The Stretch of Surrender ~ Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Fridays, I’ve missed you. And it’s only been two weeks.
I’ve missed writing without worrying if it’s right or not.
I’ve missed the community that does the same
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

So today, amongst thermometers and crumpled tissues,
I’ll write what comes my way
in five minutes time.
On one word alone:

STRETCH

Bright rays peek through the canvas curtain and I roll away in denial, always asking for more. More rest. More quiet. More mercy. The robin outside continues her serenade and it doesn’t take long for me to remember: I signed up to receive new mercies every day.  What grace.

My toes find the frieze beneath and nestle in as I stretch my hands heavenward. I find glimpses of what I’m looking for as my muscles find their strength. My head tilts back to follow the path of my palms and I breathe in deep, inhaling the new day.

Remaining limbs follow suit as I continue to reach and finally rise upright in pure surrender. I smile within as I contemplate how each morning instinctively finds me in the posture of worship.

The stretch of surrender.

Father, thank You for letting me face the dawn again. This day’s for You. Have Your way with me.

I grab hold and peel back the curtain of darkness. And feel His response right then and there as the warmth dries my sleep and sends color to my cheekbones.

I’m with you, child. Every step of the way. We’ll do this day together.

Friends, each new dawn I get to begin anew. And I pray every morning I continue to reach high and grab hold of my lifeline while submitting my day in the sacred stretch of surrender.

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you? How do you begin your day? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Say, are we friends on Facebook? I’d love to be…

55 thoughts on “The Stretch of Surrender ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. With tea. Green tea. And my Bible and my list of thankfulness. Never thought before about stretching and worship. Encouraging connection.

  2. Oh, I so needed this post this morning! I want to live surrendered every day. Meeting Him first thing, stretching toward him first thing, empowers me to do so.
    Beautifully real post, my friend! Thank you…

    • It really is the perfect posture to begin everyday, don’t you think? So thrilled you stopped by today, Stefanie. Your post is still resonating within me. So blessed by you! (updated your URL so others will stop by — hint, hint friends!)

  3. Good Morning to you Nikki! Praying for swift healing from your ills. Your morning stretching helped me with mine today, allowing me to see how this simple exercise praises our Lord…thanks!

    • Donna! I’ve missed you. Thank you for your prayers. My little boy has been sick, but his fever broke last night, Praise the Lord! So grateful we can do this journey together. Happy Friday to you!

  4. This is wonderful, Nikki–and only five, uncrafted minutes? You have a beautiful voice. This reminds me of an experience I had once, praying while exercising. In every movement, I was aware of the Lord. Such a joyful way to start the day!

    • It’s quite the exercise, writing raw for 5 minutes! I of course need time to think before I start typing ; )
      And yes–I can’t think of a better way to start the day! What joy indeed!

  5. Stretching toward him under the first light of day . . . that’s where I want to live. Lovely write Nikki and I hope you are feeling okay. I saw you say somewhere that your family is sick. Saying a prayer for you this morning.

    • Yes–my boy has been sick and my hubby seems to be getting it. Thankfully, his fever broke in the night! PTL!
      I want to live there, too, stretching in the sacred surrender…

      Thanks for reading my late night ramblings, Shelly!

  6. oh i love…sacred stretch of surrender…I am taking this with me…and as I yield..I will remember it is sacred…holy ground. blessings to you and may we have a wonderfully stretching weekend in Christ~

  7. Hi there, lovely Nikki!
    The sacred stretch of surrender – loved this! And so helpful to use yoga-style stretches and use them as meditation for our life with God. This will stay with me for a while – thank you. 🙂

    • Do you do yoga stretches, Tanya? I was wondering if those helped you… I’m certain it can be worship-filled. Yes, please take it with you! Thanks for stopping by. Love our friday visits 🙂

    • Thank you, Joy! I’m hanging in there, it’s the rest of the family I’m caring for. you know how that goes! Thankfully, I see the light at the end. What grace! And what would we do without new dawns, new beginnings. It’s the reason Lamentations 3:21-26 are my life verses.

      Happy Friday to you — enjoy your weekend!

  8. I like this! I loved when you said, “I signed up to receive new mercies every day. ” Definitely one of my favorite passages is Lamentations 3:22-23.

    I have a feeling I’m going to remember my new mercies every time I wake up and stretch!

  9. “The sacred stretch of surrender” — such beautiful words, Nikki. I loved the imagery of your day beginning anew with stretching arms and hands reaching heavenward. Your prose is like poetry! Blessings on your weekend time.

  10. Your heart is so beautiful here. And you shine so so bright in my life. Thank you for stewarding the gifts He gave you with writing in such an encouraging way. Bless your need for kleenex, hoping whoever is sick at your place is well soon. Love toYou in Christ…..Elizabeth

  11. I always love what you write 🙂 you have a unique way of putting words into place from your heart 🙂 glad I stopped by your blog.. I always try and read others, and today I am glad I did 🙂

  12. Nikki, have you been sick? I’m so sorry. Even when not feeling well, your words encourage and inspire. I love the way you paint the perfect picture of stretching toward Heaven in worship. 🙂

  13. Can I just tell you that I heart you and your words here today friend? There is such beauty in this moment you share. Painting such a lovely picture that it brought tears to my eyes. Thank you so much for sharing! Blessings!

  14. “I am with you, child. Every step of the way.”
    Oh how I love when He whispers this in my ear! Even during the hard days He is there and this makes those hard days much easier to bear.

I can't wait to hear from you...

