Steady My Heart

I had another post lined up for today. By that I mean written out in my head waiting for me to sprawl on the keyboard…

It included a song that makes my soul sing. Every time I sing it, tears well.

Then “life” happened. And it never got out in time. I’m hoping it comes around again soon.

You see, I have this thing…an agreement with Him that I will share my heart in real-time here for His glory. This life I live? It’s His story in me. It’s not mine. And I’m learning that story doesn’t always entail an easy post laced with pearls. No.

Because Life as we know it is often messy. Painful. Scary. Dark.

I’m no exception. Why should I be.

Does it mean I don’t have enough faith? Does it mean He doesn’t love me like I think He does? Does it mean I’m failing at this thing we call life?

Nah.

It means just what He said it means:

  • This world is not my home. I’m on foreign land; it’s bound to be uncomfortable. Philippians 3:20
  • This world is filled with trials and sorrow. BUT TAKE HEART — He has overcome it. John 16:33

Friends, we live on a battle ground. And we’re at war with the worst kind of enemy.

One of his greatest defenses is trying to make us forget that. This enemy takes invisible to a whole new level.

So some days I don’t smell the roses. I sense fear and taste hurt instead which helps me see I’m back on the front lines. And that’s where I remind myself the promise He gave us long before I put on the armor:

Take heart…He’s overcome.

And this thing I’m going through that tries to steal every subconscious breath — it’s fleeting.

I’ve been on the front lines for more than a month now. And friends, can I be honest? I’m tired. I’m hoping I get the call to fall back soon.

But if I don’t, that’s okay. He’ll hold me up. I may get pressed but I won’t be crushed. I may get struck down, but I won’t be destroyed. He’s got me.

And I’ll believe that even when all hope feels lost. I’ll cling to that promise even if I feel alone.

He’s got me.

Father, I’m so honored to wear Your colors. I’m humbled You’ve allowed me to be on the front lines for Your glory and will do my best to keep my eyes on You. The One who’s already overcome. For I know You’ll show me the way Home. Lord, as I walk this battlefield now wounded and weary, may I ask for one thing? My Jehovah, please steady my heart…

This has become my battle cry as of late: Father, steady my heart. And I wanted to share a song that expresses it better than I ever could. You may have heard this on the radio, but have you ever stopped to read the lyrics?

May they provide you a bit of relief as they have me.

(Subscribers, CLICK HERE to press play and listen in to the song below.)

Steady My Heart ~ Kari Jobe

Wish it could be easy
Why is life so messy
Why is pain a part of us
There are days I feel like
Nothing ever goes right
Sometimes it just hurts so much

But You’re here
You’re real
I know I can trust You
Even when it hurts
Even when it’s hard
Even when it all just falls apart

I will run to You
Cause I know that You are
Lover of my soul
Healer of my scars
You steady my heart

I’m not gonna worry
I know that You got me
Right inside the palm of your hand
Each and every moment
What’s good and what gets broken
Happens just the way that You plan

And I will run to You
You’re my refuge in Your arms
And I will sing to You
Cause of everything You are

You steady my heart

How about you, friend? Has He steadied your heart lately? How has He healed your scars? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

32 thoughts on “Steady My Heart

  1. Nikki, can I just tell you how appreciative I am of your ministry here!? These words were so perfect for me right now. We are on a battle ground and life does get messy and sometimes our plans get thwarted. But God is always with us and He’s always faithful! And though the enemy comes against us, when we cling to Jesus, ultimately, we can’t be deterred from His will. So, maybe you shared something a little different than planned, but it was perfect…and I loved hearing your heart! Thanks so much, friend!

    • Jacqui, I’m guessing encouraging is one of your gifts — you’re so good at it! Thank you, friend. Your message here was what I needed to hear. Thank you. (Love and hugs to you — life has sucked so much time lately, but I will be by soon to catch up with you!)

  2. Not only are you in my heart, but you can count on prayer backup in your battle. May He provide you sweet rest and peace, abiding in His perfect love. Oh, and (((HUGS)))

  3. Oh Nikki, He does indeed have you and will carry you when the path is too difficult. His love never fails and He will lift you up and fill you with His peace and joy as he comforts you. Praying for you dear friend.
    Joy

  4. Oh precious girl. I’m praying for an extra measure of strength today. 🙂 holding you up in prayer from here.

  5. Praying for you that He would lift you up and be your strength. These battles are hard but we don’t go in them alone. May He reveal the army that is standing alongside you. Blessings to you, dear friend:)

  6. oh, Nikki, I was thinking yesterday that it has been at least a month…praying that God continues to uphold you with His strength, and that you feel the freedom to rest/ fall into His loving arms…He has you…sending you love, prayers and a big {{Hug}}

    • Such a good memory, friend. Yes, it has. And so much has happened since. Again..must get to my email! Thank you for holding me up in prayer, Dolly. It’s the best gift I could ever receive…

  7. It occurred to me as we traveled home yesterday that it had been almost a month. I’ve been so out-of-touch in so many places, and blog reading one of them. First, I ask your forgiveness if I haven’t been as supportive as I should, and secondly, even if I haven’t told you, I’ve been praying daily for your mama heart to heal. Not only your mama heart your body and your spirit. I still do. I love you and what you give of yourself to all of us who read your work. Hugs from OR, Sherrey

    • No forgiveness needed, Sherrey, but you may have it abundantly! Thank you for your prayers. They are getting me through I’m certain. It seems the enemy likes to stack on burdens in bundles. . .

      Love and hugs to you, friend! We’ll catch up soon!

  8. Thankyou. I have the same “thing” with Him…I want to share from the NOW of what God is doing even as it intertwines with my past and foreshadows the future. This blogging for me can NEVER be about “production” for the sake of production…it’s a covenant…it’s my stone altar on which I make my spiritual sacrifices before Him. It won’t be a daily “spit” but it must be a constant flow that bubbles to the surface from time to time. I’m glad to share this here with you….raising our “ebeneezer” together!

I can't wait to hear from you...

