Dance the Groove of Grace ~ Five Minute Friday

Can I share something with you?

Sometimes, I just want to write
Without worrying if it’s right or not.

Would you believe there’s an app for that?
Well there’s a place for that anyway.
Over at Lisa-Jo’s.

So I will join others and write unabashedly
for five minutes time.
On one word alone:

___DANCE___

His four-year-old frame flails every which way. In time to the rhythm of his soul. He catches me watching but doesn’t relent.

“I’ve got moves, don’t I mom! Come on, dance with me!”

And I tell him in not so many words. Never have I seen such joy displayed so valiantly. In all his acquired wisdom he tells me plainly, “Sometimes you just gotta show yourself. This is all me, mom. These are my moves! Let me see yours!”

I’m too ashamed to tell him. Admit I lost mine many moons ago. So I try to fake it and shake it to no avail. There’s no fooling him.

“Well, mom. You know practice makes perfect. Here, watch me again!”

And I do. Every day I watch him. Being himself unabashedly. Dancing to the rhythm of his very own God-given soul. Unapologetic to anyone who thinks otherwise.

And I know.
Deep down.
This is what a life of praise looks like.
One living in the freedom of grace.

I see it in creation. As the trees sway, outstretched. The flowers frolic in the breeze. Even the tide has a rhythmic movement unmatched.

And I see it in child-like faith. Untainted. Unmatched praise.

Friends, I want the moves of mercy, too.
I want to live like only He’s watching.
I want to practice the talents He gave me personally and use them for His glory.

And I want to proclaim it loud and proud:

“I’ve got the groove of grace! Come on — dance free with me!”

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Join in on the Five Minute Friday Flash Mob!
Simply click on the button below!

How about you? Do you dance in your freedom of grace? If so, how? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Are we friends on Facebook? I’d love to be…

39 thoughts on “Dance the Groove of Grace ~ Five Minute Friday

    • Thanks for dancing in the freedom of grace with me! (and I’m getting smarter at this blogging behind-the-scene business. I added your URL to your comment here so others could find your brilliant 5 minute write!)

      Hugs to you, friend!

  1. Lovely! The dance of toddler is a beautiful thing. It’s honest joy and praise. To live life like we didn’t care what other’s thought or saw when they looked at us, would be a beautiful thing!

    • thanks, Jen, for stopping by. SO thrilled we were neighbors today! We can learn a lot from those toddler heart, don’t you think? I know I am…never knew how much parenting would draw me closer to my Savior — what a tremendous hidden blessing!

  2. “This is what a life of praise looks like. One living in the freedom of grace.”

    Oh, we learn so much from our kids! Just watching their joy and freedom. What a gift. I’m still learning, every day, to dance in the gift of grace.

    Beautiful post, Nikki. πŸ™‚

    • I hope you’re enjoying this learning process as much as I am, Denise. What a journey, this discovery of grace! I’m loving it!
      Thanks for stopping by, friend. Always blessed by you!

  3. It’s awesome to watch that child-like faith, their confidence, and their happiness! So glad that your son dances…and get up and dance, girl!!

    • ABANDONMENT was the word I was looking for while typing furiously last night, Tanya! I woke up in the middle of the night remembering it, but I’m so glad you mentioned it here. thank you! I’m enjoying our visits…

    • Would you believe my first thought was to close the curtains, Shelly?!? But I didn’t. And we danced like no one was watching. And ya know — I loved it, too. Enjoy your weekend with your loves back!

  4. Just love it when our little ones dance and praise the LORD. I’ll be dancing with you today in the freedom of grace. “You will go our in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you and all the trees of the field will clap their hands.” Isaiah 55:12 To God be the glory!
    Joy

  5. Am smiling from reading of his exuberance. Isn’t it fun watching our Father teaching through his babies? We’ve forgotten so much by growing older while in this sinful world, we’re truly blessed that our Father has given us blazing reminders of His love and goodness through our children, grandchildren for some of us…and through nature. We need this reminders daily…so, until we’re home for real….spying a flower in an unusual spot…watching a Momma bird with her fledgling hopping behind her relentlessly cheeping every step or so… watching a child getting his moves out to share with his Mom. LOL I’ve gone over into the rambling mode now…just wanted you to know I enjoyed this post as much as I do your others, even when I don’t come on here to comment.

    • Always love when you share with me, Donna. Thank you! We lose so much freedom as we slowly accept the burdens of growing older in this world that’s not our home, don’t we. But I’m starting to wonder….why should we? And you’ve got the first step. Taking notice of His daily reminders.

      Thanks for always reading my ramblings, Donna. I’m honored to hear from you!

  6. Oh.my. Your boy has some moves, and you do, too…love how you are dancing to the new music He is playing in your life…thank you for sharing your dance moves here, dear friend πŸ™‚ You inspire me to greater grace and mercy in Him…thank you also for all of your support and encouragement this week w/ my guest posting…it really means a lot to me! Love to you πŸ™‚

    • Those were beautiful guest posts, Dolly. You make it easy to on me to support you! πŸ™‚ I’m loving your dance, too, friend. Who knew all these moves we were capable of…well, you know the answer to that one! Thanks for stopping by, my number one commenter! πŸ™‚ Enjoy your weekend. Trusting Jubi has a great one…

  7. Amen! Our hearts were dancing to the same music my friend! Love how your son was pushing you to praise unashamed, a little David dancing before the Lord? πŸ˜‰

    Loved your 5 minutes!!

    • Your post was what I had dreamed of last night! David dancing like a fool– or so it seems to anyone who can’t see his heart…. I ramble. My point is — YES! I wanna praise like David! and my son will get me there. one move at a time… πŸ˜‰

  8. WOW! Such wisdom in a little 4 year old… and in his mom! Thank you for your post. It was beautiful! I was thinking it today not only does all creation cry out praises they dance their praises too! And then you said it so much more eloquently!

    • I’m so thrilled you stopped by, Sarah. I’m honored to meet you! And you’re so kind with your words. Thank you. I’m not sure about eloquent, but I’m so glad you saw what my heart was thinking of! And not only that, but you see it, too. Thank you for sharing with me!

    • I must admit, I didn’t grow up in a dancing family, so it’s taking me a bit to warm up to the family dance sessions, but I wouldn’t have it any other way! LOVE how easily they can express themselves unabashedly! We can learn so much from them….

      Thanks for stopping by, Tereasa! So excited for you!!!

  9. What beautiful abandonment displayed in your post. Oh to be like a child, without a care in the world. I love the “practice makes perfect”. Isn’t that how life is, a day to day practice of walking in His grace? I’ve felt stuck, unable to move, let alone dance. But I feel a groove coming! Love you (and miss you) my friend!

  10. So in our family, my son and I are the ones dancing like crazy while Daddy is hiding so embarrassed by us! It really gets him when I start dancing in the car!! πŸ™‚ I just love it!

    MB
    newlifesteward.com

    • LOVE it! hope you got his cheeks red while on vacation πŸ™‚
      When I am letting loose in the car –that’s when I’ll know I’ve finally found the freedom in it…

      Thanks for stopping by, Mary Beth!

  11. Nothing could be sweeter than the sheer abandon with which children do the things we adults want to hide from the world. Dance? Me? I’ve got two left feet, and the one on the left side of my body was reconstructed in a 4-part surgery some six years ago. Not much of a dancer that foot! I’m a wall flower, shy and retiring mostly. But I loved reading about “the grooves of grace,” and hope that I have those down pat, Nikki! Blessings, dear friend.

    • You’ve spent some time with me today, Sherrey! Thank you!! I’m honored…

      I’m so sorry to hear you have reasons not to join me on the dance floor. But nothing is stopping us on the inside, right?!? And let me tell you, you’ve got the groove of grace down real well, friend! What a delight it is to watch you! : )

      Hugs to you!

I can't wait to hear from you...

