All I Seek

Flickr Photo Credit: electrictuesday

I stare blankly at the squares in front of me. Each one blurs into the next and I can’t help but wonder what could possibly need to be added to this madness. Still, the pen in hand was no accident. There is something I am missing on here, yet after looking at all the ink already spilled, I can’t imagine what it was.

It was something I had vowed never to do. Be a slave to a calendar. Fill the squares full intentionally. And the older I get the more it becomes vividly clear. It takes a conscious effort to simplify. Streamline ones schedule so that a calendar becomes artwork and nothing more.

A chuckle escapes from my lips as I put the pen away. For I recall just last night praying for peace. Asking God point-blank the secret to achieving stillness. It’s been a pattern lately, me asking questions He’s already told me the answers to. And I’m starting to see why it’s taking them so long to sink in. I haven’t made the space for them on this schedule-genie clinging to the wall….

~~~~~~~~~~

Friends, a few weeks ago I received an email from a reader/fellow blogger, Diana. She shared her heart with me and showed me how we are striving for the same thing: To be still and simply know…He is…

Diana asked if I could share with her readers what is on my heart and I humbly and prayerfully said yes.

Will you please join me over at Diana’s beautiful blog to read the rest of this post? I’ll share with you the answers He gave me on how to be still and know. And show you how I plan to achieve it. Simply click on her blog title below:

Be Still and Know

If you have the time, I would love to know you stopped by. Please feel free to share with me how you seek, see, know, and savor your Redeemer. I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

8 thoughts on “All I Seek

  1. NIKKI, I find that for me, the best time to be still is in my prayer time! I’ll praise HIM, worship HIM, make my requests known, ask what would HE have me do today. Then I just sit and be still. I wait for HIM to join in the conversation. In any personnal relationship we have, there is talking back and forth. This ia the same with Jesus.

    • So true, Dad. Where I struggle is in the letting go and letting God…which I think is a vital part to being still. But I’m getting there. Thanks for sharing with me today!

  2. So beautifully true, dear Nikki…when we seek Him with all of us, He always graciously gives us more of Himself, and even if there is the slightest movement toward Him, He is also gracious…Yes, He is enough in the good, and in the bad times…Love to you 🙂

    • Love your thinking here, Dolly..He is gracious with even the slightest movement. I need to remember that. Thank you for supporting me through these guest posts lately, friend! I don’t know what I’d do without you. Hugs to you! (oh, and angelcots are just a different species of apricots, grown in Central CA only (although they’re Moroccan I think?). they’re nearly white and taste like they’re infused with sugar, though they’re not. Texture is similar to a perfectly ripened nectarine, but with the sweet taste of an apricot. I don’t blame my boy for picking them one bit! ) 🙂

I can't wait to hear from you...

