My One Thing {And a Giveaway!}

PLEASE NOTE: This giveaway is now closed. But the story is still very much alive!

The series of events I’d like to tell you about today is not of the coincidence variety. I’m convinced.

It all started with my dear friend Alene. Or so I thought. Turns out, it started with my friend, Janelle.

Confession time: I’ve followed Janelle of Grace Tags for six months or so. And I’ve tried to win one of her giveaways longer than that. You see, she makes the most amazing Christian JewelryΒ and I’ve ached to wear it around my neck. Any of it.

So I would enter a giveaway when I saw them. I started following her on twitter. Then started reading her blog regularly via email. Before I knew it, I was convinced we were kindred sisters in Christ. And she has become a dear friend.

Then it happened. I received this in the mail! I had finally won one!!!

I was elated to say the least.

A day or two after receiving it, I read THIS POST from my friend Alene. Titled “Say What You Need to Say.” In the post, she mentions a quote from Jeff Goins where he asks the question:

If you had one thing to say to the world, what would it be?

Instantly, my indecisiveness fought to take over. Trying to cause me to miss what my heart was longing to reveal. But I knew how I would answer it. I just wasn’t sure how to phrase it quite yet.

Insecurity took over next and I ended up tweeting Alene about it. Asking her if she thought it was okay that I hadn’t perfected my one thing yet. Is it even worth it? Can it be my one thing? Would the world hear me, even though I don’t have all the answers?

Alene assured me. And encouraged me to jump and claim it. Still, I spent days mulling over even how to phrase it.

Until the young cashier asked me the question point-blank. And I knew.

So, is that your motto or something?” she asks while swiping the jeans for my boy I found on clearance.

I’m sorry, what?” and friends, I seriously thought she was talking about my frugal shopping.

Your necklace. I noticed what it says. Is that your life’s motto?

My back straightened, shoulders swung back as the light bulb went on. And I declared proudly, “Why yes. Yes it is my one thing. It’s what I’m striving for anyway. How about you — what’s your motto?

She finishes swiping as she declares, “Oh, my mom would love you. I think mine is ‘live in the moment’ or something like that.” …. and then we proceeded to talk about what she wanted to do this summer, with her new drivers license and all.

Friends, all this time, it had been hanging from my neck. And oh how I want you to be able to say the same thing!

On to the Giveaway!

Dear Janelle has offered to give one of you (via random.org) any Grace Tags Aluminum Necklace found in her Christian Jewelery Line! (your choice which!)

THERE’S MORE! Janelle has also offered all of you a discount of 15% off any of her jewelry pieces FOUND HERE. Simply use the code “nikki” at checkout. Discount valid through July.

Would you like to win one of the aluminum pieces featured? Here’s how:

  • MANDATORY: In comments, please answer this question:

Which necklace would you pick and why?

I would love it if you would also share with me your one thing…
which is optional for now. Because I’m not done talking about mine.

For Additional Entries:

  • Follow Simplystriving either by email or Facebook and let me know in a separate comment which one you have chosen (Or both). Please leave an additional comment for this so random dot org works properly.
  • Share this giveaway via social media. Your choice how (there are a plethora of options at the end of this post). Let me know in an additional comment which one you chose with the shared link if possible. One share per person is plenty.

NOTE: Only additional comments will be valid for an additional entry. Any Continental U.S. Resident may enter.

Winner will be chosen via Random.org on Thursday, July 19th at 10pm Central Time. I will contact the winner around that time. Winner will have 48 hours to respond or another winner will be chosen.

UPDATE: Congrats, Christina! You’re the winner! She has been contacted and has gotten back with her selection: Because of Grace. Thank you all who entered!

Here’s me today with my Grace Tags necklace. I LOVE IT!

And friends, I would love it if you would take the time to get to know my friend Janelle. She has a story to share and does it well on her blog. She is a joy to follow via Facebook (and does giveaways there as well). She shares about joy. grace. her battle with lymes. her son’s battle with the same illness. and brings God glory through all of it.

Thank you, Janelle, for sharing your handiwork here. Your friendship and display of grace astounds me.

And thank you, dear reader, for sharing your time with me.

Me. Who’s simply striving to let go and let God…

~Nikki

Disclaimer: I won a Grace Tag necklace in anΒ  unrelated giveaway. Janelle is too gracious to tell me what to say here. She is simply offering another. All opinions, including that I love her handiwork, are my own.

55 thoughts on “My One Thing {And a Giveaway!}

  1. Oh Nikki – what a beautiful post. And I just love that the necklace was noticed by someone out in the world and provoked a conversation. God is amazing in the ways He works. Would you mind if I quote that story and use the picture of you wearing the piece?

    God loves you,
    Janelle

  2. Beautiful…just beautiful. All of it…the post, the necklace, the picture of you wearing the necklace, the conversation with the cashier….everything. Do I have to choose JUST ONE favorite from her collection!?!? It is all lovely. I really like I choose joy, less of me more of God and in Christ alone…just can’t choose from those three.

    Nikki, again this is beautiful and I love it and YOU!

    Hugs~
    Mary

  3. Hi Nikki,
    Another thought-provoking post! Before Christmas last year, I ordered 2 Grace Tags — one for my daughter and one for me, and both went under the tree so we could open them together. I custom ordered mine and asked Janelle to stamp mine with Faith, Hope, Trust…so maybe that’s my one thing I’d say to the world.

    Btw, we both love our Grace Tags. If I could win one, I’m not sure which I’d choose, but I like the new cross designs.

    Thanks for the chance, and I like your picture. πŸ™‚
    In Christ,
    Laura

  4. Oh girl – you bless me!!! See I told you you knew your motto…..love this, love you, love Grace Tags. As a matter of fact, my motto hangs around my neck too. I’ll be sharing the story shortly. Gotta love that Janelle and GraceTags. What a cool ministry! Love ya — so proud.

  5. Oh, “because of grace” for sure! It’s what saves me, what changes me, and what catches me. Love this jewelry! And I think that would fit my one thing nicely:)

    • Christina, Random dot org has picked you!!!
      Please email me your mailing details and your final selection found in the aluminum jewelery line. simplystriving (at) gmail (dot) com
      Yay!

  6. I have a piece of Janelle’s wonderful work… I love it! I love your story here. How sweet to be able to have a conversation like that with a stranger all beginning with a necklace. Oh how He works!! I don’t need to be entered, it would be nice for someone else to ba able to have one of these special pieces. πŸ™‚

  7. I love this story, as well as your giveaway. I can’t enter, though, since I’m in Canada. I read that post by Jeff a while ago and have thought about it a lot. I think my one thing has something to do with being part of God’s story. I just don’t know the exact words. Maybe I don’t have to. God will give the words for each new situation.

    • So bummed I couldn’t enter you to win, Tereasa (if it helps at all, random dot org picked someone before you anyway?) And I love your thoughts here..maybe we don’t have to have the exact words. I believe that. I do. He’ll use us anyway.

  8. Of course, I’m thrilled that you won after waiting patiently for so long! But I’m more thrilled that the young cashier NOTICED what it says. For me, that would be my favorite also because I struggle with this one thing — letting go the control I want in my life. But the control in my life is His, not mine. I’ve read Jeff’s post you mention and loved it! Still pondering my one thing though — will I ever stop pondering. Great post today, Nikki — full of truth and love!

    • Thank you so much for sharing with me here, friend, and entering the giveaway. And sharing it with all your friends. you bless me so!

      And we can still strive to let go and let God together. Each day. Some days, I even believe we’ll get it right πŸ˜‰

    • So thrilled you entered to win, Janet! Thank you — love the one you chose. And I’m so sorry Random dot org picked another because I would love that to be hanging around your neck!

  9. I would choose “Because of Grace” as it embodies how my life has been so blessed despite my falterings and hardships.

    • I’m loving the Because of Grace one, too, Karen! in fact, the winner Random dot org picked chose that one as well.
      So thankful you shared with me here. Thank you for entering!

  10. LOVE this! SO beautiful! You are truly inspiring. Wish I could enter! Congrats on getting your grace tag and being bold in sharing the truth with a complete stranger! :0)

  11. I love how God puts something right underneath our noses….treasure for us to find when we seek Him. You have a heart that fully seeks, and so you find. I actually won one of Janelle’s necklaces on another blog a while back, and I gave it away to a beautiful friend. I would love to win another (for myself). I think at this time in my life I would have to choose “loved”, because I often need that reminder. Thank you for your heart that follows hard after Him.

    • Isn’t that just like you, Barbie…giving away treasures ; ) I’ve told you before…such a selfless heart you carry within you that beams for all of us to see!
      Thank you for entering here, friend. Hope you follow Janelle on FB as she gives away so many there, too (and did you enter Alene’s giveaway as well?)

  12. As I looked through the Grace Tag line, “Less of me, more of God” jumped out at me. In an instant I knew, that’s my one thing! πŸ™‚ thank you Nikki for your posts, they are blessing to read!

  13. I really like the one that you have, “let go and let God”. That is what I am striving for!! But if I can’t have that one, then “because of grace” says alot!! It really is hard to choose, I do like them all!!

  14. I love this!! I actually had to think about which necklace I would pick!! There are so many, and each one could fit me! I am torn between “I am Blessed” because I am – and “Christ Alone” since that is one of my favorite songs πŸ™‚

  15. So love your heart friend. I would choose the By Grace, Through Faith Christian Necklace as it is my life verse. That is what my one thing is…to let everyone know that grace isn’t earned…it’s freely given through faith. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  16. I would choose the because of grace one, b/c grace means so much more to me than it ever used to. Its a daily thing.

    • It IS a daily thing..grace… I love that one, too. Wish I could have given a necklace to everyone who entered! (She does have a fantastic BOGO deal going on right now if you need to get a gift for someone, too!) You can check out her facebook page πŸ™‚

  17. I read this when you posted it and realized I didn’t comment. I love that it was hanging around your neck the whole time and it took a perfect stranger to make you realize it. Really, it speaks to your ability to listen well Nikki and take notice when he’s talking. BTW, I like the one you wear the best. I don’t wear traditionally, churchy looking things and though a cross is always relevant, it looks that way to me. Just sayin’.

    • I love that you said that, Shelly. You don’t wear traditionally churchy things. I don’t either — in fact, this is the first thing I’ve ever worn with any type of statement before! It’s growing on me. probably because I’m so passionate about it right now. I just ache to talk about it! : ) Let go..let God…

  18. Pingback: Worship Always {Janelle’s Story and a GIVEAWAY!!} | simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

