Prayer for the Graduate ~ Praying with Purpose

Flickr Credit: Clevercupcakes

There are a few names on my prayer list that are graduating this year. And I wanted to use scripture to pray for them more specifically.

I had big visions of finding a few verses that would serve as a commission of sorts. One that would call them into their life of independence and show them who could guide them along life’s journey.

It seems my heart has other plans as I can’t get over this verse and feel pressed this is the one. In fact, I may write it in their graduation card:

~~~~~~~~~~

May the Master take you by the hand
and lead you along the path of God’s love and Christ’s endurance.
2 Thessalonians 3:4-5 MSG

~~~~~~~~~~

For no one should have to do this journey alone. And I can’t think of a better travel partner than Jehovah. What more could you need?

and so I pray:

Father, You know them better than we ever could. And what a treasure they are. You have given them countless gifts, talents, skills, a unique purpose. And here they are. About to begin taking these next steps of the journey solo.

Lord, into Your hands we place them. Lead them with Your love. Jesus, give them the strength they need to overcome whatever obstacles stand in their way. Cultivate their spirits, Father, so they resonate You. For Your glory. 

Show them the way, Lord. However necessary. Make Your presence known to them, as they seek their way.

I know You have big plans for them and cannot wait to see what You can do. To You be all glory…

How about you? Do you have any graduates on your prayer list? How do you pray for them? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

NOTE: My Bloggers Prayer Project starts this Sunday. There’s still time to participate in whatever form you feel led. Are you willing to pray for someone each day for 31 days? To learn more, visit HERE.

Linking to:

 

6 thoughts on “Prayer for the Graduate ~ Praying with Purpose

  1. Coming over from Freshly brewed Sunday and glad I did. I do pray much for others but it completely skip my mind to pray for the upcoming graduates and they were listed in our church bulletin too. thanks so much for the reminder and push to do so!

  2. Thank you for this post. I have a graduate and this year we have received the most invitations ever. This calls for much prayer. My graduate chose Isaiah 41:9-10 as his verse.

    • I can’t think of better verses. How wonderful! Yes–much prayer needed! Hope you don’t mind, i’ve done just that.

      So thrilled you stopped by. thank you!

      All for Him,
      Nikki

I can't wait to hear from you...

