What Can I Do?

It would be easier if it were earned. I could wrap my head around needing to perform effectively to reap the reward. This eternal love affair He gives freely to anyone willing to stretch their arms out and accept it. What grace.

Looking around the room, I see people who deserve it. Those that have given their lives to service. Becoming less to benefit another. They’ve earned my share.

Then there are others…

I don’t understand it because I am one of them. One that hasn’t done a thing to deserve what He freely bestows upon me. I say I’m simply striving but for what? For whom?

Friends, it’s all I can think to do. Simply strive to live like I deserve this robe of forgiveness He’s wrapped me in so tight I’ll never be able to get out of it.

And that’s the hard part — forgiveness. We’re used to having forgiveness cause debt. I’ll say it isn’t true, but we all know. If I forgive you for a grievance, you owe me. For I’ve had to sacrifice something to forgive you.

To think He took care of that, too. With His great master plan that encapsulates the kind of love we’ll never comprehend this side of Heaven.

“Human love will always be a faint shadow of God’s love. Not because it is too sugary or sentimental, but simply because it can never compare from whence it comes. Human love, with all its passion and emotion is a thin echo of the passion/emotion love of Yahweh.” ~ Brennan Manning, The Ragamuffin Gospel

He sacrificed His Son. He let His sinless Son go for the love of us. It hurts my heart but I have to admit I wouldn’t do the same. I’m sorry, I am certain I couldn’t give up my own son to save another I love.

But that’s the God I know.

It seems He couldn’t get over me.
And for the life of me I’ll never get over it.
Oh how He loves me.

Because we are so riddled with sin, Jesus had to sacrifice His own life for ours. Here’s the clincher–He had to go willingly. He had to take it all upon Himself and pay it in full.

So we can’t owe, can’t pay, can’t earn, can’t redeem, can’t save our own way into the eternal love affair God offers.

It’s simply a gift.

And I can’t do a thing but humbly accept it. Savor it. Experience it with every fiber this human body offers me. And believe deep down in the depths no one can take away from me that He loves me more than I could ever dream possible.

~~~~~~~~~~

This is the stream of consciousness I experience while listening to the following song my cousin Ginger has gifted me with. And I’d like to share it with you. I know she won’t mind…will ya, cuz.

(Subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen in to this beautiful song…)

A Little Longer ~ By Brian and Jenn Johnson

What can I do for You?
What can I bring to You?
What kind of song would you like me to sing?

‘Cause I’ll dance a dance for You
Pour out my love to You
What can I do for You beautiful king?

‘Cause I can’t thank You enough.
I can’t thank You enough
All of the words that I find
and I can’t thank You enough.
No matter I try
I can’t thank You enough.

Then I hear You sing to me:

“You don’t have to do a thing
Just simply be with Me and let those things go
‘Cause they can wait another minute

Wait…this moment is too sweet
Would you please stay here with Me
And love on Me a little longer

I’d love to be with you a little longer
‘Cause I’m in love with you.”

How about you, friend? What goes through your mind while soaking in this song? What do you do with this free gift? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking up to:

15 thoughts on “What Can I Do?

  1. you know me well…of course i don’t mind. 🙂 this song was an “accidental” find that has spoken volumes to my heart. in all my haste to get life done well, i’ve forgotten that i’m not being graded on my performance. i need to be more like mary and less like martha. sitting at the feet of Jesus needs to be my priority….this is the one real lesson i want for my children (and others) to learn. if they are able to learn this, they can get through all of life’s troubles and get the answers to all their tough questions.

    thanks for sharing this song with others, nikk. it carries an awesome message that more people need to hear!

    • Striving with you, cousin, to teach this priority of dwelling in His presence. What a gift! and so is this song. Thank you, again, for sharing it with me (and everyone else) 🙂

      Hugs to you!

  2. “It seems He couldn’t get over me. And for the life of me I’ll never get over it.”
    Oh friend how I love these beautiful words you’re sharing today. Thank you so much for sharing them. Blessings!

  3. Oh what a beautiful song and what a blessing to know that we don’t have to do a thing to deserve His love. He just wants us to wait in His Presence so He can love us and on this busy Monday morning I just want to sit at his feet and love and thank Him, knowing everything else can wait. Thank you, Nikki for introducing me to his song.
    Joy

    • This song is sure a treasure, isn’t it, Joy. I’m with you, striving to savor His presence on my life today. This week. and the next. Hugs to you, friend– I’ll be over to your place soon.

  4. It goes against everything in us, this thing called grace. It’s the opposite of our own heart. It’s what makes it so amazing, that He would save a wretch like me.Thanks for sharing!

  5. Beautiful song! It is humbling to think that God could love us with all our faults and shortcomings. I know just what you mean about feeling like other do so much, and are more deserving of God’s love and forgiveness. I guess we can just be grateful that He loves us all equally, and He does that without our deserving it.

    • Sometimes, Humbling seems like an understatement. But I can’t think of a better term. Oh how He loves us. I think it was Brennan Manning who said “God’s love may be unfair, but when His unfairness includes you and me, who wants to argue?”

  6. I overflow with happiness that He loves me, all of me, the messiness and craziness and everything else. The knowing that He loves us so much that His son sacrificed everything – what amazing love He has for us!!

I can't wait to hear from you...

