Flowers in the Weeds

As of today, I’ve been sprawling my heart out in keystrokes and pressing publish for eleven months. I can’t believe I’ve had this much to say. And I’m still blown away by those I meet along this journey.

Friends, I’m excited to share this space today with one of those I’ve met along the way. Please give him a warm welcome as he shares his heart and a song God used to pursue Him.

Pastor Wick, take it away!

My life took a dramatic turn at age 10.

It threatened the very future of who I might become, and began rooted in who I thought I was worth becoming. With my birth father in prison, and having lost any extended family in the aftermath, we drifted for a while as my mom carried a family of 5 on what donations and other assistance she could find for us.

Needless to say, things were difficult during the years most young people figure out what they want to do with their lives, and what they have to uniquely offer the world.

Thankfully, it was those same years I discovered Ska music. The upbeat, reggae-influenced sounds of bands like the Insyderz, the Supertones, and Five Iron Frenzy gave me not only something great to nod my head to, but a positive perspective on the challenges of life as well. They pointed me to Jesus, and His perspective on everything I was going through.

This is one song that stayed with me, even as I eventually sang with a ska band in college – we covered this song everywhere we played.

“Dandelions” – Five Iron Frenzy

In a field of yellow flowers underneath the sun
Bluest eyes that spark with lightning, boy with shoes undone
He is young so full of hope, reveling in tiny dreams
Filling up his arms with flowers, bright for giving any queen

Running to her beaming bright while cradling his prize
A flickering of yellow light within his mothers eyes
She holds them to her heart, keeping them where they’ll be safe
Clasped within her very marrow, dandelions in a vase

She sees love where anyone else would see weeds
All hope is found, here is everything he needs

Fathomless your endless mercy, weight I could not lift
Where do I fit in this puzzle? What good are these gifts?
Not a martyr or a Saint, scarcely can I struggle through.
All that I have ever wanted was to give my best to you.

Lord search my heart, create in me something clean
Dandelions, you see flowers in these weeds

Gently lifting hands to heaven, softened by the sweetest hush
A Father sings over His children, loving them so very much
More than words could warrant, deeper than the darkest blue
More than sacrifice could merit, Lord I give my heart to you.

Lord search my heart, create in me something clean
Dandelions, you see flowers in these weeds…

So often I felt like, and continue to feel like the boy in this song, and it offered an aspect of God I sorely needed growing up. I knew about God being all-powerful, and I knew about God being mighty to save.

But what I needed to know was that God was proud of me.
God loved me as a parent. God wanted to nurture me toward great things He was certain I was gifted for.

This song comes as a reminder that it’s not about my being able to offer Him the most amazing gifts of worship, and the greatest achievements as a follower of Christ. It’s not about me becoming “Super Pastor”, or “Super Husband”, or “Super Dad”. It’s about HIS perspective and love for me as His child.

It’s about me delighting in the fields I find myself, and doing so for His sake. Running to Him with my arms full of whatever I was able to grab hold of that day, and say “Look God…this is for You!”.

Now I’m 31, and have children of my own. They are constantly running to me with eyes as bright as dandelions, proud of what they’ve done. Stacks of drawings they’ve made, flowers (and yes, dandelions) they’ve given, and a fridge full of their loving creativity.

God uses even them, to continue reminding me I’ve never ceased to be His child. Just last night my oldest daughter was telling me something children don’t know how to do, and she stopped.

“Dad, I can’t say all children can’t do that.”

“Why not?” I asked her. It was definitely something children should not know how to do.

“Because dad…YOU are a child…you know…of God.”

Thanks God…
I am so proud of what I’m gathering in life…
and I know You’re loving every bit of what I bring to You.

Wick Anderson is a husband/
father/pastor/writer/speaker from Central Illinois. He and his wife have 3 daughters.

He can roast a batch of green coffee in 30 minutes using a wok, and he’s won the bonus round of

“Wheel of Fortune!”
(CLICK HERE to see!)

He believes God can use parenting to mess up our lives in incredible ways, and enjoys writing/speaking about it. Learn more at: www.differentparent.com  and you may follow Wick on Twitter!

How about you, friend? What delights do you see in the field you’re in right now? We’d love to hear. 

~~~~~~~~~~

If you have extra time, I’m over at 5 Minutes for Faith today sharing what my Pre-K Sunday School class taught me about worship. Stop on by! You can visit by CLICKING HERE.

Thanks for sharing your time with me us.

Simply striving…

15 thoughts on “Flowers in the Weeds

  1. Dear Wick
    I think that the things that brings the most joy to our Father’s heart is those little dandelion bouquets, those we have picked amongst the weeds of our hearts. I don’t think He needs anything, but what He desires above all else, is His children’s love. Blessings

  2. Pingback: Flowers in the Weeds « different

  3. I love this perspective. Adding to it, that God is even so gracious to take our weeds and make them into the most exquisite bouquet. Thanks for sharing your story here Wick!

  4. Beautiful thought, “gently lifting hands to heaven, softened by the sweetest hush, a Father sings over His children loving them so much.” I love the words to this song and how sweet it is when a little child lovingly brings us a hand full of flower weeds. So thankful that God sees our weeds as something beautiful too. Enjoyed reading your post, pastor Wick. Thanks,
    Joy

  5. Thanks for sharing your story, Wick. I think it’s amazing how God keeps His hand on His children. ALWAYS. And He uses those experiences, good and bad, to prepare us for service.

    Blessings to you as you serve your family and your congregation 🙂
    Susan in VA

  6. How encouraging to see how God touched your heart at 10, in college, and now with an image of a dandelion and how God sees all the beautiful potential in you He created…blessings to you and your family 🙂

  7. My prompting today in all my blog reading is “different perspective” and here I find the most important perspective to have! Through His eyes I am a lovable mess with grace overflowing and unfathomably loved! 🙂

    • ..and with that understanding out very being breathes a giant sigh of relief. 🙂 Glad to hear I’m not the only one God is blessing with that message lately!! Thanks for reading, Mindy!

I can't wait to hear from you...

