Perspective ~ Five Minute Friday

It’s that time again.
Where I join others over at Lisa-Jo’s.
We throw caution to the wind and just  write
For 5 minutes straight.
Without worrying if it’s right or not.
No editing or backtracking.
Just what our heart feels when given a prompt.
This week’s prompt:

___PERSPECTIVE___

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height,
for I have rejected him.
The Lord does not look at the things people look at.
People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.
I Sam 16:7

~~~~~~~~~~

It will never be enough. I can spend accumulative hours cleaning, scrubbing, wiping, vacuuming, dusting, sweeping, and it will never be enough. I strive to make this place we call home a sanctuary for my hard-working husband to come back  to every day. And some days I get close. Today was not one of them.

As he walks passed the fingerprinted patio door, steps over the matchbox track maze to greet me, he says “The house looks great, you must have worked hard today. Thank you.” And seals it with a kiss. I meet his gaze and realize. He sees me. He really sees me.

It seems I have had more of those days than not as of late. When I spin my wheels fierce and still do not see the tread left behind. Who knows if the cashier’s day was turned around with my smile and encouragement. Did she see Jesus in me? Am I like Him enough to change one’s perspective?

Some days it feels like I’m carrying around a holey bucket. And I keep filling it up and find it empty half way on my journey home.

But maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe I’m supposed to leave droplets of Him behind wherever I go. Maybe He enjoys the task of filling me up again. Maybe He’s not looking at the bucket anyway…but the journey. Or maybe my heart.

Father, I am but a vessel. Ready and willing to be used by You however necessary. Fill me, Lord, with You. Till I spill over. Use my holes and scars for Your glory. Turn this holey bucket into a Holy one, Father. I’m ready to see what You can do through me. Show me, Lord. Give me Your perspective.

STOP.

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Simply click on the button below!

How about you? What kind of vessel do you see yourself as? I’d love to hear.

For my 5 Minute Friday friends: I plan on taking a summer break from 5 Minute Fridays. I still hope to visit some of you as I have grown so fond of this community.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

28 thoughts on “Perspective ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. I love your heart and your desire to be used of God in whatever way He desires. I question my own in this sometimes, when I am washing dishes I did not use or underwear that are not my own — and complain. But I have to remember, everything we do, when we do it unto Him, is an act of worship.

    Blessings to you, friend.

  2. So many times I feel as if my bucket has holes, too, so I love the idea of leaving droplets of Christ behind you! Thank you for sharing the encouragement that He can turn our “holey” into HOLY.

  3. Maybe that a good thing indeed. Spilling droplets, or whole bucket-fulls of graces, everywhere we go. What a beautiful thought.

    Thank you for this sweet perspective to change the way I go about my day. {HUGS}

  4. Great post! It’s hard some days wondering what others see when they see me. I often hope that they see Jesus in my eyes, or my smile, or in the way I parent my girls.

    • I’m states away and I see Jesus in you, friend! I’m certain others who are looking see the same. Enjoy your weekend with those sweet girls of yours! and dogs…and hubby 😉

  5. You are leaving droplets of him wherever you go. And bucketfuls in your home. Whether others see your light or not is not our concern. A heart striving to please Him is all that matters. Clearly you have that.

  6. Love the way you saw the mess and clutter and he saw you and how it changed your perspective. And I think that holey bucket is the way it is supposed to be as pilgrims toward the cross. Not holding it all inside but spilling all over the place, wherever we go. Nice imagery Nikki. Hope you have a great weekend.

  7. Thanks for sharing your holey bucket with us and I’m sure that He is using you as you go to Him to be refilled…He is our daily manna…love and prayers, dear friend 🙂

    • He truly does give us all we need, doesn’t He. Striving to slow down so I can savor it. His blessings pouring down on me. . . . Thank you for the love and prayers, friend! Right back at you 🙂

  8. “I’m carrying around a holey bucket. And I keep filling it up and find it empty half way on my journey home.But maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe I’m supposed to leave droplets of Him behind wherever I go. Maybe He enjoys the task of filling me up again.” Oh Nikki, that’s EXACTLY it! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your “perspective”!!

  9. Getting rid of so much stuff has made my life so much easier and the house so much easier to clean 🙂 Aside from the the scripture just made me think that you just never know… Our perspective can become so skewed at times. I love the idea of droplets of grace …. ! Have a wonderful day!

    • Oh, yes. I prefer less so I can dust less! 🙂 And I’m learning to delight in the tiny fingerprints everywhere… Thrilled you stopped by! May you delight in Him today, friend!

  10. I always feel like what I do around the house isn’t enough. It is hard to keep up working full time. I never looked at a holey bucket that way before. I feel most days I fill myself up and them by midday I wonder where it all went. I like the thought that I leave small droplets of Jesus everywhere I go. Beautiful interpretation of perspective my friend!

    • Thank you, friend. A new perspective on our feeling of being drained is something I really needed, too! this one came to me in a dream a few weeks ago. me carrying around a rusty, holey bucket. and He was constantly refilling it when I would remember to stop and ask…

I can't wait to hear from you...

