The Ingredients of Patience {A Guest Post}

I met her in March when she commented on this post. When I visited her blog, I discovered a post on Amazing Grace that resonated with me deeply.

Our relationship blossomed from there.

And now I get to share her words of wisdom here. I trust they will bless you as much as they did me. Take it away, Joy!

~~~~~~~~~~

“I waited patiently for the LORD;
He turned to me and heard my cry.”
Psalm 40:1  

Photo by: Joy @ Illumylife

I often see a fisherman standing at the edge of the surf when I go for a morning walk along the beach. Not long ago, I witnessed a great blue heron watching patiently, hopeful he would toss him a fish.

Perhaps you have seen two fishermen sitting in a tiny rowboat not saying anything, just fishing for hours. Waiting and watching and some days not catching anything. But they come back again before dawn.

It is hard to imagine having that much patience. I wonder if fishermen fish just for the silence and peace of a quiet lake early in the morning. Perhaps they fish because it is a time they can be alone with God.

Are they really fishing for fish or peace of mind and soul?

There’s an old saying:
“Patience is a virtue, acquire it if you can.
It’s seldom found in women and never found in men.”
But I don’t think there is much truth in this saying….

I’ve seen my husband show infinite patience with our 3-year-old grandson.  He answers endless questions with complete explanations as to how and why things work. He allows him to play at his desk making copies of his hands and stapling paper to form “his work.” He never tires of taking him places and showing him things. Of course the rewards are worth more than gold when he is told “You’re my best buddy” followed by hugs and kisses from a little fella that means the world to him.

What are the ingredients of patience?

I would like to buy a case of it but it’s not for sale. In this hurry and do it, get it, find it world of ours there seems to be very little patience. I don’t like to drive during rush hour because of drivers that ride my bumper. I wonder why they honk when it’s quite obvious with a car right in front of me and one to the side, I have no place to go.

When I watch a fisherman, I realize hope must be one of the main ingredients. When I am hopeful I am willing to wait. But that doesn’t mean waiting is easy. The more we want something and the longer we want it, the more impatient we become.

Sometimes we are only able to wait patiently when the LORD gives us the strength.

“Wait for the LORD;
be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.”
Psalm 27:14

Another ingredient must be peace. Jesus knew we would need peace and set the best example for finding it. He often found it necessary to get away so He could be alone with His Heavenly Father and pray. Our souls yearn for this peace and we will never find it unless we take time each day to pray and talk with God.

We need a constant refilling.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. 
I do not give to you as the world gives. 
Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”
John 14:27

The last ingredient and probably the most important is love. Love enables a mother to be patient with her child no matter how many times he disobeys. Love enables grandparents to appreciate every accomplishment of their grandchildren. Love enables Jesus to be patient with me no matter how many times I mess up.

Jesus is love and love never fails.

“Love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy,
it does not boast, it is not proud.”
I Corinthians 13:4

In Galatians 5:22, patience is listed as the fourth fruit of the Spirit. Love, joy and peace are the first three, followed by kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. These fruits are not something we can develop on our own. They only come when we have a close and intimate relationship with Jesus.

Knowing God is all important. Spending time with Him in prayer and reading our bible enables us to draw ever closer to Him. It is that closeness and trust that enables us to wait on His timing.

He always wants the very best for us.

“I wait for the LORD, my soul waits,
and in his word I put my hope.”
Psalm 130: 5

What about you, dear friend?  Are you waiting for something? Do you feel you need more patience?

Thinking about waiting on His timing brought this song to my mind. I hope it will bless your heart as it has mine. (Subscribers, CLICK HERE to press play on the song below.)

“In His Time”  by Diane Ball

“In His time, in His time;
He makes all things beautiful in His time.
Lord, please show me every day As you’re teaching me Your way,
That You do just what You say in Your time.
In Your time, In Your time;
You make all things beautiful in Your time.
Lord my life to You I bring; May each song I have to sing
Be to You a lovely thing in your time.”

~~~~~~~~~~

Joy writes on a blog titled Illumylife where her constant prayer is:

Illumylife Lord with the light of Your Presence and fill me with Your peace and joy.  Let me be a reflection of Your grace and let Your Spirit flow through me to bless others.

To visit Joy, CLICK HERE.

13 thoughts on “The Ingredients of Patience {A Guest Post}

  1. Oh, what joy to discover Joy writing on patience here…Thank you, Nikki, for introducing me to Joy a few months ago…Thank you, Joy, for reminding us that it is our love relationship with Jesus that allows us to have hope and peace as we wait for His timing in our lives… Sending you and Nikki, hugs 🙂

    • Thank you Dolly. You and Nikki have been such a blessing to me. I praise the Lord that He allows us such peace and joy knowing that He is in control of our lives and always wants the best for us. Sending love and hugs to both of you as we wait “on His timing.”
      Joy

  2. Pingback: Ingredients of Patience « illumylife

  3. Knowing we are loved by Him…allows us to have hope and a peace that surpasses all understanding…Love is what anchors me in Hope…nice treat to meet another “older woman” in this very young blog world:) blessings to you~

  4. Always behind and catching up on my reading . . . some of that hurry up and get it now world. What a joy to meet Joy at my favorite blog, Nikki’s simplystriving. After reading the post on patience, I can see why the two of you clicked when you found each other.

    Joy, your words are just what I needed tonight as we prepare to leave for a trip to help with caregiving for my husband’s older brother. It’s a long and sad story, but the short version is that suffering from a rare, mostly unknown dementia, he doesn’t know us, he isn’t able to move much, he can’t feed himself. I often find myself impatient with the monthly travel, or I find myself feeling sorry for me. The verses you offered have blessed my heart tonight and placed me in a different from of mind. I’m convinced God held me back from reading this until right now! Thanks be to God for you and your gift of writing.

    Nikki, what can I say? By hosting Joy, you have blessed me multiple times over this this night. I think I can sleep more easily and face tomorrow with a much improved attitude. Thanks, dear sister! And blessings to you and peace.

    • Dear Sherrey,
      I am always amazed by God’s perfect timing. I will be praying that you will be filled with His unfailing love as you care for your husband’s brother. Only God can give us the kind of peace that passes understanding when we are faced with difficult situations beyond our strength. Thank you for your sweet comment and may God bless you richly as you follow and serve Him.

  5. Good reminder on God’s timing. Just this afternoon, I had hurried over to a insurance office to pick up a form before a certain time. It was very important I get there before the office closed. I hurried over just to hear that the form could not be found. I said, that’s okay, I’ll wait til some phone calls are made and the form was found. I sat and looked at a magazine… within minutes I was on my way. I didn’t get worked up, I just sat and rested. Who knows why I had to wait—maybe I missed having a car accident on the way back home? I just know that getting upset with situations and not having patience does not do anyone any good. In this hurried world, we need to reclaim some calmness and accept a few road blocks here and there–perhaps God has placed them there for a reason we don’t yet understand.

I can't wait to hear from you...

