Home {Where I Belong} ~ Five Minute Friday

This is the post each week where I
Link arms with others who like to
Write on the wild side –unabashedly
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

Travelling

For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

HOME

It’s a road less traveled. Why, I’m not so sure.
It’s narrow, often difficult to see far ahead, but the road’s been paved.

We can journey together. and I love how we often do. We encourage one another along. Hold one another when the weather gets fierce.

I’ve learned along the way we can stop the world from spinning just long enough to spread love. And maybe it doesn’t even slow down, but we do. When one has fallen…hurting…lonely…lost.

There’s no race on this road, though I sometimes ache to start running. Yearn to get there to join those that have already arrived….HOME.

Where pain is foreign and not welcome. Where tears hold no reason to shed. Where broken is made beautiful.

Home is where you see hope up close.

Love languages aren’t spoken there — Love IS the language.

Grace is the currency. You’ll remember meeting the generous Banker. The One who handed out interest-free, debt-free loans to anyone who asked along the way. It’s Home we cash those in for our ready-built mansions built high on the hill — each with panoramic views overlooking Messiah’s Way.

Home is where Heaven becomes reality.

Where we feast on God’s goodness, we taste and see…(Psalm 34:8)

It’s at Home we let our hair down, slip off our shoes, wipe our feet one last time. And simply be…

Home is a state of being as much as it is an address.

It’s Home where we find Holy. We grab hold and don’t ever have to let go.

And I’m well on my way there. Thank you for taking the road less traveled with me. For showing me glimpses of Home along the way…

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?

Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you, friend? What glimpses of Home have you seen lately? What does it look like to you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

19 thoughts on “Home {Where I Belong} ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Maybe the world doesn’t slow but we do to care for each other ~ beautiful!
    Very happy to be journeying together.

  2. Your words bring new joyful thoughts to me each day. We are truly two sides of the coin today. You with {Where I belong} and me with NOT where I belong from Building 429. I love how God brings us together and shows us glimpses of the big picture through each other. More community gives us more pieces to the puzzle – even if we can’t seem to even make a simple phone call happen. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Spreading love…. love IS the language… sharing the journey… all such gorgeous thoughts and words to read here this morning, sweet friend!

  4. Nikki – this is my first ever Five Minute Friday. Loved your post and can tell you my recent glimpse of HOME was the day we brought my father HOME from the hospital after 54 days. When he started getting well ALL he could talk about was HOME. Thankful and blessed to have more time with my precious daddy. Blessings to you on this Friday.

  5. “Home is where we see hope up close” – won’t that be something? This definition is an invitation, a wooing to the hearts worn weary with earth-living and all the striving and doubting that comes with it. Our hope will not disappoint, but instead meet us at the front door, take us hearthside and recount the journey with us.

  6. Dear Nikki
    Your description of home makes me long to be there even more. Home were we can just be and that, in the presence of our King!
    Much love
    Mia

  7. Yes! This: “Home is where you see hope up close.” YES! Missed chatting with you last night… I simply ran out of time this week – but I had a wee bit of Nutella to feel a part of the night anyway! Love you sweet friend! So blessed to be traveling toward Home with you!

  8. Dear Nikki,
    Psalm 34:8 is one of my personal favorites as I get to experience Him more and more and home happens to be one of my favorite words as well. May God continue to bless your heart and your words girl. I’m thankful for you. ~ Love out, Amy

I can't wait to hear from you...

