ROOTS ~ Five Minute Friday

This is the post each week
Where I join a community of grace-filled wonders
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

And we write unabashedly
For five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone.

Greg Abel Photography. All Rights Reserved

This week’s prompt:

ROOTS

For weeks upon weeks he’s asked for the same song. And I try so hard not to groan for it’s really not a going-to-sleep song. He can’t see me doing the motions in the dark and yet he is adamant with his request that they must be done.

So he closes his eyes and I try to create a safe space for dreams. I make sure he hears my hands building. Wisely on rock. Foolishly on sand. With rains tumbling down and floods rising.

Some day I’ll have to explain how I’ve made up the last three verses.

But not tonight.

No.

Tonight, my 4 year-old miracle of a boy will go to sleep knowing our house is built on Jesus. He’ll know the rains can’t penetrate our hearts. Sure waves will come crashing, but our foundation won’t crack.

He’ll know when the floods of life rise, our Savior becomes our life raft.

And some day I’ll tell him all about roots and how they don’t have to be buried here.

Roots don’t need a zip code. They need a Savior.

I already have his Bible picked out. The one my husband and I will give him sooner than later.

I’ll show him how to build upon it.
How to bury deep within it.
How to soak up its nutrients daily.

So when the rains come — and they will.
But when the floods rise — he’ll know he’s going to be alright.

Because his roots extend beyond the storm.

And his Savior has got a firm hold.

STOP.

 

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you? How do you bury your roots in the Word? (And do you know what song I’ve been singing each night?) I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Are we friends on Facebook? I’d love to be…

42 thoughts on “ROOTS ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Loved this! My 4 year old asked tonight that I sing Jesus Love Me, but add in her name. Ah, the 4 year old mind… I absolutely resonated with roots not needing a zipcode, but a Savior. Amen!

  2. I love that you sing sweet words to your babe. I love that you are pouring God’s Word deep into His heart. We want them to be able to walk confidently with Him later even during the storms of the hard times. We want them to know who they can turn to when it seems like they are drowning in it. Knowing that He saves is just the beautiful beginning of the walk. Thanks for sharing friend. Love & hugs.

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this. It reminds me of my days as a dad to my daughter and teaching her lessons from the Bible. She’s grown now, and, unfortunately, is enjoying life and what the world has to offer. But she will come back some day. I know it, because I know she has roots in God’s word.
    Enjoyed reading this a lot. What an awesome testimony to Godly parenting.

  4. just beautiful Nikki. I love the way you love the Lord, and how your bringing your son up to know Him so well–it is a beautiful thing to behold.

    And yes, “Roots don’t need a zip code, they need a saviour” Nodding my head here and whispering amen! Love you, my sweet friend.

  5. As someone who often mourns the lack of family as I sit alone at soccer games or who feels sad as we spend yet another holiday far away from family, this post encouraged my soul and reminded me that roots really aren’t all about family.

  6. Dear Nikki
    Yes, I agree, roots do need a Saviour. I seem to have many roots in my heart that not only needs a Saviour, but also a divine Gardener. You know those stubborn ones that we are totally unable to clear from the soil of our hearts without the help of our Lord.

    • Haha! I was wondering if anyone would ask that! of course it was you, Peg…the poet ; )
      I’m assuming you must know the song I’m referring to!

      The verses I add (for a 4 year old mind you) at the end:

      We built our house with the Builder Jesus Christ…(repeat 3 x’s)
      And a house built with Christ will stand firm
      The rains will come and the floods will rise (3 x’s)
      But don’t worry, Jesus makes things waterproof

      Our house is built on the B-I-B-L-E (3 x’s)
      And a house on the Word will stand firm
      The rains will come and the floods will rise (3 x’s)
      But a house on the Word will not break

      So build your life with the Book by G -O- D (3 x’s)
      And your life with God will stand firm
      When the rains come down and the floods rise up (3x’s)
      Trust in Him, He will love you right through

      {{BLUSH}} whatcha think?

  7. “..and the house on the rock stood firm.” Love that song, and grew up singing it. Awesome peek into parenting. May God continue to bless your purposeful discipleship or your son. 🙂

  8. I love that song! And I love this meditation on themes from psalm 1 – the nourishment that comes from the word. Lovely Nikki, your love for your son and for God’s word comes whooshing through here. Thank you.

  9. Thank you for this reminder of one of my cherished childhood songs, Nikki! I could just see you in the dark singing & “doing the motions!” Cherish each one of those requests because before you know it you will be giving him that Bible and he will be living life on his own. A life deeply rooted & blessed by that which you have taught him with patience and in love.

  10. Oh yes, I know that song. I’ve known it most of my life. I’m also realizing I need to teach it to someone little in my house. Thank you for reminding me.

  11. Such a beautiful example of how to have fun with your child and at the same time teach him about Jesus and His love. What a comfort to know that no matter what the circumstances of our lives we can stand firm on the rock of His word. Bless you, sweet Nikki.
    Joy

  12. oh, those last two lines say it all! beautifully said!!!

    and btw, LOVE your new verses!! maybe we can add those to our snuggle-time worship. 🙂 M has to hear “away in a manger” EVERY night. i’ve sung it every way i’ve ever heard just to keep it fresh for her…but its one she just has to hear before she drifts off to sleep. S, right now, really loves “God is so good”…mostly because she has figured it out enough to be able to sing it with me. 😀

    • Thank you, Ginger! Feel free to add those verses to your repertoire 😉

      I LOVE that M likes Away in a Manger. We went through a few weeks of that one and I kinda miss it. . . now that’s a perfect going to sleep song! 😉

      And that S….what a treasure she is!

  13. You rock… what a fun song to sing to your little guy. I made up little songs for each of my babies when they were little and one silly song they all shared (it was for after bath time when they were getting dried off… one version is “Nature Girl!” for my daughters and “Nature Boy” for my son. I can still sing it but I will spare you. I love reading your words… and am sorry I had to miss the party last night again – I had a poetry performance this time & I didn’t even wear a band aid over my healing melanoma scar. I felt blessed, so blessed, in being able to do it.

    My babies are bigger now. They don’t always appreciate my wackiness, but oh, how I treasure each day with them. Bedtimes, breakfast, playing, reading, creating, loving, listening to their unique ideas… and yesterday when my eleven-year-old slid his hand into mine and kept it there? Tears. Absolutely.

  14. So, I was just reading along minding my own business when suddenly I started picturing you doing this! It made me smile and thank God for sister’s like you. Mother’s, like you. Women, like you Nikki girl! Wonderful words of wisdom. ~ Love back at you from Maine, Amy 🙂

  15. My favorite line: “Roots don’t need a zip code. They need a Savior.”
    Wow… my 17yr old, on the rare occasions that she is in bed ‘on time’, still likes it when I sing the SAME song that I sang to her when she was 4!? Still… snuggle, sing, tickle the back… we joke that we will be like the parent/child in the book “I’ll love you forever” but in reality – well, I will gladly sing that song and tickle her back for as long as she’ll let me!

    Take the time, do the hand motions in the dark… sow seed deep into his sleepy heart! For you are watering the roots and letting him drink deep! Time passes quickly… do it as long as he’ll let you! ❤

  16. Jer. 17:7-8 “But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream.”

    Wonderful roots your planting with your son, Nikki! Founded in His word and quenched by His living waters. May He bless your faithfulness!

  17. Nikki – look at all the comments left here! How precious. I love the extra verses you’ve added and the way you are teaching your son and showing him where to places his roots. Super!

I can't wait to hear from you...

