Striving to Remember ~ {Love Came Down}

When life’s whirlwind consumes. When I feel pulled, stretched, frayed by the undercurrents of it all. When distractions blind, realities collide, hearts pulse pain, I strive to remember:

I have a choice.

For nothing can reverse what’s already happened.
Nothing I do will change His mind. He has promised.
Friends, it seems He’s completely captivated by me.

And even if I don’t understand that, I can choose to believe.
I can raise my hands in praise for the freedom bought by His own flesh and blood…and humbly accept His love pouring down. I can let Him shower me with soothing grace.

When my path feels smooth. When joy comes easy. When I look around and realize I wouldn’t change a thing, I strive to remember.

Tomorrow holds no guarantees. But if it comes, He’ll still be completely captivated by me. And this life of freedom I’m experiencing came from His pain.

The choice is mine.

And I can choose to believe and praise the love higher than my circumstances as I give myself to Him all over again.

When I’m struggling to see. When this world depletes my every thought. When memories fade, darkness permeates, hope seems lost, I strive to remember:

I have a choice.

A choice to humbly accept His love. Every day. The very love that came down to save you and me. I can praise Him. For this moment right here right now, I can thank Him. And I can lift my palms and desperately receive the love He faithfully pours down on me as I whisper proudly proclaim — I’m forever His.

~~~~~~~~~~

Love Came Down ~ Brian Johnson

(Subscribers, click HERE To listen to this worship song that will not leave my heart.)

“If my heart is overwhelmed and I cannot hear Your voice
I’ll hold on to what is true though I cannot see
If the storms of life they come and the road ahead gets steep
I will lift these hands in faith
I will believe

I remind myself of all that You’ve done
And the life I have because Your Son

Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free

I am Yours I am forever Yours
Mountain high or valley low
I sing out remind my soul
That I am Yours I am forever Yours

When my heart is filled with hope
and every promise comes my way
When I feel Your hands of grace rest upon me

Staying desperate for You God
Staying humbled at Your feet
I will lift these hands and praise
I will believe

I am Yours
I am Yours
All my days
I am Yours

I am Yours, I’m Yours forever
I am Yours, I’m Yours forever Lord”

How about you, friend? How do you keep His love in focus? How do you choose to remain His every day? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking up with:

28 thoughts on “Striving to Remember ~ {Love Came Down}

    • Oh, me too, Michele-Lyn. I can’t think of one song I don’t like from them…but this one will not leave me lately no matter how I try. And it’s not even new to me. Clearly there is more for me to learn through it. Thanks for stopping by and sharing with me, friend!

  1. “Showered by His Grace and Forever His” Oh I love these thoughts. Thank you for introducing me to another beautiful song Nikki and I just wanted to let you know I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award because I love reading your posts! You can find out about it at illumylife.wordpress.com on my post “Unexpected Blessings.”

    • So glad you enjoyed the song, Joy. I can’t seem to shake it…so much so that my 4 year old now sings it around the house, too! So humbled and honored by your award, friend. Thank you so much! Enjoyed learning more about you today, too!

  2. When you really stop and ponder how amazing it is that He chose us, you just can’t help but choose Him in return! Beautiful words here…and lovely formating. 🙂

    • You’re so sweet. I still have some more playing around to do in my formating, but I am seeing it take shape–thank you! 🙂
      And yes…oh how He loves us…so much so it’s contagious!
      Your post today is so brave. so very brave.

    • So grateful that it blessed you, Susan. I absolutely adore how you start every week on your blog. So much so I’ve been considering and praying about how I do my Music Mondays…because I really want to add prayer in there, too! So blessed by you…

  3. Love this Nikki. I’m so thankful for your encouraging words landing in my email inbox each day. You especially struck a chord with me in the fact that there is no guarantee in tomorrow. We simply don’t know God’s plan for us, but I’m so grateful to know He loves me unconditionally and in ways I’ll never fully grasp. What a blessing to be His child.

    • What a blessing indeed, Rosann! I’ve been thinking a lot lately about He calls Himself the light of the world. and how we cannot store up light…it’s meant to be used in the present. illuminate today. it doesn’t worry about tomorrow but knows it’s capable of doing it again if tomorrow comes…and I’m starting to see.

      So grateful you’re on this journey with me, friend!

  4. I’ve known about being captivated by God, the Trinity is fascinating to me. However, I never considered Him being captivated by “me”…this opens a new train of thought, as…I knew about his concern, his love and care, but not the idea of being captivated. This thought makes the other aspects of Him make so much more sense. Thanks for this gift, Nikki.

    • Donna, I read Captivating last year by Eldredge and the Bible verses/stories He used opened my eyes to a whole new realm…He truly does find me captivating. And I can’t get over it. I may never understand it fully, but I’m striving to believe it. It is a love affair He is after for me after all… So glad it has given you something to ponder this week, too! May you see how He lavishes you this week, friend!

    • It is a good reminder, isn’t it, Sarah Ann… And it seems to be a reminder I’m needing every day lately as I can’t seem to get this beautiful song out of my head! Thank you for stopping by and sharing with me, new friend! What a blessing.

  5. I love this…this is just beautiful…I was just talking to my daughter this morning…we can change the past…but we have a choice if we allow the past to rob us from now…we have choose without even thinking throughout the day…I am waking up to the power of choice…choose to believe…choose to trust in His love..blessings to you as we open our eyes and heart to all His love~

    • what a wonderful mom you are. The past can become a thief if we let it, can’t it. And I’m striving to learn to say yes without even thinking. To humbly accept His love pouring down without so much as a second thought. Oh the joy found in the outstretched palm! So blessed to have you visit with me, wise friend. Thank you so much.

  6. I’m going to sound like an echo — I love this! Your words “captivated by me” and “I choose to believe” will resonate in my heart and mind for days to come. Nikki, you have such a precious gift with His story and your ability to share it. Girl, you are chosen and yes, He is capitivated by you! Blessings to you as you continue to teach and lead us in His ways.

  7. Hi Nikki,
    Thank you for introducing me to this song. We have not only been listening to the worship music coming from Bethel but also the sermons. Wonderful!!

  8. Thank you for introducing this song to me…whenever I spend time thinking about what He did,and being in His presence, I am humbled, and grateful…praying for you on your journey…hugs to you, Nikki 🙂

  9. Beautiful song! I’ve never heard it, and now I feel like I’m missing out on all of Bethel’s worship! I need to go check them out! Thanks for sharing this, Nikki!

  10. The wonder of it all is too amazing to comprehend. It is amazing that He would love me, not only that, but die for me. Father, I believe, help me in my unbelief! Beautiful post, my friend!

I can't wait to hear from you...

