Growing in Silence {Come to Me}

Her kind, age-softened hand secured my forearm. Our eyes locked and I tried to brace myself for what was to come. Once satisfied with the attention, she asked how my prayer life has been.

Relief followed as I mentioned my prayer journal. My daily routines surrounding it. And I even joked about how it is the only thing that keeps me sane most days–my daily pleadings of rescue. I may have compared it to a laptop, using words like restart…reboot…

She intently listened. Patiently waiting until I was through. When the silence lasted long enough to appease her, she clarified her question:

“How have you been hearing Him lately, Nikki?
What has He been saying to you during your prayer time?
That’s what matters to me most.”

Thankfully, I have heard Him lately and was able to share with her what He wants me to dwell on. But when I laid my head down that night, I began to ponder her question further.

It’s true. What He says matters most.

And I began to wonder how well I listen.

I mentioned it briefly last week, this portion of Henri Nouwen’s A Cry for Mercy I’ve been praying lately:

“You, O Lord, will give me all the attention I need
if I would simply stop talking and start listening to you.
Give me, O Lord, that silence.
Let me be patient and
grow slowly into the silence in which I can be with You.
Amen.”

And when I heed His invitation to simply be. To bask in His Glory, soak in His grace, reside in His arms, I hear words like these:

Come to Me ~ Bethel Loft Sessions

featuring Jenn Johnson

I am the Lord your God
I go before you now
I stand beside you
I’m all around you
And though you feel I’m far away
I’m closer than your breath
I am with you
More than you know

I am the Lord your peace
No evil will conquer you
Steady now your heart and mind
Come into my rest
Let your faith arise
And lift up your weary head
I am with you
Wherever you go

Come to me, I’m all you need
Come to me, I’m everything

I am your anchor, in the wind and the waves
And I am your steadfast, so don’t be afraid
Though your heart and flesh may fail you
I’m your faithful strength
And I am with you
Wherever you go

Come to me, I’m all you need
Come to me, I’m your everything

Don’t look to the right or to the left, keep your eyes on me
You will not be shaken, you will not be moved

I am the hand to hold, I am the truth, I am the way
Just come to me, come to me
Cause I’m all that you need

You may listen to “Come to Me” by clicking here.


My apologies for not having the video linked here directly (technical issues…)

How about you, friend? What do you hear when you stop talking and start listening? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

28 thoughts on “Growing in Silence {Come to Me}

  1. Sweet Nikki
    To my shame I have to admit that for a long time I used to read our Lord’s words as,”Run from me and seek your own rest!”. Thanks be to our Pappa; not anymore.
    Bless you, dear friend
    Mia

  2. Oh my friend…what timing! In just the last week or so I have been focusing on “Be still, Mary, and know that I am God.” I read somewhere on a blog (I wish I knew where!) about inserting my name in that phrase. It is amazing how much better I hear when I stop talking and listen! Who knew? 🙂

    Beautiful post my friend.

  3. Happy new week Nikki… happy listening to His voice. He’s always saying something it seems to me like lately… whether speaking words of truth and correction directly to me or speaking through thanks and praise in people and my surroundings. ~ Love, love, love you sister, Amy

  4. Pingback: Soul Stops | Alphabet of Thanks Series: "A" is for "Always"

  5. Beautiful lyrics, Nikki. Can’t wait to hear the song. And how He speaks? It varies, so I’m glad for the confirmation He sends me. He remembers that I’m dust, and occasionally ditzy dust at the 😉

  6. I am still learning to be quiet and listen for His response. I can go on and on to Him about my struggles and never stop to listen. Thanks for this encouragement to listen, it’s true, it is the most important thing. Blessings to you my friend!

  7. So,,so beautiful! I just want to cry out wait, I’m coming. You are my everything, all I’ve ever needed. I want to hear you speak and stay in your presence. I love you! Thank you Nikki, God bless you as you bless our hearts continually.
    Joy

  8. When He speaks to me, it is almost always in that still, small voice. Many times, I’m not even sure if it’s Him, but then He graciously gives confirmations. Lately, He’s been telling me, “Don’t be afraid. I’ve got this.” or “You can do this because I am with you.” xoxo

  9. “Grow slowly into the silence” – I am learning that. Lately, He tells me to bloom where I’m planted, to have faith in the journey of a prayer, to be real in love with Him. I am a slow learner but I don’t give up – I’m learning to be quiet!

    Have a week spilled over with blessing!

    • No wonder I like you so much–you’re persistent! Real in love with Him…yes.
      I’m a slow learner, too, but I like to think it’s because I let it sink in deeper before I grab hold of it 🙂 Hugs to you!

  10. “What do you hear when you stop talking and start listening?” lately…I hear I’m ok. That I’m seen and that winter doesn’t last forever. That I’m in a listening stage and that I miss HIM. Time gets away if you don’t MAKE time…ya know? l

  11. Pingback: My Offering «

  12. Pingback: My Offering | choikos

  13. Pingback: Alphabet of Thanks Series: “A” is for “Always” | Dolly M. Lee @ Soul Stops

I can't wait to hear from you...

