I Wanna Live Like That {Radiate}

elm-creek-M

Denial hits first. Without fail. And I wonder if that will ever change. Maybe one day I will learn to trust immediately — those moments when I sense Him…hear Him.

I’d love to tell you that I pick up my cross, drop all else and follow every time I hear His call. I wish I could claim that without hesitation… I’m determined to.

People talk of God-sized dreams and to me, that one is as big as they come.

Friends, some day, I want to hear it loud and clear. I want to look Him in the eyes and just know I made Him proud. That I did everything I could to glorify Him.

And I’ve decided to go after it with gusto this coming year.

Pen in hand, I planned on writing out what I thought that would look like.

I started off by asking myself one question:

How do I want to live out 2013?

Friends, all I could get out were the lyrics to a song …everything grew from there.

I thought I’d share it with you here today so you know where my heart has been and hopefully will be able to make sense with where it’s going in the coming year.

Subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen in to this powerful song if you’d like.

Live Like That

~ Sidewalk Prophets

Sometimes I think —
What will people say of me
When I’m only just a memory
When I’m home where my soul belongs

Was I love
When no one else would show up
Was I Jesus to the least of us
Was my worship more than just a song

Am I proof
That You are who You say You are
That grace can really change a heart
Do I live like Your love is true

People pass
And even if they don’t know my name
Is there evidence that I’ve been changed
When they see me, do they see You

I want to show the world the love You gave for me
I’m longing for the world to know the glory of the King

I want to live like that
And give it all I have
So that everything I say and do
Points to You

If love is who I am
Then this is where I’ll stand
Recklessly abandoned
Never holding back

I want to live like that

That’s a tall order, don’t you think?
Friends, that’s my God-sized dream this year. I wanna live like that…

I want to Radiate. For Him.

2013 will not be a lukewarm year for me, I’ve already decided.

And I wonder…are you in? Will you join me on this journey? I hope to encourage each other through.

How about you, friend? What do you want to focus on this coming year? How do you want to live out 2013? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

OneWord2013_radiate_Large

Linking with Melanie at Only a Breath
who made this beautiful button for me.
Click to stop by and see other #onewords

45 thoughts on “I Wanna Live Like That {Radiate}

  1. Dear, dear Nikki
    I feel your heart and your dream for 2013. I have only one wish and that is to become less and less, sort of hanging on the cross, so that our Lord Jesus can become more and more until He is all in and through me. Sort of living constantly in the spiritual Canaan … in the everlasting Sabbath.
    Much love and a blessed 2013 to you, dear friend.
    Mia

  2. Wow – what an amazing word for 2013! Yes, I’ll join you in striving to live like Him, for Him, at all times and in all things….even when the world seems bleak and dark. I want to be that light!

    • We can do this together, Aurie! You blazing up the east coast…me in the midwest. both our lights reaching one another. YES! I love it!

      Looking forward to seeing what God does through you in 2013, friend. {HUGS}

  3. An amazing word…so many different places it can (and probably will) take you. Can’t wait to see the journey unfold. I’m planning to write later w/ more dtletail…but my word is going to be trust.

    • Love that you said that, Amy. That it could take me further or higher than I dared dream. Because that’s what I noticed from my 2012 word! I’ll be sharing about that soon–bet you can guess where! πŸ˜‰

      Oh TRUST…so hard. so big. so perfect. Looking forward to seeing what He has in store for you, friend.

  4. that is my absolute favorite song!!! and i LOVE your word for 2013!! quite perfect. πŸ™‚ i’m having a hard time choosing just one word…so i’m going to opt for a two-word phrase from the song above: recklessly abandoned. i have a hard time letting go of control so this phrase speaks to my intention to lay my worry aside and follow His lead. it’s going to be a great year! πŸ™‚

    • Why am I not surprised you know and love that song, Ginger?!? πŸ˜‰
      And I so wanted to use Recklessly Abandoned — YES! Claim it, cuz! we are so kindred… I’ve been praying about my “control issues” lately. He’s been showing me some big picture stuff that hurts now but I see how it’s going to be amazing later. Can’t wait to see how He works through you! {HUGS}

  5. Oh my sweet friend… how you are already Radiating Him in all you do! I love this Word and can’t wait to see how much Brighter you shine for Him in 2013! I am still playing around with my Word… last year’s was Releasing – and I loved it from the start and all the year through! This year… well – I think He gave me the Word but it doesn’t seem very spiritual! LOL… however it is very exciting! πŸ˜‰ Praying it through a day or so longer! Happy New Year my kindred sister… may 2013 be better still!

    • Oh dear Karrilee…you bless me beyond belief. LOVE Releasing and am always amazed at how any word can transform into spiritual with Him as a guide! My 2012 year word didn’t start out as a spiritual effort per say, but boy did it end up as one! I’ll share more about that later on πŸ˜‰

      So excited to see how God works through you in 2013, kindred sister! hugs to you!

  6. Pausing before I jump in and “say” I’m in…. Yes. If I don’t praise Him, thank Him, seek to follow His pure heart, what is left in my life but trying very hard. I want to RADIATE God. That’s going to take me making choices, more time with Him, hearing from Him. Thank girl! This was beautiful!

    • Amy, I am beyond honored to have you along this journey and am so thankful we can cheer each other on! Oh what God can do through us when we keep our eyes fixed. We can do this. He’s worth any price.

      thank you, friend! Love and hugs to you!

  7. Love your word and your vision! So humbled that I can call you friend and sister in Christ. Looking forward to all that He has for you and what He will do through you as you RADIATE Him. Be blessed in all you do this year. I’m with you. I will not be lukewarm either!
    I’ll be watching from a not so far distance and praying for you. Sending you great big hugs and lots of love!

    • It is I who is humbled you’d be willing to join me on my venture, Diana. So blessed by you and how bright you shine! Oh what God can do through you…can’t wait to see what He has in store for you in 2013. Hugs to you, friend!!

  8. You are beautiful, and you radiate the light of Christ already, but I know He has so much more for you. My goal this year is to go back to the simpler things, much of which I will share on the blog tomorrow. I am so thankful to have you along with me on this journey. Hugs!

    • That you see any glimmer of light from me blesses me so, Barbie. Thank you! I know I have more to give and can’t wait to see how He can use me in 2013. I’m looking forward to seeing how He pursues you this coming year, too, friend! Hugs to you!!

  9. You already radiate so much of Christ in your writing. In your love for His Word. I can’t wait to see how much more you do so in 2013! And, yes ma’am! I’m definitely joining you.

    • Yay! Thanks for joining me, friend! And I don’t deserve you…that needs to be said. OH what God can do through our willing hearts! Let’s make sure to keep cheering each other on, okay? HUGS to you!

    • Ooh, yes! I want to read more this coming year, too. Not sure if you saw my top ten list from this last year. I want to hear about any books you find that are worth adding to my list! (I still have The Shack waiting to be read–I think you suggested that one if I’m not mistaken? A long, long time ago?)

  10. I love this, Nikki, and have no doubt that He will grow you into the most radiant light for Him. You already do shine so beautiful and brightly for His glory–I am always warmed by your faith and joy in the Lord. I cannot wait to see what 2013 holds for you, my sweet friend. I know it will be amazing. I love you. (hoping to get that email written today!!)

  11. Already this past year you have been radiating your love for Christ in all your writings. I look forward to joining you on your journey in 2013. Just one little light, one day at a time, we will each do our part in illuminating the World for Christ as we reflect Him and His love to others.
    Love and hugs to you sweet friend and a year filled with blessings.
    Joy

    • Joy, you are such a blessing to me. I can’t thank you enough for joining me here, encouraging me on my journey. You shine bright for Him and I intend to join you. He’s done much with little fish before… πŸ˜‰

      Love and hugs right back to you!

  12. love that song! ironically i’d never read the words before today…very good goal to live like. I love “radiate” as your word for the year!! My word last year was “captivated” and I’m not sure yet what my word goal will be for the year…something about rest though I think…love you dear!

    • Ah, rest…yes… I love that one. or something about it ; )
      Captivated is one of my favorite words of all time — fun fact.
      Much love to you, friend! I’ll be by your place soon–I’m so far behind! ack!

  13. I absolutely love that song! I’ve quietly made it a song for my life. A hope. I love that you used this song to explain your word for this year. I’m glad to be back to blogging and look forward to reading more about what God is doing in you. Blessings and happy new year!

    • I think I need to make it a song for my life, too, Christina. It’s a timeless desire, don’t you think?

      So thrilled you’re back and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for you in 2013! Love and hugs to you, friend!

  14. I love peoples words. I love the words that God has given people. Today I have pushed against God and the word he has given me, because it seems so small, but for me it is a mountain. My word is breath. Just breath. It represents letting go. Believing all the things I know about God and just breathing. To let go of my anxiety and breath.

    • Oh, Kristin, I LOVE that word…that’s a big word that can take you far this year, I’m certain. letting go is so…..hard… Thank you for sharing with me so I know how to pray for you this year! Love and hugs to you!

  15. Oh, Nikki, what a beautiful word you have chosen for 2013. You do indeed radiate the love of Christ and the Holy Spirit. So many times, through your words, I feel like He is speaking right to me!

    And I have to tell you that I LOVE that song! I am blessed to have satellite radio and I listen to the station called “The Message.” They play “I want to live like that” and so many other beautiful songs like it. Sometimes, I just need to turn on the radio and hear one of the songs and I feel so much better about everything. πŸ™‚

    • I wonder if I can find “The Message” station on the internet–sounds like I’d love it! I need to figure out Pandora better… πŸ˜‰

      we are kindred, Lisa. Music speaks to my heart when words can’t.
      Thank you for reading my heart, friend. And cannot tell you how humbling it is to know you hear Him through me at times. thank you! To God be the glory…

  16. Love your chosen word “radiate” — something you already do well, but maybe you don’t realize it just yet. You have radiated from this blog, through emails to me, His love and grace, your own compassionate spirit, but I know (and if you’ve read my last blog post you’ll understand) sometimes it’s hard to pinpoint exactly what is expected or wanted of us. I’m in that place just now. That’s why I’ve stepped away from blogging and so much social media interaction. After 2012, I just need to find silence and peace. Renewal of spirit, come, please come. He’s calling me, but I don’t know in what direction yet. I need to be quieter and engage with Him in greater ways. So while you radiate this 2013, I’m going to SIMPLIFY. That’s my word but I have only you and Him to share it with for now while I’m renewing.

    (But for when I come back, where would I find that lovely image you use to share your one word?)

    Nikki, you are a treasure sent from above. Thank you for always writing what I need to read. πŸ™‚

    • So encouraged to see how you are abiding in Him, Sherrey. I did read your last post and wasn’t able to comment on it…I wanted to encourage you by sharing that I love how you are pulling focus onto His face, despite the whirlwind around you. Simplify is a PERFECT word for 2013! (and Melanie Moore at OnlyaBreath.com fashioned the one word button for me for free! check out her blog to learn more).

      Always thrilled to see your smiling, encouraging avatar here, friend. Even if you can’t stop by, please know you’re in my heart and prayers! {HUGS}

      • Nikki, I intentionally (your word last year, I think) turned off comments so I wouldn’t be tempted to go and check or receive emails letting me know they were there. I truly need to step back. Thanks as always for your words of understanding and encouragement. I’ll check out OnlyaBreath — and thanks for that. Most of all thanks for your prayers, for holding me in your heart and for your hugs!

  17. Pingback: All Things Possible

  18. Pingback: Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me | simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

