Guard Your Heart {The Best Armor Around}

The Word _ Simplystriving

I’m expecting Lent to be brutal. It may not be and that would be okay, but I’m preparing for the worst because I’m giving the most: Myself.

Friends, I’m laying my life down this Lenten season.
And I’m inviting you to join me. Every Wednesday.

You may follow this series by CLICKING HERE.

With it fast approaching, I took inventory this last week at how I’ve been getting ready. Friends, I don’t know how I’ve missed it. Not that I haven’t noticed, but it floored me to see how God has been priming my heart these last few weeks.

We’ve talked about it some here. You might even know what I’m referring to. But I’m over at Must Love God today sharing another personal example of it.

It would bless me so if you’d stop by and read my heart spilled. I share an experience I had recently that God loved me through. And I even let you know how He loved me through it. You may read that post by CLICKING HERE.

Also, just so you know, friends, it’s a big week for me.

  • First, I’m over at Must Love God sharing a very personal story (I’m nervous!).
  • Tuesday, I’m showing you where (in)courage will be bringing me and my homeschooling hat. (Eek! I’m so excited to share this one with you and I hope you’ll come along!!)
  • Wednesday, I’m starting a series on Lent. Where we will go through my dear friend Kris‘ book “Holey, Wholly, Holy: A Lenten Journey of Refinement“. If you haven’t picked up your free pdf copy, please do HERE. If you’re wanting to prepare for Wednesday with me, please read through the section titled “There’s No Shortcut to Holiness” (should only take you 15 minutes).
  • Thursday, I might take a breath and exhale with my 5 minute write with Lisa-Jo’s prompt on Friday.

So will you join me? Will you give me a hug by stopping by Must Love God to read my very vulnerable heart? I’d love to have you — Simply click the image below!

And because it’s Monday and I’d miss it too much if I didn’t, do you mind if I share the song that has not left me this last week? Subscribers, CLICK HERE to press play on the image below.

Friends, This IS Amazing Grace.
Not WAS.
It is…today…amazing.

This is amazing grace. This is unfailing love. That He would take my place and bear my cross…Oh friends, please listen to the song so you can get as excited as I am about His living, breathing, current, amazing grace!

How about you, friend? What does your week look like? How is God helping you prepare for Lent? How can I pray for you this week? I’d love to hear.

Thank you for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

11 thoughts on “Guard Your Heart {The Best Armor Around}

  1. Wow, Nikki – beautiful post over at MLG, and I’m praying He covers you with His presence this week. I know He has big things in store, and I’m excited to see how He moves. As for me, still digging out from Guatemala.
    Hugs, Susan

    • Welcome home, Susan! Excited to work my way over to your place today. Thanks for spending time with me this Monday {HUGS}! I have no doubt God is up to something and am looking forward to His glory revealed!

  2. Nikki, what a blessing you are through your pain. I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of this precious one. Know it’s safely with the Lord and you’re clinging to Him for comfort. Love to you through this…been there, never easy….but, you sharing how to cope can’t help but help others.

    • Donna, how you bless. I must confess I struggled with sharing about it. Not because I’m ashamed to confess it, but because I know He’s got me. Still, He’s given me a story to share and I can’t let His glory be suppressed by me not sharing, right? I’m striving {HUGS} and needed your encouragement–thank you!

  3. I have never really walked through Lent with intention. But I have been reading/seeing so much about it and I have Kristin’s book downloaded… might I join you sister? I would love nothing more than to journey this Lent season with you!

    • Oh, this is going to be so good, Tonya! YES, please do walk through the Lenten season with me! As long as you don’t expect me to lead the way, cuz it’s new to me, too;) We’ll make through it together!

  4. God’s been calling me to complete surrender and sacrifice lately, and with this post, I simply can’t hide from it anymore. I have to tell you, I am terrified of this process! But I yearn for the refinement and the deeper relationship with my Lord. So I’m in. I’m trusting in His strength to get me through.

    I grew up in a church that never even spoke of Lent, so this is a REAL first for me. But God has been leading me to this commitment…leading me to surrender and lay it all down. I am so blessed to find fellowship with you during this time.

  5. Pingback: Lenten Book Studies | Always Alleluia

  6. Last week I downloaded the Holey-Wholly-Holy boom and just this Sunday our pastor preached in laying down our life for Christ.

    And today there’s an email with your link for the study. God moves and shows us where to go. I’m jumping in and laying down for Lent.

    Thank you for having me!

  7. I’m excited for this Lent season. Starting tomorrow night I will take part in a small group covering “Lent A Season Of Returning” by Ruth Haley Barton. Thinking about what I can give up too, so I make sure I’m not complacent and see how God can ask me to see Him. What a friend we have in Jesus! ~ Love out, Amy

I can't wait to hear from you...

