Stop. Look. Listen. ~ Five Minute Friday

I say it every week, but it hasn’t changed yet.
It’s true.

Sometimes, I just want to write
Without worrying if it’s right or not.

Would you believe I’ve found a place that offers me that kind of grace?
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

So I will join others and write unabashedly
for five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

LOOK

It’s Parenting 101. At least it should be for any parent with a preschooler knows the importance of this one simple request. It’s a requirement here before instruction can carry on:

“Look at my eyes, please.”

I used to think I needed to say ‘Stop’ before the request, but now save myself the effort. Because I’ve come to realize, one needs to stop to look with focus. My boy will need to stop in order to see what I’m saying.

To think, I say this like it’s an easy task. And I’ve been frustrated before with him not stopping I’m certain. Oh that silly apple…it doesn’t fall far.

Father, I hear You. Inviting me to look at the Prize, not the spectators along the way. And I see it now…this request is really a gift, isn’t it. Because when we look, we need to stop to see You clearly. And when we do, we find it: REST. We find You and leave the drama of this world along the wayside.

Oh how You love me…

Friends, sometimes we look but we do not see. Sometimes we listen but we do not hear. Sometimes we stop and we do not rest.

Or is it just me…who loses sight of the prize through the flashing lights. Who can’t hear Him through the screaming spectators. Who grows so weary every part of my body and soul aches.

Am I the only one who forgets to stay childlike?

Today I’m going to stop. Look right in His eyes. And listen to the instruction He brings.

Will you join me? And more importantly, may I pray for you?

I think of you and give thanks. But I do more than thank.
I ask—ask the God of our Master, Jesus Christ, the God of glory—
to make you intelligent and discerning in knowing Him personally,
your eyes focused and clear, so that you can see exactly
what it is He is calling you to do,
grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life He has
for His followers, oh, the utter extravagance of
His work in us who trust Him—endless energy, boundless strength!
Ephesians 1:16-19 (The Message)

STOP.

Okay, it’s true. I copied in that Bible verse after my time was up. But I knew what I wanted to pray over you, so I’m hoping you will give me some grace?

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you, friend? How do you stop to look at the Prize? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Psst…Friends, you’ll never believe it. I’m guest posting over at Christian Mommy Blogger today! You see, when I heard about all the Facebook changes, I decided to get informed and see how we can use them to our advantage. I think I found a loop hole! Stop on by if you’re confused or frustrated about the News Feed changes. Click the button below!

Are we friends on Facebook? I’d love to be…

25 thoughts on “Stop. Look. Listen. ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Always appreciate how you point me back to Him, and invite me to Look, and see how worthy He is…what helps me is to stop, and ask Him to help me to truly see, and to truly hear because I am so easily distracted…A very blessed weekend to you, dear Nikki…love & hugs to you 🙂

  2. How giddy am I that I linked up right after you?! Giddy and tired. LOL. I constantly forget to enjoy the simple things the way children do. I very easily become overwhelmed with the grown-up responsibilities and forget to really look, and see! I’m thankful for this tender reminder, Nikki. May we live this out today!! XXOO

  3. What!!! You went over 5 minutes? Oh, fail!!! Just kidding. I totally went over today. The bell went off and I just wasn’t done so… I guess I’ll give you grace since it was for a very worthy cause, being a Bible verse and all.

    It is hard to stay childlike although I find it very easy to be childish sometimes, Totally not the same thing. LOL

    • You know I love you, Alia Joy, don’t you? You make me smile wide! ah yes…childlike vs. childish… that ‘ish’ gets me every time…

      Love and hugs to you! (and your write going over? worth it…)

  4. I loved this! My girlie used to say to me when she was little, “Listen with your eyes, Mommy!” (In fact, to this day – if I am multi-tasking, or just not giving her my undivided attention, she says, “LIsten to me”… we both know that means I look into her eyes and connect!) Such a great reminder that He wants us to do that very same thing with Him! This was fun again – although next week I am going to wait until it is actually Friday (my time) to try to find out the prompt and write… maybe that way I will be a bit more awake! 😉

  5. I loved this! When my girlie was little – she used to say to me, “Listen to me with your eyes, Momma!” So even to this day, if she is talking to me and I am multitasking or not giving her my full attention – she will say, “Listen to meeee!” and we both know that means for me to stop what I am doing and look into her eyes and connect. Your post was such a great reminder that our God is like this too! He just wants us to stop all the distractions and look into His eyes and connect! ❤

  6. I love your question and here’s my answer: No, you are not the only one who forgets to stay childlike. For some reason, I guess because we are parents, we assume that role in every relationship. So thankful I can be a child, HIS child. I can stop, look, snuggle and relax in His presence.
    Great post:)

    • Oh to snuggle up to Him! You bless me so, Stefanie. Always directing me to my Savior. Thank you for sharing with me here. I love your thought…we assume that parenting role in every relationship. guilty! and working on it….

  7. I forget to stop, look and listen…it seems like it is a continual learning process. I love the way you put these beautiful thoughts together and how deep they go..in all of 5 minutes.

    And yes, grace is extended for the scripture passage..which is perfect, by the way and just what I needed.

    Hugs~
    Mary

  8. I remember those days, when looking meant focusing. Now they look right at me and still don’t hear me. And yes, I do this with Christ too. At the end of the day when I am replaying it and realize oh, God did that. I am so slow to see his face sometimes. Not doing FMF this week, been doing a series on Eating Disorders all week. Oh my heart breaks.

  9. Love your heart Nikki girl! The similarities between me and my children are so eye-opening. We’re each human. Needing to stop and see. Thanks girl! Have a gorgeous weekend! 🙂 ~ Blessings, Amy

  10. I was surprised when I popped to over to find that we both used Stop. Look. Listen.! 🙂

    Your prayer was beautiful, Nikki! Thank you for the reminder to always keep my eyes on my Savior.

  11. Oh sweet friend I so needed to hear this. Truth is I am a bit weary today. Feel like I have poured it all out this week and am running close to empty. You’ve reminded me to stop and look to Him to be filled back up. To rest in Him today. Thank you. Love and hugs.

  12. praying for you aswell! 🙂 earlier this year, God planted a phrase in my heart. it’s become my mantra/challenge:
    “eyes to see and ears to hear”. not an easy task. this listening thing. 🙂

  13. It’s as hard for me to stop, look into His eyes and listen as it is for my little guy to do the same. The problem is, God’s instructions are so much more important and worth hearing.

  14. Yep! Waaaayyy too often we miss the small stuff that happens in life because we fail to stop, look and listen. Oh friend this post really hit home today. Thanks for writing!

  15. Oh Nikki, this post spoke to my heart today. I am so guilty of not directing my focus on Him. .Pleasing Him is what it is all about, not comments or numbers. If we can reach one person, just one, that is what blogging for Jesus is all about. May we glorify Him in all we do and write. Love and prayers to you friend.
    Joy,

  16. One of my sons was diagnosed with CAPD (Central Auditory Processing Disorder) – if he’s not looking at your mouth – he’s not hearing everything you’re saying. When he was little, if his eyes wandered away during a “discussion” – you knew he had turned you off!

    I so want to keep my eyes focused on Him – I want my sons eyes focused on Him, too – but they have to make that conscious decision!

    You turned 5 minutes into a blessing!

I can't wait to hear from you...

