Bare {True Beauty} ~ Five Minute Friday

This is the post each week where I
Link arms with others who like to
Write on the wild side –unabashedly
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

blackwhite-point-M

For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

Bare

My pulse skipped at the click of the hotel lock. The “Do Not Disturb” sign swished to the speed of my racing heart. It was just him and I now after lingering long with friends and family, celebrating what we plan on being the rest of our lives. And it seems fitting somehow that we offer ourselves in vulnerable fashion at the start of our future…For this upside down Kingdom of grace has taught me, that’s where true beauty begins.

Brennan Manning once said “It is better to live naked in truth than clothed in fantasy.” (I think from All is Grace?) Which is fine with me. I’ve never been good at make-believe anyway…

And I learned early on that love can see beauty wherever it’s placed. Add grace as a filter, and there’s no telling how high or how wide or how deep it can go.

So why do I fear it so? Why is it so hard to lay down my life in vulnerable fashion? What can I hide from HIM that He won’t call out in some near future, anyway?

My heart skips as I open its door. I rip the “Do Not Disturb” sign off the handle as I offer He linger long. And that’s when I realize the naked truth as I see Jesus beating me to the punch…for He has already offered Himself bare in vulnerable fashion…to give me a future.

Friend, it’s true. In this upside down Kingdom of grace, Bare is where true beauty begins.

Which is going to be fine with me. I’ve never been good at make-believe anyway.

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?

Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you, friend? Have you been in vulnerable fashion with Him lately? Have you laid yourself bare? Have you seen true beauty? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

34 thoughts on “Bare {True Beauty} ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. It never ceases to amaze me the beauty I can find in your words, Nikki. You have been given a true gift of words that make the rest of us want to dive in and swim along with you! Love this!

  2. Well said. We remember in the Garden, God asks, “Who told you that you were naked?” We were created to be vulnerable, in relationship to one another and God. It is the world that points it out, declaring something is wrong. I’m thankful we have a God who moved first on our behalf to begin restoring our ability to stand completely vulnerable together, in His presence….

  3. For the last couple days I’ve seen several bloggers doing this Friday word prompt. Last week it was afraid. I can’t wait to read what everyone writes for “bare.” SO very cool!

  4. Nikki – I’ve never been good at make believe either – which is seems an “opposite day” or “upside down kingdom” thing since I have wanted to be a writer since I was 6:) I guess God knew that:) I love your real, bare-truth writing!

  5. Yes friend. I prayed for this at the start of my blog last year and chose stripped as my one word. I just felt it was what God was telling me. I needed to be bare to be whole. I’m not going to lie, Last year was brutal. But I can see now. So much more. So much grace covering nakedness. I love that this is your prayer too. You and me, girl. Let’s do this. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Wow, what a timely writing prompt…what with Lent and the refining. Oh, what He’s doing through your vulnerability! (A wise, loving friend taught me to look for that.)

  7. Pingback: Laid Bare « It Just Dawned On Me

  8. Pingback: Bare – #fiveminutefriday « Pilgrim Wanderings

  9. I don’t really have anything new to add to these wise women that have come before me this morning. Your words are full of beauty and realness. I love the way you continually speak to my heart, friend.

  10. Nikki, your writing goes directly into my soul. every single time. I could just sit here are weep thinking of Jesus’ sacrifice for me. Thank you so much. He is using you in amazing ways.

  11. I am learning this more and more every day. To be bare with Him and how beautiful it is. Friend…so very thankful for you and your words. You are truly a gift. Love you much.

  12. Woah. Vulnerability is scary….and He’s been laying it on my heart to be more vulnerable lately. Something I need to work on more intentionally. Surrender and vulnerability. Thanks for the beautiful words.

  13. Once again I say, “Beautiful words, Nikki”. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Naked in truth is the place I want to live because the imaginary, make-believe place? I just no good at pretending.
    Have a blessed weekend, Nikki!

  14. Ummm… You made my heart just skip so many beats… and girl I’m ripping DO NOT DISTURB signs right off of doors with you… He was made bare so that we could be covered… Yep tears here this morning. You bless friend, you truly bless.

I can't wait to hear from you...

