time, yeah, that literally took my breath away. I’ve always been in love with Him but am totally a smitten kitten now! 🙂 Heaven is going to be beyond words amazing.

    • That WOULD take my breath away, too, Janelle! and I’ve always been in love, too..just not head over heels…which in this upside down Kingdom of Grace is exactly where I need to be! 😉

  6. I love that she got Him – the best! You know, how I appreciate your heart for Him because I know He has yours 🙂 A blessed Easter to you and yours…praying God gives you His strength and peace as you host and serve your family, dear one 🙂

  7. I remember sitting in the car, waiting for my husband of 2 years to come out of work – and asking God to show me how to love Him like I did when I was little – to have that kind of faith again – and He took me on a journey to do just that. Not religion – but relationship. You say it beautifully, powerfully. He is taking you on an amazing journey!

  8. Before you even mentioned your One Word in the post I looked over at it and thought – well, she is certainly radiating here and does so all of the time to me! I love the comment about trading less of me and more of Him for none of me and all of Him. That’s exactly what it should be. Beautiful!

  9. This book sounds incredible. It also sounds like a scary kind of book. One that would challenge my happy little status quo. And I’d be totally okay with that. Flat faith is feeling a little too much like no faith, for me, right now. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Nikki. You DO radiate. As does God, right through you.

    • Scary good…that’s a perfect way to describe this one, Missy! Becuase once you know the truth, you have to act on it. . . . not easy!! I’m struggling already…;(
      So blessed by you, friend! [HUGS}

I can't wait to hear from you...

