All Blessings Flow {Let Praise Ring Rampant}

We put on our Sunday best and ensure our best behavior as we enter God’s House. We fold hands neatly and bow heads politely. And we Greet others doing the same warmly.

When worship begins, we nod in rhythm. Tap our fingers while making sure we don’t swing our elbows too far. Sometimes our hands raise, but all within our own personal safety zone. Some forget and break free from the norm, but we show them grace.

Together, we gather our voices in harmony and praise God, from whom all blessings flow.

And as I drive home and see faces painted, waving encouragement, proudly displaying colors being celebrated today. As I see others congregate to hoot and holler and support the team they side on, I wonder…

Am I giving God my best worship?

Does He see me waving His colors? Does He get my utmost passion?

Do I exude praise?

This week in church, The Doxology was quoted in prayer. And as I reflected on the man who authored that powerful hymn, I answered my own question.

Thomas Ken knew how to praise God unabashedly.

He didn’t believe in Sunday’s best. No. He believed in worship. And discovered the key to it all:

We need to bend low to praise high.

Friends, “The Doxology” was considered blasphemous when written. It wasn’t Sunday’s best. It had to be penned behind closed doors. Sung in secret.

But Thomas Ken, an Anglican Bishop for the Diocese of Wells in the Church of England, thought this worship was worth the price.

He could have lost it all. His social status, job, home, and all of his friends if anyone had found out he was writing hymns not using scripture verbatim. But he saw the need those college boys had under him. He saw the personal relationship missing in the greatest love affair they could ever obtain. And he decided to do something about it.

Aren’t you glad he did?

His last request and final act on this earth proved his belief that praise was worth it, no matter the cost. I can almost hear that college boy singing “The Doxology” at his funeral…per Thomas Ken’s request…

And I wonder…do I deny myself enough to do the same? To praise no matter the cost? Do I prove where my loyalties lay?

When the message of my life is done,
will His praise ring rampant?

I want to say yes. But I’m worried that I’m even asking the question.

So this is the day.

Today, He’s going to get the best of me.

How about you, friend? Do you fully praise from whom all blessings flow? Do you wave your homer hankie for His glory? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

NOTE: I shared the history of this song on the Monday before Thanksgiving last year, but felt led to expand upon it again this year. You may see my previous post on “The Doxology” by CLICKING HERE.

20 thoughts on “All Blessings Flow {Let Praise Ring Rampant}

  1. Dear Nikki
    Your words remind me of Isaiah 29:13 where our Pappa tells the Israelites that they praise Him with their lips, but their hearts are far away from Him. He refuses to listen to that. Yes, you are spot on; does our praise come from the depths of our love for Him or is it just another obligation we have to fulfill towards Him? To me it is sort of love vs duty sort of thing! Oh, let our hearts dwell in Him so that our praises can be sweet to Him! I just love the doxology too and I am thankful towards Thomas Ken with you!
    Blessings and a wonderful week for you, sweet friend!
    Mia

    • Yes, good thoughts here, Mia. And I’m not liking how my worship/praise is on my own time table. In my own comfort zone. It’s time to step it up a notch! He deserves the very best of me and I’m sure He’s made me capable of more…

      Thank you for sharing with me!
      All for Him with hugs to you,
      Nikki

  2. Hi Nikki and happy holiday week sister. There are so many thoughts that I’m lifting to Him today. I feel as though I’m just getting started. It’s so refreshing to be realizing that I can give Him praise {thanks} in every thing today! Thank you for the historical reminder… very good. ~ Blessings out, Amy

    • Love that, Amy! You’re just getting started. Yes..me too, friend. Me, too. And tomorrow, I’m going to give Him my best, too…

      Love and Hugs to you as you celebrate with your family and worship the One from whom all blessings flow!

  3. I’ve sung that song nearly every Sunday my whole life and never knew the story behind it. Thanks for opening the door into the heart of the man who risked his life for his love for God. May that be my own heart as well.

    • Thank you, Christina! Glad I could shed some light on this hymn–which always amazes me that it’s actually the last stanza of two of his hymns…I digress. and have talked about that already! 😉

      Happiest of thanksgivings to you and yours friend!

  4. I love this NIkki… I never knew the history behind the Doxology… I just know – as a new Christian… dating a pastors kid… we would (and still do!) gather around the table before a meal, and pray – and sing the Doxology (mostly – sometimes another hymn – but almost always – this!) – all of them – in perfect harmony and me, whispering it shyly under my breath – but screaming it from the top of my voice in the spirit! Surely – we will sing it this week before a meal… and I will think of this and Him and you… and I love that!

    • Oh, I LOVE that, too! now I wanna give you a hug….so that hasn’t changed:)

      Let’s belt it out tomorrow in actions and in truth, friend, what do you say. Let’s praise Him with everything we’ve got!

  5. You bring up a great point. I fear I don’t always worship unabashedly. When I read how David sang and danced to the Lord, it should inspire me to praise God with everything I am. I’m going to have to meditate on this. Thanks!

  6. in service yesterday The Father and I had a very similar conversation. We watched a video of a man that was imprisoned for 10+years (in the Philippines?) for being a Christian. The majority of the video focused on his desire to have a Bible…even risking smuggling them into the jungle and burying them because he knew he’d be punished for the one he had in his cell. It was powerful! Powerful in that it showed me how little I cherish the many versions of THE WORD that I have collecting dust in my house. Powerful because I often neglect it and don’t make time.
    So yes…I’m with you darling. Challenged to love Him more…and live Him better.
    loving you!

    • I love how you converse with Him, friend…
      and wow. I take my Bible for granted, too, let alone all my favorite translations!
      yes, let’s do this together…love Him more and live Him better. we can do this.

  7. The doxology is one of my favorite pieces of music – and I love that our church sings it every Sunday!! When you take the words apart and really study them it’s awesome to think that each time we sing we are commanding all of heaven and earth to praise our Lord!

    • I’m convinced I would never grow tired of singing this every Sunday and now you’ve just confirmed that for me! How wonderful that you do! Yes, I wanted to break it down here, but thought I’d save that for another time. so much depth in those four lines let alone both hymns they came from!

  8. I am challenged here, too, friend, as at church yesterday our pastor reminded us of David’s unabashed dancing and singing for God–how there were no excuses for his behavior. He knew who he was, in God, and he was grateful and joy-filled, and he couldn’t imagine how else to live. Yes–He is speaking to me. So grateful for your words, here. Nikki.

  9. I didn’t know the history of the Doxology – WOW. He risked everything. I’m so glad he did, and I’m challenged by it. Thanks for sharing, Nikki. When the story of my life is written, I hope praise is woven through every chapter.

I can't wait to hear from you...

