His Law is Love {And His Gospel is Peace}

STRIKEA-M-1

I can barely make it through the newscast. No amount of hand writhing can soothe the ache that burns hot in my chest. I’m pleading for Jesus to come quickly, while striving not to ask “Why?!?”

Because I don’t want to be able to make sense of something so senseless.

There’s never a reason good enough for acting so atrocious…

My soul tries to calm as it reminds me of words I’d just heard sung:

He knows our need, our weakness is no stranger.

Friends, I ache for the mothers left gaping over something so cruel and unusual. I can’t find the words worthy enough to provide any type of ointment and yet I long to soothe them somehow. Touch their skin, hold them up and encourage them to breathe. Slow and steady.

It’s what we’re reminded to do while birthing our children into this world…
and it’s the reminder we need when they’re ripped away from us.

I know God feels the same way. He mourns for how we treat His own children…this wasn’t a part of His will. But by His grace, He’ll include it. For His plan will prevail.

What gets me riled up is we’ve had the answer to our weakness for over two thousand years. He’s told us what we need. We’ve been singing it for nearly 200 years. The same song with one lyrical line providing the solution:

His law is love and His gospel is peace.

Oh friends, if we just took His suggestion His commandment seriously. If only we could live out His Golden Rule like our lives depended on it.

It really is all about His love.

And if we included Him in our everydays and abided by the laws of His love, the gospel of peace would ring true.

I’ll never pretend to understand why we do some things we do. But I can follow His example. I can love till the bitter end. And if I only experience peace in my heart this side of heaven, it will be enough. For it was all I could govern.

Friends, I can control how I look at someone I don’t understand.

It’s not up to me to figure out their why…

I’m called to love. Just as He loves me.

Relentlessly. Despite my unworthiness.

None of us deserve Him.
None of us have earned freedom.
None of us have anything to offer He doesn’t already have.

But we can strive to love. To emulate His grace and mercy to even those we’d rather write off as hopeless.

Oh if we lived that way, I believe we’d know what peace looked like. I’m starting to see it in my own self…as I throw sense aside and put on my lens of love and truly see what He’s after.

I see their faces today on television and long to offer my shoulder. To combine our salty tears and leave them on the altar together. To extend His arms of love…

My palms open as I invite Him in. And I can’t help but do what the song suggests we do:

Fall on your knees.

Friends, we can’t do this alone. We need Him permeating our lives. We need our Good Shepherd.

Let’s worship Him this week. With everything we’ve got. Let’s love on those He loves. No matter what. And let’s mean the song we’re singing this Season, “O Holy Night” as we offer:

Sweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus raise we,
With all our hearts we praise His holy name!

How about you, friend? How can you abide by His law of love this week? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

And please, pray for those affected by this horrific tragedy. May they cling to His steadfast arms and feel His loving embrace today…

Simply striving,

Nikki

NOTE: This wasn’t what I intended on sharing today, but is still a part of my Advent Series where I share lyrics from the traditional Christmas Hymns and what they mean to me. I know I’ve shared this song already, but my heart had to go further…thank you for grace! You can view others like this HERE.

 

30 thoughts on “His Law is Love {And His Gospel is Peace}

  1. Good Morning from Maine Nikki, beautiful thoughts of reaching out and reaching in. May I speak only words of love to my family this week and may I remember others in need. I need God to do this, to love. ~ Blessings out, Amy

  2. Hi dear Nikki
    Yes, I agree that we can only love! I received a beautiful Afrikaans devotional today that says that when we fall to our knees, we see our Pappa’s footsteps next to ours on our life journey.
    Bess you XX
    Mia

  3. In a world full of darkness only Jesus can fill our hears with love and light. Oh that the world could realize the truth and begin to seek His peace and discover His unfailing love. Thank you Nikki for being a light and sharing His love.
    Joy

  4. Sweet Nikki, I’ve been thinking of you often this past week and I finally had five minutes to stumble over here and read these words of grace. Your words manage to capture the heart of Him–He who is the light burning wild in the wilderness of night. This planet’s cock-eyed and nearly spun right off into oblivion with the weight of it’s wounds. Thank you for this ray of hope, clinging desperately to it, today–today of all days. LOVE you.

  5. Leaning into Him for comfort and peace this week… Praying for those who desperately need Him to wipe their tears and give them strength to face the pain of tomorrow. Thanks for sharing your beautiful heart, Nikki.

  6. I can’t even begin to express what I feel and have felt this weekend. All I can say and have said is that my heart hurts.

    I praise God that in midst of such and uncertain world that we live in we can still see His light and feel His love.

    Thank you for such beautiful words Nikki. I pray that God will continue raining words of encouragement on you for a world that needs His love and light so much.

    Always and always
    Just Me Sonia (Diana’s Auntie)

    • You heart hurts and you can still praise, Sonia. That thrills my heart! YES! God is good all the time and He’s offering us all we need right here right now. Striving with you to lean in and humbly receive all He has for us…what grace.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to not only stop by, but share with me. I see now why I love Diana so : ) Hugs to you!

  7. Oh, the grief and the pain rips at my very soul and I shudder to think of the families that have been shattered because of a single act. Loving seems so simple, and yet is so hard for some, if they don’t understand how deep that love runs for us from our Heavenly Father. Praying alongside you today.

    • The older I get the more I realize how simple He made it for us and how we complicate things so much we lose sight of the truth…

      Thanks for praying with me, friend. What a treasure you are!

  8. Blessing me, as always, Nikki. Yes, we have everything in us capable to love. We can choose Him. We can love with whole hearts, unreservedly. He is with us and pours out wisdom and love to show us His way in this dark world. Love you, friend. Thank you.

    • “We can choose Him”….my greatest dream, Jennifer, is to be able to say I made that choice…every time. Unreservedly.

      So grateful He has linked our arms on this journey Home, friend. Thank you for reading my heart.

  9. Such beautiful and truthful words, dear Nikki! I’ve been missing your posts because we’ve been away and healing our own hurts. But today in beginning to catch up, I found this and I’ve shared it on Facebook it meant so much to me. Hurting hearts are healed only by His hand. We know that and the words of this carol are so meaningful and reassuring. Bless you, dear sister, for your gift of sharing His truth.

    Yours in Him forever, Sherrey

    • I’ve been thinking about you and praying for you, Sherrey as I can only imagine the flood of emotions this Season. May you savor long the wonder of His love and discover along the way those tidings of comfort and joy.

      Love and hugs to you! ~Nikki

    • Oh you bless me so, Lorretta! thank you for stopping by and reading my heart, friend. May you continue to see how He still shines a star bright in the darkness to the light your path… Sending you tidings of love and joy this season and in the year to come. A Very merry Christmas to you and yours!

I can't wait to hear from you...

