The Art of Discipline

The lower, even tone of my voice makes him aware. His bottom lip quivers as he blinks the hurt of regret away. And it takes all I have to persist through the pain my own heart feels. This tough love stuff is hard.

The questions start pouring in now as I have learned to expect. His 4 year-old curiosity astounds me as he nearly manages to leave me without words. Every. Single. Time. The striking blow this day:

“So, Mom, are you disciplining me or teaching me discipline?”

I look deep into those bright blues, trying to see where these questions come from.

“I’m not sure there’s a difference, bud.” I reply softly.

“Sure there is, mom. One of them makes me cry.”

~~~~~~~~~~

Friends, my dear friend Christina at To Show Them Jesus is allowing me to share the rest of this post for her “Teach Me Jesus Thursday” post this week. I would say I can’t believe it, but I do because she is just that selfless.

I met Christina through a blog link up…has it been 6 months now or more? We started visiting each other every Wednesday and I remember thinking every time I stopped by her placed I left refreshed. Inspired. Pointed directly towards Him. I soon started looking forward to it so much I started following her blog more formally. Reading every post in my email.

Now, we’re kindred friends. She holds my hand when I worry about homeschooling. Even checks in on me to offer encouragement.

Friends, won’t you stop by Christina’s place today? I’ll share with you the one thing I want my boy to learn from me. Along with a few other disciplines I intend to use along the way.

Simply click on the button below!

How about you, friend? How do you show your children the art of spiritual discipline? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

3 thoughts on “The Art of Discipline

  1. Nikki,

    We both have little four year olds with pressing eyes, it sounds like. 🙂 They are precious and life-changing aren’t they?

    Thanks for stopping by my post “Of Fires and Friendships…” . It’s always fun to meet new people.

    I’ll have to click over to your link up here. Nice to meet you. Have a lovely Thursday.

    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

  2. This is a wonderful post, Nikki. I think your son is going to called you blessed all the days of his life for what you’re teaching him. (((Hugs)))

I can't wait to hear from you...

