Forget Less…I Want More.

I was knee-deep. Treading through piles of what to keep, donate, sell. Never have I been more determined to lighten our storage closet, our lives, my mind.

It’s been a theme of mine this year it seems. Striving to simplify. Re-organize. De-clutter. Streamline the stuff on this earth that has our name carved into it. Most would think we don’t have a lot, but I know better. We have more than we need.

My husband has always been able to see right through me and this night was no exception. He saw the look of exasperation I was trying to pass off as motivation and jumped in head first to help.

And just when I was about to joke that all this feels like a boa constrictor, I get that tingle on the nape of my neck. The one I’ve learned means a lesson is fast approaching. Then, this verse comes to mind:

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy.
I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.
John 10:10

What was He trying to say? That I didn’t need to get rid of these clothes? That I shouldn’t sell this typewriter I’ve never once used but only enjoy looking at?

It was as if I was trying to throw in a rebuttal when I recalled these verses:

Then Jesus said to his disciples,
“I tell you the truth, it is very hard
for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of Heaven.
I’ll say it again—it is easier for a camel
to go through the eye of a needle
than for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of God!”
Matthew 19:23-24

And I tell Him right then and there I don’t ever want to seem rich. I want to be more like the birds, not needing a barn to store things in **. I don’t want the riches of this world to distract me from making my way Home. I’d rather sell it all and live in a van down by the river…

I must admit to you, this is a common thing between Him and I. So much so I should have expected what was to come: that sick feeling I get in my chest when I’ve got things all wrong. Yet no matter how many times I miss the mark, He always offers grace. He gently reminds. Always pointing me back to the road leading me Home.

With one cleansing breath, I was ready for it. I closed my eyes and let His voice wash over me.

Child, you’re so focused on less when I want you to focus on more.
You want to be empty when I want you to be full.
For I came to give you life to the full.
Set your heart on wanting more, child. More of Me.
Want Me and less will want you.
Make more room for Me and all the clutter in your life will be revealed.
Forget about needing to be less. I want you to be so much more…

No sooner had the moment started than it was already gone, leaving me breathless in the wake. When I opened my eyes, a new passion washed over me. A deep yearning sparked within leaving me anxious to live out this new calling.

Friends, forget less. I want more. More of Him. It will naturally make less of me. I want to make more room for Him and watch Him reveal what needs to be removed because of it. Will you join me?

I look back at the antique typewriter and say in a way even my husband is convinced: “Let’s sell it. I don’t need it anymore. No, I’m not going to miss it.”

How about you, friend? Do you want more? How do you make more room for Him? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

** For reference check out Matthew 6:25-34

Linking up with:

49 thoughts on “Forget Less…I Want More.

  1. this post is very appropriate for my thinking these last few months. I might have mentioned before that I’m a slow learner…could it be that it’s finally starting to sink in?!! Love how you’ve shared!

    • You make me smile, Donna. I’ve often thought I learn fast, but forget even faster! This writing it down, sharing it with you helps me remember where my priorities should be. What a blessing! So grateful to be learning these things together. Even if they aren’t new… ; )

  2. thanks Nikki, I for sure need to hear this now. This sale started out as fun, and enjoyable, Now I’m trying to involve my husband with pay back plowing of someones drive way cause I need a favor from this lady (helping me fix my mistakes on projects I don’t have time to complete! I’m stressing, and I’m sure I’ll be super cranky these next couple days. Oh MY!!!!! this sale will happen and I certainly don’t have to out do last years total! what am I thinking!!! your writing today has helped me refocus and take time for the important things in life! Now I need to stop and pray that I can follow thru with this! thanks

  3. So much stuff that I thought I wanted or needed or should save to give away and now I’m lost in a sea of clutter. Wanting more of God and not wanting to spend time getting rid of the clutter How do we get ourselves into such a mess? The only solution is just to give away more. To God be the glory!
    Joy

    • You’re right, Joy. The solution is to give ourselves away more I’m certain. Make more room for Him and the less we’ll want room for anything else. Striving with you, friend. Thanks for sharing with me!

    • It’s what gets me up in the morning, Jennifer- – grace. What a blessing indeed! Thanks for sharing with me today, friend. (and I’m drooling over your sale right now wishing I could get something! Love your handiwork!)

  4. What a great reminder that our thoughts tend to start from the wrong place: your wanting more, when He wants you to have less. We come about things from the wrong direction.

  5. Beautiful post, Nikki! Last summer I read a couple of books – Radical (David Platt) and 100 Thing Challenge (Dave Bruno) – and they did a number on me!

    As I read your post, the Prayer of Agur immediately popped into my head:
    Give me neither poverty nor riches!
    Give me just enough to satisfy my needs.
    For if I grow rich I may deny you and say,
    “Who is the Lord?”
    (Proverbs 30:8–9).

    AMEN! Thanks, Nikki! You’ve helped shaped my prayers for the night 🙂
    Hugs to you!!

    • I’ve read Radical, but not 100 Thing Challenge — thank you! I’m going to see if my library has it.

      Oh, I had forgotten that prayer. Thank YOU for sharing it with me and helping to shape my prayers tonight! Hugs right back to you!

  6. What a wonderful perspective. I so often want to focus on the less, but that is just me trying to manipulate the situation instead of being led by wisdom – which will naturally lead me to less of me. I’m waiting for my copy of 7 to arrive, and I have a feeling lots will come of that.. Thanks for these inspiring words.

    • Do you have issues with controlling like I do, Amy? Your comment hits so close to home… I have requested my library get a copy of 7 and am still waiting! I so want to read it…I have lots to learn.

      thanks for sharing with me today!

  7. Nice flip of perspective! God indeed wants us to be full–of Him and the blessings He gives us. I have to admit though, I totally expected you to say you were gonna keep the type writer–even if just to look at. 🙂

  8. Nikki, this reminds me of a quote by a man I greatly admire: “When we put God first, all other things fall into their proper place or drop out of our lives.” Ezra Taft Benson

  9. Nikki, this was perfect timing. I have been trying to get rid of stuff and pulling it all of closets and rooms and at first I was doing fine, but then I became so absorbed in the process, my focus left the One who really matters. So of course I became so distracted and over-whelmed… Great reminder. Thank you! 🙂 Back on track.

  10. I’m doing that too. De-cluttering and re-organizing and it feels good. Sometimes what we do in the natural is a sign of what is happening in the spiritual. And I think you and I, were getting ready for more of Him. I want to be alert to his voice, recognize it when it comes.

    • Are we gonna see before and afters, Shelly? I wanna see your walls and your sofa! 🙂
      So very true. the natural reflects the spiritual…amazing how that works. And oh what a number He’s doing on me lately. Someday soon I’ll find the words to express it.
      Striving with you to stay in tune to His whisper.

  11. “Want Me and less will want you.” What a great line to remember! Yes, the right way ’round to the intended destination!
    And now to go bundle up all those clothes I pulled out of the closet but that still lurk in the guest room, cluttering up, and drop them off at the clothes bin today!

  12. Love this, Nikki. Love your openness, the reminder to seek Him first and He will prompt my actions. I need to let my heart, with Him, lead, not the other way around. Yes, I want to be full! Thank you.

    • It’s harder than it sounds, isn’t it! or maybe it’s just me… What grace that He takes the time to show me a better way, though. One that brings more peace…stillness…joy. How could I not want more of that?!?

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing with me today, friend. Love seeing your smiling avatar here 🙂

  13. I’m letting out a large sigh…

    Your space is such a transparent blessing. The Spirit has been speaking to me regarding several things. Letting go of “stuff” and refocusing back on what matters, what’s lasting, what’s eternal. I’m grateful your experience and words spoke directly into my heart.

    Leaving renewed…

    • You’ve got stuff too, huh…It’s funny. I share about typewriters, but He’s been showing me so much more since. Striving with you, friend, to give Him control of all the crevasses I’d rather forget. To God be the glory.

  14. “Set your heart on wanting more, child. More of Me.
    Want Me and less will want you.” Such true heart words, here…Thank you, Nikki…wanting more of Him…because when our hearts are full with Him, there isn’t room to want the other stuff…this is funny but my husband cleaned out our garage this past weekend, and I gave away a bag of clothes I no longer wear/fit etc….Hugs to you 🙂

    • I’m wondering if some of this is coming from that prayer you shared earlier, Dolly? He didn’t share these words with me while I was reading them or I would have shared it that way, but when I read that now, especially this part: “the power of your presence
      enriches my every moment.”
      I hear it all over again…

      anyway. Thank you for that prayer!
      (For those who want to know what I’m talking about, visit Dolly’s post: http://soulstops.com/post/2012/08/21/Gifting-God-Prayer.aspx )

      It is such a relief to get rid of “stuff” isn’t it, friend… Hugs to you!

  15. Oh, I recognize that feeling! I’m wanting to de-clutter – and my husband wants me to, too – there’s a symbolic post in it – how do you get rid of things family “passed” to you with instructions to “NEVER give it away.”

    But I so want more of Him, in every corner of every minute – moments with Him in it are the best moments!

    Wishing you best, blessing, God-filled moments this week!

    • Oh, MaryLeigh. Those family politics are something I’m not good at! there is a symbolic post in it, I’m sure!
      Thanks for sharing with me. and blessing me. and I’ve showed up this week so guess what — He did, too! So faithful…
      Hugs to you!

  16. More of Him, less of me? Oh, yes, Nikki, I do want that for my life. And it is such a struggle, isn’t it? Girlfriend, your words have blessed me this day and every day for I hold them in heart. Blessings to you there from me here.
    (ps – thanks for “introducing” me to Duane’s blog — wonderful place to visit!)

  17. Pingback: My Homeschooling Journey {Another Let Go and Let God Post} « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

