How to add Extra to Ordinary ~ Five Minute Friday

It’s been two or three weeks?
I don’t remember because it feels like forever
Since I’ve linked arms with my friends who like to
Write on the wild side –unabashedly
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

click for credit

For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

Ordinary

Ordinary — that’s me. plain and simple. I’ve got it written all over me. Quite forgettable, really. If you’d find me for sale in a pawn shop, garage sale or even the mall, you’d pass right by. For my shell appears to be a dime a dozen.

Partially unglazed. A bit rough around the edges. Natural in color.

That’s what the enemy would like you and me to believe, anyway….

But I know the truth — you would need to tip me upside down to see what I’m really made of.

Friends, it’s in this upside down Kingdom of Grace that I make ordinary come to life.

You see, sin put its price tag on me. But Jesus…He paid for me in full.

The same Jesus who healed the sick, raised the dead, walked on water, calmed the storm. And these were done on His ordinary days. Yes, that’s who owns me.

He puts the Extra in Ordinary. Every time.

That’s my Jesus. I’m His. And He’s been working on me ever since to add more extra to my ordinary.

plain and simple.

I’ve got His Ordinary written all over me. And that’s more than enough for me.

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?

Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you, friend? How does He make you extraordinary? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

20 thoughts on “How to add Extra to Ordinary ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Lord, keep adding “extra” to my ordinary every day, too. And I thank Him for pouring inspiration through your fingertips, my friend. Sitting on the pawn shop shelf right next to you sister-friend. Oh yes, I am!

  2. If you’re writing is ordinary – all writers should be ordinary! I love this line: “He’s been working on me ever since to add more extra to my ordinary” – I learned a long time ago (I can say that because I’m old as dirt – LOL) – to look more closely at people – that the ones I would over-look are the ones He gives me for friendship – the world is deceived by ordinary! Wishing you blessing this weekend:) Extra-ordinary blessing!

  3. shocker… We went the same way with this! “He puts the Extra in Ordinary” – LOVE that… and you. It was SO great to chat a bit tonight my friend! SO proud of you for stepping out of your Ordinary and into His! Just #563 of why I love you! (Yes – I am making my own list too!)

  4. I see all kinds of extra in you! It was so good to chat tonight. I’m encouraged to see you stepping out and speaking and know with your heart, you have a powerful message that will always point to God. Even if your knees knock and your voice gets wobbly! 😉

  5. Dear Nikki
    Yes, my friend, we often need to see through His eyes. It does us good to realize that we are part of the crown of His creation and that makes us quite extra-ordinary meassured by the world’s standard. Your smile, dear one, is everything but ordinary!
    Much love
    Mia

  6. Pingback: Anything But Ordinary - TwentyFive Seasons | TwentyFive Seasons

  7. Pingback: My Big, Fat, Ordinary Life | It Just Dawned On Me

  8. Dear, amazing Nikki…..you captured me this morning. I roll over and wake to words of support. Words you probably had no idea would mean so much. Barely a sentence you typed and it embraced me so.

    Thank you. Thank you.

    You wrote my own post with me this morning. You beautiful face graces it because I cannot write today without declaring how I was able. You are a part of that. I cannot express my appreciation for you continuing exhortation.

    This was lovely. As always. I’m so happy to see your heart on a page.

  9. You did it again, Nikki! Your words never fail to encourage or challenge me! Love this line- But I know the truth — you would need to tip me upside down to see what I’m really made of.- For the record, I don’t find you ordinary at all. You shine, sister! And it is because you are faithfully giving glory to God and it is just so beautiful. And I love you for it!
    Thanks for your encouragement to me yesterday- wish I could get that hug! Someday?!!
    And I know I missed Wednesday, but I haven’t stopped reading and I will be back. 🙂

  10. Oooh, love the reminder that the ordinary days were filled with some of Christ’s most powerful and memorable moments. My, how we humans have totally distorted ‘ordinary’ to where it’s an unwanted thing. But the potential for grace and graceness that exists in the ordinary?! Amazing!

I can't wait to hear from you...

