The Current of Circumstance {An Invitation to Come}

sundrops-of-moisture-M

It was a white flag kind of day. You know the ones. Where the current of circumstance is so strong you just want pull the cord for the floating device and hope for a tan as it carries you to a deserted island.

Because that’s what it feels like. When your child is sick, the dryer won’t dry, the toaster over-toasts, and the paper boy hits the only wet spot on your driveway. Then you discover your vehicle has issues and your cellphone is MIA and what was that loud crashing sound? Later you receive an email from someone who disagrees with you and as you listen to the news you wonder: how can some people live with themselves? When will they see and where are their mothers?!?

Finally, it was time to write the day off the books.
Every muscle moaned as I slipped under the down comforter.
I’m not sure if I was too wound up or too exhausted.
Regardless, I couldn’t fall asleep
and reached for the devotional on my nightstand instead.

Friends, it was as if God had orchestrated the entire day, building to this one event…

She invited me to read Psalm 73:12-26 and I found myself nodding furiously in agreement with the psalmist. He got it. He knew the days. The ones where no matter how hard you try, it’s never enough.

Yet he also knew how to deal with it. Whom to turn to when questions like what, why, or how start creeping in.

My heart began to slow while reading the author‘s thoughts:

“God wants us to take our questions, disappointments, and frustrations to Him. The process of grappling over our weary circumstances with God grows us spiritually and draws us closer to Him. The deeper the intimacy we forge produces comfort and fresh strength to keep going.

Our circumstances may not change, but God prepares us to meet them…Come into His presence. Bring your pain. Allow Him to strengthen your heart.”

Kathy Howard, God is My Refuge: 12 Weeks of Devotions
and Scripture Memory for Troubled Times

I closed the book and my eyes as I finally brought my day to Him. We talked about the moments I had wished for a do-over. I poured out my frustration over this and that and the other thing.

Friends, I talked to Him like He was my unconditional friend. Because He is…
How easy I forget that I’m not in this alone.

I don’t need to have all the answers, He does.
I don’t need any superpowers, He shares.
I don’t need to worry, He’s here.

And as I sat in the peaceful silence, my breaths grew deeper. slower. My heart warmed with each release. And I was reminded why He bids us to come.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.
Matthew 11:28

How about you, friend? Where has your current of circumstance taken you lately? How do you enter into His presence and accept His invitation to come? I’d love to hear. 

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

NOTE: I’ll be reviewing this book later next week. I hope you come back again as I have more to share with you! 

39 thoughts on “The Current of Circumstance {An Invitation to Come}

  1. Nikki, thank you for your beautiful testimony about how God used “God Is My Refuge” to encourage you at the end of an overwhelming, weary day. Praise God, He is our refuge and strength!

    • Kathy, I’m thrilled you stopped by to read about my day and am honored to read your words which help keep my focus on Him. He is, indeed, our refuge and strength!
      All for Him with hugs to you,
      Nikki

  2. Oh yes – when we simply remember to turn all of our attention to Him – He shows us that He has been there all along and He is always, always ALL IN with us! This I love: “I don’t need to have all the answers, He does. I don’t need any superpowers, He shares. I don’t need to worry, He’s here.” So thankful He does… He shares… and He’s here! Love you sweet friend!

  3. Oh Nikki, Thank you for this. After I read this, I just stopped and basked in the glory of just being HIS child. Thank you for this reminder! In the business of doing, this was such a needed thing today. Thank you!

  4. Nikki, I am so encouraged to be reminded of how He can use all things for good . . . and I love how, in your weariness, you turned to Him–how you knew He was the only one who could redeem and bring hope to a tiring and frustrating day. Your sharing of your heart here is a warm blanket of comfort from Him today. Thank you.

    • Sweet Jennifer, some day I hope to not just remember, but to never forget. He is my refuge and strength. If I kept my eyes fixed, I know I wouldn’t run on fumes… Thank you for being a constant encourager, friend. Thank you.

  5. darling girl, YOU AREN’T THE ONLY ONE! i’d say 3 out of 7 of my days during the week i have an “i quit” moment. thank you for reminding me that :”I don’t need to have all the answers, He does.
    I don’t need any superpowers, He shares.
    I don’t need to worry, He’s here.”

    🙂 lovin you dear

  6. Dearest Nikki
    Oh, this sounds like a day-and-a-half’s trouble crammed into an hour or two. I relate so well, my friend, for the Fibrofog makes it so difficult to think two thoughts in a row, never mind praying. So I talked to Pappa about that and how difficult it is for me to pray. Afterwards I had so much peace.
    Much love XX
    Mia

    • That’s what talking to Him brings, isn’t it, Mia: Peace. Every time. Love that you talked to Him about your struggles. What a great example of how to live with a thorn in your flesh! {HUGS}

  7. Wow, that commentary is phenomenal! I’d have to agree; it’s in the wrestling that we draw near to HIm, and He then uses our openness to effect healing and growth. Thanks for sharing about the specifics of your white flag day—makes me feel less alone in mine;) (((HUGS)))

  8. I love it when He lifts the veil of our humanness and allows us to see a little more of Him… What a way to end your day girl. ~ Love out, Amy

  9. Oh Nikki, I’ve had plenty of those kinds of days — frazzled, exhausted, humbled. I take a few quiet minutes to look back over some of the ways He’s blessed me. To think of some of the things He helped me side-step, and then I thank Him for never leaving me. I also ask for a greater awareness of His presence the next day, so hopefully I won’t be so frazzled!

    So glad we have a great High Priest Who understands our frailties and intercedes for us.

  10. What a beautiful testimony. I can’t wait to hear about the rest of the book. Those days are the most difficult, when we feel defeated, tired, alone, overwhelmed. I try, during those times, to think of Jesus who felt every one of those things and more and ask Him to please give me the wisdom to know He’s with me. I heard something on “The Message” radio station the other day. It went something like this, “If God brought you to it, He will get you through it.” Your story reminded me of that. Much love to you, friend! 🙂

    • Lisa, I think you would LOVE the book! it’s so good. Even to read with your kids. The scripture memory activities are spot on. . .
      So true–if God brought you to it, He will get you through it. So many times, we take that to mean that we can get through it ourselves. But that’s not true. We need to lean on Him. It’s He who can make it through! Love and hugs to you!

  11. I so thankful that He works EVERYTHING for the good of those who trust Him…..even the hard and ugly days can be used to glorify Him (and you’ve done this well my friend). 🙂

  12. Nikki, if it’s any comfort, at almost 67 and 7 years retired, I have several “I quit” days a month, sometimes a week. 🙂 I think it’s human nature and aren’t we blessed to have a God who understands our human nature. After all, He is the Great Father and Creator of us all. Thanks for a wonderful post and overview of what’s to be discovered in Kathy’s book.

    • Sherrey, you always know how to lift me up, don’t you. {HUGS} Thank you for assuring me I’m more “normal” than I feel 🙂
      I think you would love this devotional, Sherrey. Truly. You should look into it!

  13. I truly believe God allows me to have a bad day on occasion so that I will run to Him, in my weariness and brokenness because there is no where else to go. And so I come, broken and weary, tear filled and heart empty, and in return He gives me all of Himself. Thank you my friend. My heart needed this today.

    • That is such a beautiful perspective, Barbie! I need to have a bad day once in awhile…yes. He loves to rescue me. and I need to be reminded how far and how wide and how deep He really does. thank you, friend!

    • I think circumstances is an understatement for you right now, Tereasa;) But seeking stillness might still be the solution! Still praying for you, friend. thanks for stopping by.

  14. Hmm…read a similar word in a devotional this morning…girl, we are often on similar journeys…your sentence about hoping for a tan made me smile…such an optimist as you wave your white flag…so grateful we can go to Him, and He is there with us…hugs to you, and praying you continue to find Him to be your refuge, dear friend 🙂

    • haha! I was wondering if anyone would catch me trying for a tan! Of course it was you, friend:) Praying for YOU as you seek Him and find refuge in His arms. Trust you had a splendid weekend. Looking forward to hearing about it!

  15. Searching for answers that will help me know God’s plan for my life. But as you said, “we don’t need to have all the answers. He does.” “We don’t need to worry. He’s here.” Thank you, Nikki. I know this is true, but sometimes it just helps to read it. Love and hugs,
    Joy

  16. Pingback: God Is My Refuge {What Gets You Through} | simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

