He’s Called Me Higher {A Challenge of Complacency}

I'll Go Where You Lead Me Lord

I retreat to feel the light of grace fall warm upon my face. And I could stay here for a thousand Sundays, basking in His radiant glory. Feeling holy ground between my toes.

Yes. I could get used to this…

But I hear His whisper. His nudge. His call to follow. Never lead. Always follow.

And sometimes it’s dark. Quiet. Sometimes the flames blind. And it’s hot and uncomfortable and so very very lonely as I feel the singe of what’s hardened on my soul melt away.

It makes me beg for the comforts of home.

Home…do I even know what that means? Sure I find comfort under the roof my family calls home. I could spend countless, consecutive evenings with them and it wouldn’t grow old. Yet this world is not my home. And a part of me wonders if ‘home’ should even be in my vocabulary.

Friends, this is not the home He’s called me to be comfortable in…

I’ve been invited to contribute to His glory. To share what He’s done for me. To become what He’s planned for me all along.

He’s called me higher. deeper.

And when I say ‘yes’. When I give Him my days…I grow richer. stronger. I experience glory from the inside out.

Sure, I could just sit at His feet. But He invites me to go. higher. deeper. Farther than I dare dream.

He doesn’t say it will be easy. But most good things aren’t. All He claims is it will be worth it. And that’s enough for me.

He’s calling me higher. deeper. and I’m going to follow. Always follow. Lead me, Lord…

Called Me Higher

by All Sons and Daughters

I could just sit
I could just sit and wait for all your goodness
Hope to feel your presence
And I could just stay
I could just stay right where I am and hope to feel You
Hope to feel something again

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I will go where You will lead me Lord
You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I go where You will lead me Lord
Where You lead me

And I will be Yours, Lord
I will be Yours for all my life
So let Your mercy light the path before me

Subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen to this beautiful song that will not leave me and is helping me walk through Lent this year.

Shannon…friend…thank you for gifting me with this song at just the right time. {HUGS}

Father, I hear You. Calling me higher. deeper. You’ve asked me to follow and I humbly accept. I will give You my days. I will be Yours, Lord, for all my life. And I will go where You lead me.

Help me, Father. I do believe, but help my unbelief. I want to follow — help my feet move. I want to stay, but help me go. Higher. Deeper. For Your glory, Lord. For it’s all about You. All my days–are all about You…

How about you, friend? How are you going higher and deeper for Him this week? How are you battling complacency? How can I pray for you along the way? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

26 thoughts on “He’s Called Me Higher {A Challenge of Complacency}

  1. Ah yes… I am clinging to Him on my kitchen floor… the bliss of having Him wrap Himself around us and hold us close is breathtaking… and then we are released to pour out what He has poured in! Love this sweet friend! I referred to a song a week or two ago in a post… “Lord I’m amazed by you” – how it starts out, “You dance over me, and I am unaware… you sing over me and I don’t hear a sound…” Because God is – well… God… the writer of that song was at our church on Friday night for a worship service… he sang that one – sure… but also this one! This is what is on replay for me right now! LOVE it! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6d7Lk4KVLw

  2. Beautiful words as usual Nikki girl, and I love All Sons and Daughters! May we each day invite Him to take us a little more out of ourselves and a little deeper with Him. ~ Love, Amy

  3. Nikki – I have been waiting patiently all day to get here and read your words – and God uses you… I have been so tired lately, my spirit is tired and it’s been hard to motivate myself to move out of bed and complacency it’s winning a war this week. I am at work right now feeling like I could fall apart at any moment – and wishing that I could because I know it would drive me to my knees… I need to find some space to just be… I really, really need to find some space to be in front of Him and recommitting my yes to Him… Prayers as I fear the deeper? Fear the further? Lord, help my unbelief.

    • Father, thank You for bringing Tonya into my life in a way only You could…She has lifted me up many times and my heart aches knowing the hard road she is traveling right now. Jesus, please…pull her in tighter. I know You’re there. Let her feel You, Father. Holy Spirit, whisper love in her ear. encourage her heart for His glory. Let her see where she’s headed. Celebrate each step closer…each one taken with her, Father. To You be all glory and honor for it’s all about You, Lord…always…we know that…but help us see it.

      will keep praying for you, friend {HUGS}

  4. There are so many hardened places on my own soul that are, gratefully, melting in by the refiner’s fire. But, what absolutely floored me was that this weekend, I had the pleasure of substituting at Sunday School in the 4 year old room. The bottom line was how high and how wide and how deep and how long is the love of Jesus for us. And then, I come to read these words. They are like a soothing burn ointment. I realize that we are called to be as He is. And to go higher, deeper, longer, and wider. And to never stop seeking what that means and looks like. Ooh, that was downright sermon-like. Sorry… Clearly, the same message is being heralded in many different ways over here. 🙂

    • Oh, girl…I teach the 4 and 5 year olds at my church and they floor me each week! So glad you experienced it, too! I love it! Love how He’s pursuing you here…showing you the way. higher.deeper.longer.wider. Thank you for sharing with me, friend! So blessed by you {HUGS}

  5. Yes, deeper, higher. We must keep moving, never looking back. We don’t have to fear the Surgeons hands, they are precise and He will finish what he started. Great and challenging post!

  6. God has me so very uncomfortable right now with His refiners fire is blazing, but I know it’s because He is calling me higher and I know He will burn away the junk I have clung to that is not of Him. Ugh. I always love your peace-filled words. Thank you for this lovely post Nikki! I have been listening to this song over and over since yesterday. 😉

    • I’ve been listening to the song in YOUR post for the last two days, Heather! We’ll have to debrief after this weekend of soaking in their songs! 😉 Thanks for sharing your day with me, friend. Will keep praying for you as you stay in His blaze of grace a little longer {HUGS}

  7. The amazing thing that I am learning is that when we step out from simply sitting and feeling good with Jesus, and do the hard, humble, uncomfortable thing, we never will feel more at home and intimate with our Saviour. Its like we get into into His very pulse, all the while losing our own flesh and filthy rags of self-righteousness.
    Thanks for the sharing today. Your heartbeat always comes through in every post.
    Cheers,
    Leah

  8. Nikki, I love this song–but mostly, I just love your heart. What comforts me, as He calls me higher and deeper, is that this is when I am most aware of my intimacy with Him–the truth that He is with me. When He leads us to the higher, deeper places, with Him, we can most clearly see His face, feel His touch. We are walking in obedience when we say ‘yes’ to where He calls. And the courage that comes to allow us to say ‘yes’ is possible because we are not alone in the walk in. Thank you for this beauty and truth, friend.

  9. Pingback: near apathy is apathy |

I can't wait to hear from you...

