Grasping His Goodness ~ Five Minute Friday

You all know this by now.
But I’ll say it anyway.
Sometimes, I just want to write
Without worrying if it’s right or not.
Can we call it practice?

Would you believe I’ve found a place that offers me that kind of grace?
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

So I will join others and write unabashedly
for five minutes time.
Without editing or backtracking
On one word alone:

GRASP

and ask for your grace as you
read what my heart managed to spill in the form of keystrokes…

~~~~~~~~~~

I didn’t see it coming. It knocked me so flat I had to remind myself to breathe.

And I was angry at first for letting myself be that naïve. For not preparing my heart for the possibility I could be where I now found myself. Friends, He let me have my moment…I spiraled and wailed and shook my fists and screamed with any whisps of breath I could muster: WHY?!?

It lasted maybe an hour. It was then I saw the truth and grabbed hold…

  • How we deal with pain is our choice. It can define us or refine us.
  • No matter how or why, God is good all the time. This is believe.
  • I didn’t see it then but I know it now, He had been preparing my heart for this moment….

I grabbed for my journal and there it was. Verses written that had jumped out at me during quiet times. Quotes from books I’m reading that wouldn’t leave me. There were lines of thanks…moments of joy I wanted to savor long. And I saw it. Friends, I saw HIM preparing my heart on every page.

He rushed in the room and pulled me close. His heart beating out of his chest as he tried to make the pain go away. With each brush of my hair and rub on my back I felt it, love pouring down on me. That’s my husband: A gift.

Our eyes met and I told him honestly: “I’m going to praise Him through this storm. I’ve already decided. Because God is good all the time and I can cling to that.

It’s been the best decision I’ve ever made.

We can’t be expected to grasp the knowledge that God is good all the time. We can’t limit it with trying to define it or put contingencies on it, either. There’s no ifs, ands, or buts about it. HE just IS.

I have all the proof I need.

On every turn, through the rain of pain He was there. Showing me rainbows. Pulling me in tighter. (I’ll share more about it soon)

Friends, this world is full of pain and trouble. He warned us of this. We’re not going to be strong enough to face most of it. That’s where His power in our weakness comes in. But we can choose joy as we journey through it. That’s His promise to us. And if we can only grasp one thing about our Redeemer, let it be this:

God is Good. All the Time. This I believe.

STOP.


Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

And I just have to tell you. Each week, a number of us from this Five Minute Friday community gather together Thursday evening on Twitter to lift each other up as we wait for the prompt. I’d love it if you’d stop by and say hello. Just follow #FMFParty sometime!

How about you? Are you able to see and proclaim His goodness through the hurt of life? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Are we friends on Facebook? I’d love to be…

64 thoughts on “Grasping His Goodness ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Hi Nikki. I’ve been thinking about you. Wondering if homeschooling is stretching you as it is me. Your husband is a gift and so is the reminder of your words. God is good. All the time. Hoping to join the Twitter party soon.

  2. Oh, Nikki, I am so proud of you, and humbled by your response…you point to Him so beautifully; you show the world you love Him for Him, and not for utility’s sake by your testimony…love, hugs and prayers, dear friend 🙂

  3. So amazed and encouraged by how you face the hard things–with your hands uplifted and outstreched, offering it all up to Him to turn ashes into beautiful blessings. You inspire me, Nikki. Your grace, by His strength, is such a beautiful sight to behold. and this:

    God is Good. All the Time. This I believe.

    I believe it too. Standing with you, my friend, thanking God for His goodness in the storms as well as in the shining light of more restful seasons. He is with you, holding you, treasuring you, blessing you through your obedience to give thanks in all things.

    Love you. So much.

  4. Hmmmm…if I could see through the tears I would tell you how you inspire me. The hard road is just that -HARD. Yet, you reach out with open hands and grasp the truth. I love girl…and my heart rejoices in your grasping and hurts in your pain.

  5. Beautiful, true words, Nikki. God is good. Period. Your are so very dear–one of the rare people I’ve met in the blogging world that I consider a friend. Much love, Peg

  6. Oh, your heart is so precious. Your love and your faith is so inspiring and it is as strong as it is beautiful. You have such a gift you share with us. You are such a gift. I love this…”‘I’m going to praise Him through this storm. I’ve already decided. Because God is good all the time and I can cling to that.’

    It’s been the best decision I’ve ever made.”

    I pray that I could do the same… Love you, Nikki.

  7. God is good, all the time, He puts a song of praise in this heart of mine…In the darkest hours His light will shine… God is good, God is good, All the time… Bless you mightily girl! You are so precious to Him, the apple of His eye.

  8. Love love love you always!! So real, so honest — and feel it’s so me, my heart. I was reminded this morning in my quiet that to know Jesus really means we have to suffer as Him. My soul wanted to scream NOOOOOO!!! I don’t want to suffer – I want that happy never-ending smile kind of life. But hurt and suffering come and Halllelujah you’ve found that God is there and He’s good. And you remind me to hang on and grasp His goodness despite the pain. Love you sweet friend!

  9. “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him”

    And you love Him so well, Nikki! He not only comforts you now but will fill you with His steadfast love. Thank you for your well spoken words and for allowing me to cry with you as we praise our Savior in the all things! He is certainly good ALL THE TIME!

    • Thrilled you stopped by, Jennifer! thanks for reading my 5 minute rambling… 🙂 (and let me take this time to let you know I tried to make that centerpiece, but all I have are rectangle trays and it didn’t look as fabulous with just one candle that way…I’m going to come up with something and send you a pic, though, to let you know I’m trying! 🙂

  10. This is beautiful Nikki! “How we deal with pain is our choice.” So true. In times of pain and setback, storms and trials, we can turn toward God and allow Him to walk us through it. Sadly, many choose to turn away in anger and frustration instead.

    Blessings to you,
    Laura

  11. Oh, Nikki, your honesty and clinging to Him, your choice to SEE — in the midst of the storm — is just glorious. And I love the encouragement here in how you remind me that sometimes, even though all this pain can seem to not make any sense, He is present, and He catches each tear that falls. You remind me that in Him, this not knowing can be a place of peace, too. Thank you for your open heart and how you share Him and show us all what is most true. Love you.

  12. I’m so glad that He allows us to have our moments. He knows we need that time to get the pain out so we can see the truth of the matter. Thank you for being such a wonderful example of how we all struggle but can still overcome with His help…messy, human beings that we are! Hugs to you sweet sister!

  13. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Grasp | Even A Girl Like Me

  14. Oh this hard thing, of hoping for the redemption and believing the Redeemer in the face of pain. It has changed me. And I think you are bold and beautiful in your holding tightly to truth. I have walked this road in the death of a sister, and many other smaller struggles, and He is, always, redeeming. Thank you for this, Nikki.

    • He is always redeeming….love that truth, Annie. I’m so sorry you have lived the proof to back it up, but joy there is to be found on the other side! I’m clinging to that. Thank you, Annie!

  15. “I’m going to praise Him in the storm. I’ve already decided.” Bless you Nikki for showing us that even when the storms of life come, we can cling to God’s goodness. It is the only thing we know for sure in this uncertain world. Praising Him with you!!
    Joy

  16. Girl, the fact that it was ONLY an hour amazes me….God and I had months and months of wrestling about a year and a half into my infertility journey. Peace was hard-won, difficult to grasp and yet He is patient.

    You are brave.
    You are chosen.
    You are His.
    You are loved.
    {{{{HUGS}}}}

    • I must confess my time of arguing was so much longer a couple years ago…so yay for making progress! ; ) Still He’s patient with me. Always reminding me to come in close…
      And you, girl, are the gift He’s given to me as of late. So blessed by you!

  17. Oh Nikki, you are such a gift. Your words are like soothing balm to my weary soul. Your heart, always open, always ready to give out of the overflow of what He’s given to you. Yes, the pain hurts, it’s hard and we do not understand it most often. But, He is with us there in that place. He holds us, never loosening His grip. Yes, I too will praise Him in the storm. Bless you my dear sister!

    • Barbie, I’ve seen you praise Him in storms that have come your way. What an encouraging example you have been to me that it is possible to praise through it all. Love and hugs to you, friend!

  18. “Friends, this world is full of pain and trouble. He warned us of this. We’re not going to be strong enough to face most of it. That’s where His power in our weakness comes in. But we can choose joy as we journey through it. That’s His promise to us. And if we can only grasp one thing about our Redeemer, let it be this:

    God is Good. All the Time. This I believe.”

    amen! 🙂 praying for you darlin!

I can't wait to hear from you...

