There’s Just Something About that Name

I wake too early and assess the damage. Trying to determine how bad this one is going to be. It’s significant and I know I’m in for a long haul. Convenience and a migraine never coincide, but this weekend full of family events and company was inconvenience at its finest.

Sleep avoided the pain and oh how I wished I could be wherever it was. But after trying for some time, I couldn’t find it and went for Plan B. Prayer.

Gingerly, my arms rose, palms outstretched. Eyes closed tight. Temples pulsing. Heart racing. Head so loud I couldn’t even think. With all the lucidness and strength I could muster, I uttered one word. Just one. Over and over.

Jesus…Jesus…Jesus…

Friends, He heard me. I don’t know how else to explain it other than I felt my head being cradled. Accompanied with a fluid pressure, soothing the pain.

And as I found sleep once again I realized.
There truly is something about that name.

A few hours later I woke to gentle hands rubbing my head once again. I squinted slow and placed my four-year-old’s face with this encounter. And as I pulled him in to greet the new day, it occurred to me.

My migraine was gone. Nowhere to be found.

For those that suffer from them, I know you can imagine how elated I became. This was one that would have normally put me out of commission for 2-3 days. And here I was, rising out of bed, lifting my preschooler, like it was an ordinary day.

Only it wasn’t. It was extraordinary! For I had met with Christ before dawn. There’s no telling what was to come.

As I raced to share this moment with my husband, I found myself back where I started. Thanking the One who made it all possible.

Jesus….sweet Jesus…my saving Jesus…

And if I didn’t know it before, I have no doubt now. There’s just something about that name.

Sharing with you the hymn that started my Sunday morning off right:

There’s Just Something About that Name
by (William J. and) Gloria Gaither

Jesus, Jesus, Jesus
There’s just something about that name
Master, Savior, Jesus
Like the fragrance after the rain
Jesus, Jesus, Jesus
Let all heaven and earth proclaim
Kings and kingdoms shall all pass away
But there’s something about that name.

I’m sure you all know the chorus as the song itself. Have you ever heard the original version of the song? There are spoken verses laced throughout the praise of His name. Mind if I share them with you?

If you’d simply like to hear the original version of the song with Gloria Gaither’s spoken verse, CLICK HERE

Jesus, the mere mention of His name can calm the storm,
heal the broken, raise the dead.
At the name of Jesus, I’ve seen sin-hardened men
melted,
derelicts transformed,
the lights of hope put back into the eyes of a hopeless child…

At the name of Jesus, hatred and bitterness
turned to love
and forgiveness, arguments cease.

I’ve heard a mother softly breathe His name at the
bedside of a child delirious from fever,
and I’ve watched as that little body grow quiet and the fevered brow cool.

I’ve sat beside a dying saint, her body racked with pain,
who in those final fleeting seconds summoned her last ounce of
ebbing strength to whisper earth’s sweetest name–Jesus, Jesus…

Emperors have tried to destroy it;
philosophies have tried to stamp it out.
Tyrants have tried to wash it from the face of the earth
with the very blood of those who claimed it. Yet it still stands.

And there shall be that final day when
every voice that has ever uttered a sound–
every voice of Adam’s race shall raise
in one great mighty chorus to proclaim the name of Jesus–
for in that day “every knee shall bow and
every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is truly Lord!!!”

Ah–so you see–it was not mere chance
that caused the angel one night long ago to say to a virgin maiden,
“His name shall be called Jesus.” Jesus–sweet Jesus–Jesus.
Oh, there is something about that name…

How about you, friend? Have you experienced something to that name? What does the name Jesus mean to you? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

24 thoughts on “There’s Just Something About that Name

  1. What a beautiful post and testimony friend!

    Also, I want to thank you for including in your Bloggers Prayer Project. I wanted to let you know that my husband started on his job today. It is temporary but I know that this is just the start of a new beginning. Thank you friend.

    Jesus, Jesus, Jesus….there’s just something about that name.

    Blessings to you friend!

  2. Oh Nikki, I loved reading this and I’m so glad you’re feeling better. There really is power in that name and how precious that Jesus healed your pain and gave you sweet rest so that you could rise up and tell others . Jesus! How I love Him!
    Joy

    • I’m still so excited! I went the entire day yesterday in the heat no less with my in-law family and didn’t once have a relapse. Such a miracle! He is so amazing I can hardly stand it! Thanks for sharing with me today, Joy!

  3. Hi Nikki,
    I absolutely know the elation you felt. Even after a migraine goes away, it can leave me feeling completely wiped out for the entire next day.

    Without a doubt, Jesus’ name holds power!

    Blessings to you friend!
    Laura

    • Oh, yes, Laura. I’m so sorry you know how I felt. I must confess to you — after I got up I grabbed the medicine I would normally take in efforts of preventing a relapse and suddenly realized how foolish that would be. For I didn’t have “the migraine hangover” at all! So, I took that step of faith and put the bottle away for when I really needed it…

      Praise His Name!

      Thanks for sharing with me, friend!
      ~nikki

  4. Definitely there is something to THAT name, Nikki — I call it Comforter, Peacemaker, Healer, Shepherd. I’m so glad you were able to rise up and praise Him yesterday morning! Calling on His Name is one of the things He truly wants us to practice, and too often we forget. Thanks for the gentle nudge!

  5. Thank you for reminding us about the wonders of just saying His precious name.

    I know what it’s like to have headaches for days. Was in an automobile accident some years ago and most of the trauma was to the head. So I can sympathize.

    I praise God for sending Him to save me. Many a days I have found myself just whispering His name and feeling His comfort. Indeed there is just something so special about that name.

    I love that song. Have the original album where she sings it…and the part where she narrates is amazing. I could feel His presence surround me as I listen.

    Thank you, thank you and thank you for allowing me the honor of visiting your Blog and being blessed every time!

    I pray you continue feeling better…Have a wonderfully blessed day!

    To Him who sits on the throne be all the glory and honor forever.

    • Sonia, I am so sorry to hear you know headaches well, too. Trust that’s the only repercussion from the accident…

      I appreciate your prayers and for spending time with me here focusing on His name, Sonia. You bless me more than you know. Thank you!!

      To God be the glory…

      All for Him with hugs to you,
      Nikki

I can't wait to hear from you...

