The Body of Christ {The Servant Song}

Friends, I’m honored to have my friend Mandy share her heart with you today. Her message hits hard for me, especially around Christmas.

Will you please give Mandy a warm welcome? (and psst…it’s Mandy’s birthday today! Feel free to offer warm wishes in comments!)

Mandy, this space is yours…

She walks a dark valley of loss that He never intended for any of His children.

Not by choice, but by tragedy.

I ache to see her suffer so.

I yearn to take it all away, to bring back to her the one thing, the person, she wants. Needs. Loves.

Desperately.

But I will settle for diminishing an hour, a minute, a moment of her strife if I can.

When I do she feels guilty. From inside her anguish, her deep love desires not to keep me from my husband and children.

I struggle to convey my thoughts and feeling about that. I am temporarily at a loss for words.

I ponder it, pray over it.

And He puts it into sharp focus for me, graces me with the words:

This is the body of Christ.

This is the body of Christ! This is what we do. This is who we are. This is what we were made for.

I can’t take your pain away, friend of my heart.

But.

When the tears spill and sobs shake…

I will weep with you.

When joy breaks through the agony…

I will laugh with you.

When hope is beyond reach and darkness threatens…

I will hold the Christ light for you.

When you need His arms…

I will be as Christ to you…

And when I am walking a dark valley…

I pray for the grace to let you be Christ to me, too.

This is the body of Christ.

The Servant Song

(hymn written by Richard Gillard)

Will you let me be your servant
Let me be as Christ to you
Pray that I might have the grace
To let me be your servant too

We are pilgrims on the journey
We are travelers on the road
We are here to help each other
Walk the mile and bear the load

I will hold the Christ light for you
In the night time of your fear
I will hold my hand out to you
Speak the peace you long to hear.

I will weep when you are weeping
When you laugh, I’ll laugh with you
I will share your joy and sorrow
Till we’ve seen this journey through.

When we sing to God in heaven
We shall find such harmony
Born to all we’ve known together
Of Christ’s love and agony

Lyrics Credit

Photo Credit

* * *

Mandy Mianecki is a wife, mama, daughter, sister, and friend, passionately pursuing her Savior.

She is also known as a coffee-drinker, art-maker, word-nerd, and homeschooling-attempter. She frequently has Cheerios in her carpet, dust on, well, everything, and love in her heart. That heart is to encouraging you in this walk of faith that you can do this!

How about you, friend? Who can you be Christ to this Advent Season? What part of the body of Christ will you be this week? We’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with us.

And Happiest of birthdays, Mandy! Friend of my heart, thank you for being Christ to me so many times before. You’ve picked me off the floor time and time again. Love and hugs to you!

Simply striving,

Nikki

37 thoughts on “The Body of Christ {The Servant Song}

  1. Hi Mandy
    This is the best interpretation of 1 Corinthians13 I think I have ever read….
    This is the bride of our Lord, His Lady Ekklesia, radiant with His love shing in and through her. Just like your photo speaks of incredible pain, yet, peace and joy that comes from deep within. I hope that you have a wonderful, fulfilled birthday and a blessed new year walking with your Pappa God!
    Thanks dear Nikki for introducing your friend to us.
    Love to you
    Mia

  2. Yes, that is the body of Christ…walking alongside one another, sharing in the journey. May we all love in that way. And happy birthday from one coffee lover to another:)

  3. Beautiful picture of friendship: “I will weep with you. I will laugh with you. I will hold the Christ light for you. I will be as Christ to you. I pray for the grace to let you be Christ to me, too.” Isn’t this what we all want? What we all need? It’s hard sometimes to know how to be a comforter in the rawest of times. This reminder helps!

    Christy @ A Heartening Life
    http://www.ahearteninglife.com

    • Hi Christy! I have always loved the way the lyrics to this song encapsulate the Christian life. Yes, I SO want to be this, and what a blessing when it is received too. I need this reminder often:) Blessings, friend!

  4. How blessed we are to be part of the body of Christ. Thank you for this beautiful picture of being the arms and love of Christ to each other. Blessings to you and Nikki and I wish you a very happy birthday, Mandy!
    Joy

  5. Mandy, these are such poignant words. And a refreshing reminder that amidst all of the joy of this blessed season, there are those longing for a little Christ-likeness to just rub up alongside them and stay awhile. I so appreciate the encouragement to stretch out my hands as often as possible. I hope you’ve had a delightful birthday today.

    • I have had a delightful birthday. Thank you! I so appreciate your thoughts here, and I like how you phrased that: “stretch out my hands as often as possible.” Lately, I’ve realized that everyone is fighting some kind of tough battle, and some far harder than we are aware of. Loving-kindness can go a long way to ease that:) Blessings!

  6. Mandy…beyond words over your words shared here today. Beautiful. Just sweet beauty. Thank you for sharing your heart friend. You spoke to mine today. Blessings.

  7. Dear Mandy, you are such a dear heart friend and I’m wishing you a blest Happy Birthday. How special you’ve become to me through the blog you share with so many. We have another exciting connection, for today, I had the blessing of being at the hospital as my daughter gave birth to her 5th child, my 14th grandchild. My new granddaughter’s name is Amariah Grace and she is a true miracle from God!
    Thank you again for such a meaningful message from God as you shared about being a servant to others. I pray that my servant’s heart was a blessing to my daughter and my son-in-law as they waited through some anxious times over the last 9 months…5 of those months my son-in-law was deployed with the USAF. God was so good to give us the desire if our heart and he was home in time to see his little girl born.
    Praising God today for you, Mandy, for your servant’s heart and for his blessing of a precious child of God that I get to be “Mema” to, in the days and years ahead!
    Love to you, Ruth Chidley

    • Dear, sweet Ruth! How very exciting all these connections are! Big congratulations, Mema:) December 3rd is, indeed, a wonderful day to be born. I am praising God for His tender love and faithfulness in bringing your son-in-law home for his daughter’s birth! Amazing. Your words here felt just like a big hug, so thank you for being a blessing to me on my birthday. Love you, Ruth!

  8. Perfect timing… that is what this post was for me! Thank you Nikki and Mandy! These are the words of my heart to a friend this morning… and last night that were spoken not through words, but a hug that melted walls built up, a year of silence and hurt feelings, and tears that were both cleansing and healing all at once. Yes… this is the Body of Christ!

    • Karrilee, my fellow (in)designee, I am so thrilled for the both of you! I am praising God for the tremendous gift of grace you experienced. Yay! Thank you so much for sharing that. Prayers for blessings on your continued friendship.

  9. So excited to see Mandy here today! And I’m a day late, so Happy belated birthday, Mandy! Thanks for blessing us with the sweet thoughts, and I love the lyrics to the song.

    Blessings to you both!

  10. I am walking through some deep waters with some people right now…times like these are when we see…our lives…our time…our family are not our own…all given to God to do as He sees best…thanks for the timely encouragement….and Hi Nikki…blessings to you both~

    • Ro, I am sorry about your deep waters. Big prayers for you and all involved. May Christ wrap you each in His tender embrace and fill you with grace to tread the water. May He allow you to rest secure in His protection. Thank you for sharing your heart here.

  11. Happy Belated Birthday, Mandy as it is now the 4th…what a gift for you to live out Christ’s love for your friend, and how hard it is sometimes to receive because we don’t want to trouble our friends…Thanks, Mandy and Nikki 🙂

  12. Yes! This is what I needed from a friend recently and was blessed to receive it! Now I eagerly wait to be Christ to someone else so they can feel the warmth, love and peace I felt recently…. Is this what you mean by community?? If so… I want more!

I can't wait to hear from you...

