All or Nothing {Living With Him in Our Scope}

Holey wholly holy

This portion of Kris’ book won’t leave me. I’ve spent weeks trying to figure out why.

When God kindly asks us to set down our bundle of wants, it’s not likely that we refuse Him outright. Rather, we’re often very good at pretending to submit while grabbing for the goods when we think He’s not looking…we live as if we can operate outside the scope of His vision. The truth is, He doesn’t just want our bag of dreams and longings. His desire is for us to be wholly His that He might make us holy for Him.
~Kris Camealy, Holey, Wholly, Holy

In typical Nikki fashion, I attempted to determine what was bothering me on my own, trying not to make it worse by “pestering Him” with it. For the record: this NEVER works. Ever. It wasn’t until I prayed about it that things started to unfold.

We’re going through the Book of Mark on Monday nights, all nestled cozy in an apartment living room, the 9 of us. It was already an hour into the discussion and still we were on these verses. You know the ones–the greatest commandments. The instruction to love Him, heart/body, mind, soul and strength. And then do the same to others, including yourself.

This sounds doable until you realize He’s talking agape love –the selfless kind of love, and not phileo–the friendly kind of love. And when I consider the scope of what He is asking for: My heart/body, mind, soul, strength…

Wow, friends. He wants ALL of me…a complete, loving surrender.

She got to the conclusion before the rest of us. On how this might or might never be achieved. And I do plan on sharing more about it in another post. But this is the most important lesson I’ve taken from it:

I’ve said it countless times, but it’s worth repeating:

Friends, God would never ask anything from us
He hasn’t already given to us.

And Jesus gave it all.
His heart/body, soul, mind, strength.
A complete, loving surrender.

Gazing upon the cross we find our own place in this story…We see that we are not mere spectators in His suffering and death, but in fact are the cause of it.
~Kris Camealy, Holey, Wholly, Holy

He did all that…for me. He had to do it because of me, but friends, He exhibited that kind of love for me. for you. Oh how He loves us.

The nine of us, we decided it might be easier to love Him back like that if we focused on how He loves us like that. Because, when you think about it, the reason I can love is because He first loved me. For He IS…love.

Chasing dreams, following the rules, doing the work–this distracted me from pursuing Him, and then I flat forgot exactly who He is.
~Kris Camealy, Holey, Wholly, Holy

So maybe if I use my mind to learn, discover His characteristics. His character. His mannerisms, my heart would naturally follow. Maybe if I treat my body like the gift it is, a gift from Him. Maybe if I use all my efforts, my strengths, on seeking Him out, my thoughts will naturally be consumed by the very hint of Him.

Maybe then will I achieve it. Live it. Experience agape love the way He wants us to.

Because let’s face it. He wouldn’t ask us to love Him with all heart, mind, soul, and strength if He hadn’t loved us that way first.

If I focus on how He loves me,
I won’t want to live outside of His scope of vision.
If I focus on living the way I shared earlier
like He’s in the room
with Him in my scope of vision,
I might actually see His desire
for me to be wholly His transform into being holy for Him.

I tell my 4 year-old all the time: “These rules are for your benefit.” And I’m starting to see…our Heavenly Father feels the same way.

NOTE: This is a part of my Lenten series based on my experience through Lent last year and my reading Holey, Wholly, Holy by Kris Camealy this year. You may check out the entire series HERE. I’ll be back next Wednesday. Please read through the “By His Strength” portion of this book as we will talk about Atonement.

If you do not have this book yet, Kris is giving away FREE PDF COPIES HERE for a limited time! Or you may purchase a kindle or hard copy (highly recommend) HERE.

How about you, friend? Have you figured out how to love Him with all your heart/body, mind, soul, and strength? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

26 thoughts on “All or Nothing {Living With Him in Our Scope}

  1. Right on! As I began to understand Who He really is, I began to understand what His love is like. As I began receiving His love, I began to love Him back…and to love others. I couldn’t give what I didn’t have. I love because He first loved me:) Yay! So grateful for you. Xoxoxo

  2. Oh dear, I’m starting to see a distinct pattern in the posts, songs, and messages I’m hearing lately. To focus on Him to the exclusion of all else. To not forget that I can’t live outside the scope of God’s focus, is a brilliant way to put it. And I appreciate your take on this, Nikki. It reminds me WHY I need to be intentional with my daily loving and living.

    • I get exhausted thinking about what I hear on how I should intentionally love and live, Missy. Do you? But I’m starting to realize in this upside down Kingdom of grace, it doesn’t have to be that way. He just calls us to love…and once we figure that out, I’m trusting the rest will fall into place…what do you think?

  3. My heart is in this place. I have been feeling the pull to watch the Passion of the Christ movie for the past few weeks. I’ve seen it and if I’m honest I don’t really want to watch it again. I hate when my flesh resists Him. Your post is a wonderful encouragement to listen to Him. I am going to watch it and I’m going to remember how much He LOVES me when I am watching. Yes, he died for MY sins, He was up on that cross me me. It is almost too much to bear. But because of His sacrifice I am redeemed. As Aurie said above….”How can we NOT give the same to Him?”

    • “when my flesh resists Him….” oh that is hauntingly true, Vicki! It is too much to bear or bare, friend…which is why He offers us to lay it down. right at the cross. what grace! {HUGS}

  4. Oh’ daily, sweet surrendering… knowing I need HIS help, my Creator, to do better, think better, be better. His LOVE sets the bar high and I know I can’t reach it without Him. Beautiful words, thank you as always Nikki girl! ~ Love, Amy

  5. Our puppy pretends we are not there as he gets close to a forbidden object…I realize more and more how much I need His grace to surrender all…and I think you are right on the right path: as we focus on how much Jesus has surrendered for us bc of His love for us then we can respond in love because it always comes from His initiation first toward us…helps keep us humble and grateful…not me, all because of Him…praying you have a good trip out of town.

    • Oh mylanta..we are no better than your puppy!:)
      I like humble and grateful. I think that’s a great place to be…thank you for sharing with me, Dolly, and for your prayers. I’ll talk to you again when I’m back! {HUGS}

  6. Pingback: Because You Should Know | Always Alleluia

  7. Wonderful.

    This is the third post I’ve read about Kris’ book today so I think God must be telling me I need it. Love the quote you shared from the book and the willingness you found in your own heart.

    • Thrilled to see you here, Duane. Well, first I was embarrassed as I feel I’ve been stalking your posts in my email and not stopping by your place;)

      I agree you must get your hands on this book. It’s a quick read (even if you skip my foreword) but don’t let that fool you. It’s sure to rip you wide open. So don’t read it too soon…

      p.s. I’m all over this “Wonderstruck” adventure. and you’ll never guess, but my hubby might read along, too;)

      All for Him,
      Nikki

  8. Yes, you struck gold. It is in the accepting of his love that we begin to fully grasp the gift of surrender. This, I believe, goes against everything in our skin-born human nature. Surrender? Fully? It’s so vulnerable and actually sounds weak. But it is the key, the golden key, to victory and wholeness in the glow of Jesus’ pure love.

    • “Surrender? Fully? It’s so vulnerable and actually sounds weak.”….YES! This upside down Kingdom of grace never gets old, does it. as we flip all our conceptions upside down or out the window…all for His pure love. I don’t regret it.

  9. I just….I just think you’re fantastically marvelous. All broken pieces and molded together parts of you. All seeking surrender and wobbly learning portions. I find you to be amazing. {hugs}

    • Oh sweet Leigh…how I want to say all of this right back to you! I don’t know how you read my heart so well…why it feels like you see me even though we’ve never been in the same zipcode at the same time, but it’s just like Him…to bring someone like you to me. So grateful… #1000Gifts

      and for the record, friend, your URL is welcome here. in fact, encouraged. because if you don’t enter it, I’m going to as I would LOVE to hear someone was introduced to you through me!;)

  10. Dear Nikki
    I battled so much to love the way our Pappa desires us to love, until I went to Him, telling Him that I cannot and that He will have to do so. He filled my heart abundantly with Himself who is Love and I have come to realize that in my weakness, He can prove Himself strong and He gets all the glory! As long as I try to love, I am cut off from the life of our Lord Jesus, cut off from grace.
    Much love, dear friend
    Mia

    • You bring up a very good point here, Mia. One I intend to talk about soon…because here I go again, trying to do this all on my own! you’re right. we can’t love like He does without His intervention….you get this and I am so grateful you are willing to share what you have learned with me! Thank you!!

  11. Nikki – I loved this! I have been smothering silently through this Lent, unsure of where He is leading but knowing that it is not in the doing but the abiding that He wants to change me. Thank you for these beautiful words – you stirred me onward.

    • JULIE! Hello!!! I got so excited to see you here, friend.
      “Not in the doing but the abiding….”
      oh I love this and have been soaking it in… that’s a beautiful place to be. Thank you for sharing it with me so I know how to pray for you and follow your lead. {HUGS}

  12. “Because let’s face it. He wouldn’t ask us to love Him with all heart, mind, soul, and strength if He hadn’t loved us that way first.”

    Amen, sister. And He loves us even in our imperfection because we’re so beautiful in Christ. Oh He is always so good to His people!

    Janelle Marie

I can't wait to hear from you...

