All Hopes and Fears Are Met

corncrib

It’s when the moon invites quiet I notice it most. When I wonder how I let it get this bad.

Me…the one striving for delight with a life built on simple.

It becomes nearly comical how much we can truly whittle away. How little we need to survive with joy overflowing. And I make mental note of things I plan to erase off lists. For I can do better than this. I can slow down more to truly see the reason for the season…

As I clear my mind of life’s clutter, it hits me. Right there on the screen while singing it with my church family:

The hopes and fears of all the years
Are met in Thee tonight.

And I wonder how I’ve missed it all these years.

We talk about it all the time. I memorized the beatitudes ages ago. I know I don’t need to worry, or fret…

But friends, do you see it? Do you see how I’ve glanced over the first part while being so focused on the latter?

Our hopes have been met!

My breath catches as I realize I have been given another gift…a small glimpse at how much He loves me.

For what more could I hope for that my Jesus hasn’t already given me?

What more could I need than that which He has already provided?

I’ve said it before and keep receiving proof of how much it’s true. Friends, He’s got this. Whatever we face today, He’s already taken care of. Any hopes and fears we meet along the years, He’s got them covered.

His name Emmanuel? We can take that literally!

And I belt out the final stanza with ease as I claim it for my own:

O holy Child of Bethlehem,
Descend to us, we pray;
Cast out our sin, and enter in,
Be born in us today.
          …
O come to us, abide with us
Our Lord Emmanuel!

How about you, friend? What fears or hopes has He met for you lately? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Note: These lyrics were taken from the all familiar Christmas Hymn: O Little Town of Bethlehem. This post is a part of my Advent series where I share my favorite stanzas of our cherished Christmas hymns and reveal what they mean to me. You may see other posts like this HERE.

 
14 thoughts on “All Hopes and Fears Are Met

  1. Dear, Sweet Nikki,
    Thank You for this {Word-HUG}…I really needed it.
    May the Hope & Peace of Christmas fill all of your senses with Wonder & Delight. Oh that we would let our child-heart come out to play, sing & dance in celebration of the Birth of Hope. Yes, He who brought the light of Peace as His Gift to each of us on His Birthday continues to wait for us to fully live & love in that light who came to live among us & now in us. You do indeed shine His light & my heart is warmed by it.
    May God Bless You & yours beyond imagination thia Christmas season!
    Love Ya! Susie 🙂

    • Oh, Susie, I needed your comment! Thank you dear friend, for sharing with me. May this Season draw you into true wonder and complete, overwhelming joy over His love for you!

      Love and hugs to you! ~Nikki

  2. Hi dear friend Nikki
    Oh yes, I have written in two previous posts on how we miss that wonder of HIM amongst all the hustle and bustle of this busy world that frantically prepares for Christmas. Yes, my friend, it is all about living that sweet eternal live in Him. It is not a concept to be accepted and grasped ….. It is a living, dynamic love relationship of sharing in His life and experiencing His love. It is living, breathing, dancing ….. just indescribable.
    I love your new pic!!
    Hugs XX
    Mia

    • Mia, I’m going to have to get over and read. I’m having a hard time keeping up with my blog reading lately!
      You are so right…I heard someone say just yesterday that the reason we can’t describe His love is because you have to experience it to know it.
      Friend, may you know His love fully…by His grace.
      Love and hugs to you!

    • Thank you, Dolly! No worries. I knew you’d find it at some point : ) I could have DM’d you if I was concerned! (and I missed your phone call today. I’m sorry!) love and hugs to you and that precious baby ‘B’ : )

    • Our needs are met and still He blesses us with learning how to survive the desert… My grandmother would say “you have to know what parched feels like to know what quenches it the best.”…

      Thank you, Kathy, for stopping by. I’m so thankful God has brought us right here (and cannot wait for my package in the mail!!!) ; )

      All for Him with hugs to you,
      Nikki

  3. Jesus is everything we need for today, yesterday and in the future. He is my living hope. Wow I love the last part of that song, He is abiding in us, right now, our Lord, Emmanuel! Thank you, sweet Nikki for reminding us that we have no need to fret or fear about the future. God is with us. Thank you for blessing my heart this morning with these beautiful thoughts.
    Joy

I can't wait to hear from you...

