BEYOND ~ Five Minute Friday

Friends, sometimes I just need to write
Without worrying if it’s right or not.

And am blessed beyond measure
To find a place to do just that
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

So I will join others and write unabashedly
for five minutes time.
On one word alone:

BEYOND

My mind whirls as my ears try to decide what to focus on. The dryer’s hum, my 4 year-old’s drum, the tap of my thumb…and I laugh at myself for speaking in Seuss. Yet again.

It’s the third time I’ve stepped on that lego man. The sixth time I’ve answered the same question. The eight hundreth time I’ve responded to that three letter name of mine I hold so dear. The one I swore I would never grow tired of hearing.

mom.

It’s not even noon.

And I’m tired and overwhelmed. And the laundry pile never depletes. And no matter how hard I try, I can’t hear Him. The One that makes the ache go away. Father, I know You’re there….please hold me.

I set down the pile of books, kick the laundry basket out of view, and sink down into the chaise warmed by the sun. Eyes closed, palms open, I wait.

My mind calms as my ears focus in on the silence. And I feel Him accept my embrace.

Child, do you see it? Passed the dishes and the spills. Over the laundry and mound of legos. Do you see it? Just beyond the particulars? It’s Me. Here I am waiting. For you. Come sit and we’ll visit. Forget the to-do list. I’ll show you what matters. And what doesn’t, give it to Me. Leave it here. Just beyond the particulars.Β 

 

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you? What is just beyond for you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Say, are we friends on Facebook? I’d love to be…

57 thoughts on “BEYOND ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Ahhh . . . yes . . . and I’ve stepped on the legos, and never have all the wash done even with two washers, . . . and YES, He wants us and “it” all . . . we just seem to give it to Him and take it back one too many times!

    • Oh, what would you do without two washers, Loni! I can’t even imagine…
      You see me well, don’t you, neighbor. Me taking things back He’s offered to handle. Ack! I’m striving…

      Thanks for stopping by ~ Happy weekend to you! (Sent you an email)

  2. Such a beautiful glimpse of your relationship and intimacy with God. Truly honored to be able to share in this moment with you.

    And yeah, those Lego blocks could be manufactured as weapons of torture. Never go barefoot in my boys rooms anymore. War wounds.

    • Your post is still lingering with me, Alia. Hoping some of my readers click on your name to be blessed by it, too!

      So thankful you stopped by (and enjoyed our little twitter prayer room chat last night!) Let’s visit again soon.

  3. “The one I swore I would never grow tired of hearing.”

    I am learning. I am learning. Mama’s like you sharing your heart and your love for God and your family — helps me so much. Your words keep working on my soul.

    So blessed by you…

    • Thank you for joining me here, Nicole! I covet your prayers, friend. And am praying for you, too. God is so good and has amazing things planned just beyond for you! To God be the glory. Let’s keep chatting with Him about it, okay?

  4. I read the post and kept thinking. This is my life too. And then at the end. I thought, when you are done sitting with God, I’ll hop on over and we can chat and laugh together, beyond the daily mommy stuff. Oh the fun of imagining meeting a blogging friend.

    • Would love to share a sofa cushion with you, Laura! So grateful for this space here in the blogosphere where we can link our hearts and encourage each other along the way. Thank you!

  5. I so wish I had peeps like you in my life when my kids were little. I think I’ve told you that before, but it’s so true. Beyond the call of being a mother are priceless moments that don’t seem like pricelessness at the time, but through it all God always calls us beyond to Him to be refueled for yet another day of loving and raising His little ones.

  6. Love this… I was mentally high-fiving you already at the ‘speaking in Seuss’ bit – so gratified that I’m not the only one! πŸ™‚

    It is hard to find the ‘one thing is needful’ as Mary did when Martha-ing just takes up so much of our darn time! This was a lovely way of expressing it – the frustration and then the guilt at being frustrated, and the call of God to us – thank you.

    • Oh you read my heart well, Tanya. I wanted to mention Mary and Martha and realized I was running out of time. Striving to be still and know today…savor His grace.

      Loved your post, by the way!!

  7. Well spoken, Nikki! Isn’t it so wonderful that we can go beyond all the burdens of everyday life (I don’t know how many times of threatened throwing away the legos!) and give it all to a God that takes care of us.

    Isaiah 40:29 “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.”

    • It blows me away, Laurie. And i pray it never stops blowing me away. Oh how He loves us! And not only loves us, but pursues us!

      I’ll cherish that verse today, friend. Thank you!

    • I cherish your encouragement, Elizabeth. Having gone before me through this phase always makes me feel better πŸ˜‰ Thank you for sharing with me and urging me to keep striving!

    • It is hard to drown out the noise of the particulars, wouldn’t you say? Oh but the quiet serenity found while seeking Him. It never gets old.
      What a lovely date night! See ya next week, friend!

  8. Oh, the little things that get in the way. There’s just so many of them and yet, you found a way to hear him. Bless you.

    • Some days, it’s the only thing that gets me through, Joy. How do people do without it? So grateful I don’t have to worry about that particular! Thanks for sharing with me today, friend! Happy weekend to you!

  9. Nikki, beautifully written. And still taking time to encourage a fellow blogger and sis in Christ. Thank you my friend for your beautiful writing , heart and friendship! Beyond the laundry, we find Him…lol. I wish it wasn’t so but Yes, even He is there. WIth joy for our journey. Hugs!

    • It’s a game of hide-and-seek some days, isn’t it. This seeking Him through the particulars.
      So blessed by YOU! Thrilled you stopped by today, Dawn. Thank you! joy for our journey indeed… Hugs to you!

  10. Sister of my heart, you truly are.
    *hugs*
    This is achingly, hopefully lovely.
    And yes, I am in the same quandary with ALL of these five minute friday posts…

    • It could never be my job, Meredith. Choosing which one to highlight. Because yours? A.Mazing. and so many more! Love Fridays where we can link our hearts raw and encourage each other to keep striving. seeking. savoring His grace.
      Hugs to you, friend!

  11. Nikki, you’ve down it again! WOWED me on Friday morning — how does it pour out of you so smoothly and richly in just five minutes? Because He is there with you so evident in your words. Love you that you’re in my cyber life!

    • You are so kind to me, Sherrey! Confession? I write these super late at night…the delirium of the day helps me let go of me and simply write my heart. I have no clue why! πŸ™‚ And you, girl, can read my heart. So blessed by you!

  12. I have no words! You grab me and pull me closer, running to search for the One who calms my storm. Oh to sit with palms open, looking beyond my mess to truly see Him! That is the cry of my heart!

  13. He’s always there isn’t He? patting the sofa, calling us over for a sit. The clutter of the day stacks up in front of our eyes, in our hearts and we strain to see Him, but He’s always just so patiently there…. I love this Nikki. LOVE your heart for Him, and how you point me that way. XOXO

  14. “The one I swore I would never grow tired of hearing. mom.”
    Oh how I know this place. Have heard my little man call out “Hey Mom!” a million times this morning. I kept thinking …I can’t hear anything else. Was so blessed by what you shared today sister!

  15. Oh yes, Nikki. I get this. Sometimes I can’t hear Him through all the noise of life. It’s so good to remember His arms are always open and His lap always has more room. Thanks for this beautiful post! (and the reminder to pick up the Legos…)

    • It is so easy to lose His whispers amongst the noise of life, isn’t it, Jana. But oh how I need to rest in Him during the day!
      Love being on this journey with you, friend. Linking hearts with you as we keep seeking, striving, savoring His grace…

  16. Soooo very thankful God has moved beyond the “Holy of Holies” and into our lego (or princess) filled floors. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder!

I can't wait to hear from you...

