Praying with Purpose ~ For our Fathers

Click for Flickr Credit

A good father is one of the most
unsung, unpraised, unnoticed,
and yet one of the most valuable assets in our society.
~ Billy Graham

It wasn’t until my husband became a father that I began to understand this quote and agree with it wholeheartedly.

You see, when we are children ourselves, we don’t see what the rest of the world sees. Our normal isn’t status defined. Our reality isn’t based on expectations. We’re not oblivious. We’re observant. Perceptive. Paying attention as we make our life’s choices. Easily influenced by those we hold in high regard.

I now have the privilege of seeing behind-the-scenes of parenting. And I see how most fathers end up with more of a hidden role. I recognize how easy it would be to ignore what one can do in a role that goes primarily unrecognized by those around us. And I have witnessed how we take fathers for granted.

(For the record, my husband is a tremendous father.
And I know how hard he works to keep it that way. He is not hidden to us.)

Friends, our fathers need our prayer. Our children are watching them. Their future relies on them. A father has more impact than most realize.

And I want to do just that. Pray. I want to prove that quote wrong. I want to sing their praises. I want to notice how valuable they are.

When I pray for my husband as a father, I tend to use a few verses in Proverbs. Friends, I would like to pray them for your father. For your child(ren)’s father. For you, my small audience of fathers. Will you join me?

I will teach you wisdom’s ways
and lead you in straight paths.
When you walk, you won’t be held back;
when you run, you won’t stumble.
Take hold of My instructions; don’t let them go.
Guard them, for they are the key to life.
Proverbs 4:11-13

The righteous who walks in his integrity—
blessed are his children after him!
Proverbs 20:7

Heavenly Father, what a gift You have given us. This chance to help raise Your children. To learn alongside them as we begin to see a greater glimpse of You through parenting. I humbly thank You, Lord, for what You are doing to my own heart as I continue on this unknown-to-me path of parenting. 

And I know I have said it before. I don’t know what I would do without my husband joining me on the journey. Striving with me to honor You in all we do. Yet I know if it became necessary, You would lead the way. You would carry me along. Your glory would prevail. For You are all I need.

Lord, You are all my husband needs. You are all any father needs to succeed in this role created by You. And You have given us an incredible handbook filled with how to succeed. Saturated with Your promises on how You will help along the way.

So I ask You, Father, to stand alongside our fathers. Give them glimpses of Your ways, Lord. How You would do things. Pour Your wisdom on them as they seek Your guidance. Meet with them as they look to Your Word for instruction. Because then I know they won’t fail. I fully believe nothing will hold them back from becoming a tremendous father. One that honors You.

Oh, God, guard their hearts. The enemy is coming at them from every angle because he knows the impact they have on society — our children. Holy Spirit, help them cling to the Promises given. Help them see the path ahead. Remind them of the Word so they can remember the key to life. For I know this is the path of righteousness. In doing so, they will walk in integrity. Our children will thrive as a result.  And Your glory will reign…

To You, Lord, be all glory and honor as You move in, around, and through our fathers. Praise Your name, Lord, as You work through their lives….

~~~~~~~~~

I feel like I just got started…
How about you, friend? How else should we pray for our fathers? How do you pray? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

To see my entire Praying With Purpose Series, you may CLICK HERE.

Linking up to:


14 thoughts on “Praying with Purpose ~ For our Fathers

  1. Great prayer…thank you, Nikki, prayed for my husband as a dad, and for your husband as Matty’s dad…have a blessed weekend with your wonderful family 🙂

  2. Good morning, Nikki! At least it’s just beginning the day where I am, and I can think of no better way than to pray with you this prayer for young fathers and mothers, but especially fathers today. Although my own is gone many years, these words and your prayer render memories of him that I so cherish. Thanks for writing from the heart and being a praying mom and wife. Blessings, friend!

    • Good evening, Sherrey. Loved coming to the computer to your greeting. Made me smile. I’m so glad this stirred cherished memories for you. Thanks for praying along with me.
      and p.s. — If there’s one thing I’ll say about becoming a parent, it’s that it sure has increased my prayer life! : ) Hugs to you, friend!

  3. Thank you Nikki for your prayer for our husbands and fathers. Beautiful post and I intend to pray more and also show more appreciation to my husband for being the wonderful father and grandfather he is. Blessings to you and your family.
    Joy

    • Trust you had a splendid day celebrating the fathers in your family, Joy! Thank you for praying with me. Striving with you to hold them up in praise, appreciation, and most importantly–prayer. May you have a glorious week! (and keep me posted on your movie project. I’m still praying, friend)
      All for Him,
      Nikki

I can't wait to hear from you...

