DIVE {Head First} ~ Five Minute Friday

I’d like to list it as a hobby…
Just writing.
Without worrying if it’s right or not.
And then linking arms with others who feel the same.
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

RETREAT-M

Today, I’m joining others
As we write unabashedly
For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

DIVE

I grew up on a spring-fed lake so clear you could see what you were jumping into and beyond. If you could stand the cold, that is. And I could.

Still I never dove.

I would jump off the raft countless times. Never head first, unlike my sister… She was built for the water, I would tell myself. That might be true, but I’m not sure that was the difference.

Then, last Lent, He asked me to jump once again. Right into His arms. And I took off running frantically in His direction. Until I heard “No, child, head first…”

I then realized what denying myself was all about: TRUST.
We’ve been practicing my dive ever since.

And wouldn’t you know in this crazy upsidedown Kingdom of Grace I associate myself with, diving is not what I thought it would be.

Friend, our head is never first. His is. Every.Time.

Some day, when I see Him face-to-face…I’d smile wide if he told me one thing:

“Child, I knew you’d be great at synchronized diving. Well done….well done.”

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you? How’s your dive been looking lately? What new moves has He been showing you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Friends, can I steal a little more of your time? I have two things to share with you…

I’m honored to be a new contributing writer over at Must Love God! I’m over there today sharing about my 2012 One Word, where it took me and where I expect to go this year. I’d love to have you stop by! Simply click on the button below

And one more thing I just have to share…

Click for details on this wonderful eBook!

My friend Kris has written a book on Lent. It’s coming out soon (Feb 1) and I’d feel guilty if I didn’t tell you it could change your world. I’ve had the honor of reading it and living it…won’t you please stop by her place and sign up for her newsletter? You’ll then get exclusive offers including the eBook itself….please dive in. DETAILS HERE

27 thoughts on “DIVE {Head First} ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Oh, girl! You are rockin’ my socks off BIG TIME! What an amazing post! For REALS! LIke almost every line, I was like, “Me too!…Me too!…Me too!” Thank you for sharing such beauty and truth that jitters my insides in ALL the right ways!

  2. You know I was thinking of the fact that God brought you into my life as such a gift, friend. It feels a little like we are standing on that edge, ready to dive, and we grab hold of each other’s hand…and dive right into all He has for us. Thankful for you and your words today. Love you much.

  3. There are times I feel like we dove in back in April when we started this adoption process. Then there are moments I feel like our toes are on the edge….waiting for the whistle to blow allowing us to dive deep. Any day now, the referral could come….can’t wait to make a splash….:)

  4. I love the image of you running frantically, then halting as He calls out “head first”. And then to wrap it up with syncho diving?? Lovely!! Thanks for sharing, Nikki 🙂

  5. Love this, friend. Head first. Gawww! Just when I thought I could do this I realize I never could. He knew I couldn’t all along. He knew I’d need His strength to do it. Love that you see both your weakness and potential in Him. It’s the place of grace that makes the dive beautiful.

  6. You amaze me… you – who weren’t gonna write tonight… and still – you hit me with this: “And wouldn’t you know in this crazy upsidedown Kingdom of Grace I associate myself with, diving is not what I thought it would be. Friend, our head is never first. His is. Every.Time.” I SO needed this! In all His calling me to take more risks – it is vital for me to remember, He goes before me and covers me. Every. Time. …I love you so my friend!

  7. Oh, Nikki
    Sooo… true! That first jump into the unknown head first always seems frightening. Then, afterwards, we usually cannot understand why we have not done this much sooner for it is the most natural, logical thing to do!
    Much love XX
    Mia

  8. Nikki, this is so beautiful and so right on. He always goes before us. What grace there is in knowing and trusting that!! Thank you for sharing this. I haven’t written my 5 minute friday post yet, not sure if I will today (so much work to do!) but I am SO glad for this community, and for the words you share here. Love you, my friend. –and thanks for the book nod, I cant wait for them to read your foreword 😉

  9. I was laughing with you last night and now you’ve got me crying this morning. Seriously. I could hear His voice through your words coming right at me as I’m working on my God-size dream is. “No, child… head first.”

    And the synchronized swimming thoughts have made my heart beat so much faster with anticipation.

    Thank you, my friend. Thank you.

  10. Head first and then finding out that He is always first? Such a beautiful picture, Nikki! Love His invitation to trust- and then the subsequent blessings when we are willing to do so. Blessed by your words and by YOU!

  11. Oh, girl. Thank you for this beauty and truth and grace. Your heart sings out through your words in a way that is truly your own. You are an amazing synchronized diver.

  12. What a beautiful image! He has so blessed you with a desire for Him and the words to proclaim, er–radiate—it! I love that when I read your words, I am continually responding: yes, yes, yes! 🙂 So blessed by you!

  13. LOVE this, friend! I dove head first into public speaking this morning as I shared the heart of my testimony with a pretty good size group of women at our church. It was amazing! God really knows how to make His message beautiful and perfect. 🙂

  14. Oh Nikki, I hate to admit it but so often I feel like a baby bird standing at the edge of the nest wanting to dive into the great unknown but afraid to do so. To have enough trust just to jump right into His loving arms, to have enough trust to dive head first into His wonderful , loving will and plan for my life. Bless you Nikki!
    Joy

I can't wait to hear from you...

