Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me

Flickr Credit: Chilsta

Life often blinds. It overwhelms our senses and we become discombobulated, turned around, or thrown off course entirely.

Sometimes the fields of life all look the same and before we know it, we find ourselves on foreign soil. Territory that’s not ours. Maybe we wanted it to be ours as something drew us there, but now we just want to go Home…

Friends, sometimes I can’t see where Home is. Where this journey of life is taking me.

It’s taken me longer than it should, but I’m getting there. I’m learning how to travel through this darkened world. I’m discovering how to claim my role in Isaiah 42:16

I will lead the blind by ways they have not known,
along unfamiliar paths I will guide them;
I will turn the darkness into light before them
and make the rough places smooth.
These are the things I will do;
I will not forsake them.

You see, friends, I tend to take “I” literally. As in me. What I need to do. Such as:

  • I need to lead others, show them the path Home.
  • I need to shine brighter than those around me.
  • I need to do things, be things, live without forsaking Him.

But I’m finally beginning to accept: That’s too much for me. I can’t do it.

I fail often. I stumble along the way and wonder what made me ever think I could bring Him glory. Yet, thanks to grace, I’m learning…

In this upside down Kingdom of Grace, the word “I” never means me. Ever.

It means Jesus.

Jesus answered, β€œI am the way and the truth and the life.
No one comes to the Father except through me.
John 14:6

It’s when I read this I realize…I have it all wrong. I’m the blind one…and it’s supposed to be that way.

  • He’s not expecting me to lead. Just follow.
  • He’s not worried about how bright I can shine, but rather how translucent I can be so He can RADIATE through me.
  • He’s not asking me to do, be, live without fail. He’s simply offering to do, be, live big through me.

This is something I can do. Today.
I can step aside and have Him lead the way.

  • And maybe, just maybe my example will lead others, show the path Home.

  • Maybe if I focus on cleaning out my own heart, wash the windows of my soul, His light will shine bright through me.

  • Maybe if I focus on His face, I’ll naturally do, be, live…worship. Praise. Adoration towards the One. The Only. The Sole Pilot bringing me Home.

Yes, Jesus. My Savior. Pilot me.

Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me

adapted from an 1800’s hymn by Edward Hopper
My favorite rendition:
by the Robbie Seay Band

Jesus, Savior, pilot me
Over life’s tempestuous seas;
Unknown waves before me roll,
Hiding rock and treacherous shoal.
Chart and compass come from Thee:
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.

As a mother stills her child,
You can hush the ocean wild;
Boisterous waves obey Thy will
When You say to them, “Be still!”
Wondrous Sovereign of the sea,
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.

When at last I near the shore,
And the fearful breakers roar
Grant me long and peaceful rest,
Then, while leaning on Your chest,
May I hear You say to me,
“Fear not, I will pilot thee.”

Chart and compass come from Thee,
Wondrous Sovereign of the sea;
May I hear You say to me,
“Chart and compass come from Me,
Jesus, Savior, I will pilot thee.”

Subscribers CLICK HERE to listen to one of my most favorite songs. (Or HERE To go directly to YouTube)

How about you, friend? How do you use Jesus as your compass? How do you step aside and follow? How are you getting back on course this Lenten Season? I’d love to hear.

Thank you for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

28 thoughts on “Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me

  1. Oh. My. Soul. Hand me that rag, please! I desire to wash the windows of my soul so that He can shine more brightly through me, too. Oh, yes I do! Let me be translucent for you, Lord. And, can I just say how much I love that you bring old hymns out here and there. There is such solid and deep theology in them. They refresh my soul. (Although, the newer versions of them do, too.) Beautiful thoughts here, Nikki. Beautiful encouragement.

    • YES! I refuse to let the old hymns fade away, Missy. There’s too much rich truth to them…

      I’m burning through rags over here, friend, scrubbing my heart’s crevasses…it’s kinda painful…oh but worth it. for He Is… {HUGS}

  2. “Maybe if I focus on cleaning out my own heart, wash the windows of my soul, His light will shine bright through me.”

    You’ve painted a perfect picture of the prayer that has been on my heart this weekend.

    John 8:12 Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, β€œI am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”

    • We’re kindred here, Laurie. I’ve been thinking of this for awhile now…a part of me wonders if that’s why we get cracked and have holes…so He shines brighter in us… {HUGS} thanks for sharing with me, friend!

  3. Why is it sweet Nikki that I feel if/WHEN we ever meet in person… words may fail – or be somewhat unnecessary and simple eye contact would cause tears to fall and hearts to burst? I love you so and am so thankful for how you GET it… you really get it… Him… me – for I am just like you! Yes. Words would come… (how could they not?) – but they would be extra!

  4. As a high-energy over-achiever it was been a slow lesson for me too of this “its not about me” truth. I loved what you wrote about Translucent being the best way to let our light shine.
    Cheers,
    Leah

    • Thank you, Leah. I’m so glad I’m not the only one. This One Word I’ve chosen for the year, Radiate, is sure doing a number on me!
      Thrilled you stopped by! Thanks for sharing [HUGS]

    • YES! Go where I lead…
      so, He speaks to you the same way. That’s so encouraging, Janis! Thank you for sharing. Praying we both follow this week…may He continue to lead the way. {HUGS}

  5. Dear Nikki
    Oh, my friend, I also laboured for a long time in my life under that misconception! What a glorious day when our Pappa opens our eyes to our folly.
    Much love
    Mia

    • We make it so much harder than it has to be, don’t you think? So thankful He is so full of grace…what patience He has with me! thank you for spending a bit of your Monday with me, friend {HUGS}

  6. So beautiful! The Lord has certainly given you the gift of proclaiming His Glory through your words!!!!! We were just discussing this in our Lenten Faith Sharing group last night– that we are nothing without Him. We need to rid our hearts and souls of resentments, hurts and fears so there can be room for Jesus to come in. And, as St. Paul tells us, to be truly reconciled to the Lord, we need to first humble ourselves enough to realize that we are nothing without Him and His Grace.

    • Oh yes…I’ve been going through this in my head lately, too, Lisa. the humbling…the dying to self (which I’m sharing more on Wednesday). St Paul was one wise man! so grateful we can learn from his experiences…what a gift of grace all in itself! {HUGS}

  7. “In this upside down Kingdom of Grace, the word β€œI” never means me. Ever.
    It means Jesus.”

    This might be my favorite thing I’ve read all week. I read those 2 lines over and over and they are still lingering……

    I guess I needed to hear exactly that. ❀

I can't wait to hear from you...

