The Only One for Me

~~~~~~~~~~

You must worship only the Lord your God.
He is the One who will rescue you from all your enemies.”
2 Kings 17:39 NLT

~~~~~~~~~~

When praise does not come easy, when life pushes me beyond the water’s surface, I want to remember this verse.

He’s the only one for me.
He will come to my rescue.
He alone is worthy of my praise.

He just is.

When my mind starts to wander, when something tangible starts to hold too much of my attention, may I remember that verse.

He’s all I need.
He’s more than enough.
He will be my shield, my lifesaver.

He’ll never let go.

When worship is far from my mind, when life’s sand becomes quick, may I remember that verse and praise Him.

I will sing of Your strength,
in the morning I will sing of Your love;
for You are my fortress,
my refuge in times of trouble.
Psalm 59:16 NIV

May I not forget who deserves my worship. My attention. My praise. For He alone is worthy.

He’s the only One who can rescue me.
He promised.
And I believe Him.

He deserves all of me.

How about you? How do you keep idols from creeping in? How do you keep praise on your lips? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

 

Note: I plan on talking about idols sometime in the near future. This post is a part of my thought process around it. I’d love your feedback on how you tackle this topic in your own life. 

Linking with:

16 thoughts on “The Only One for Me

  1. Oh Nikki, this is a never ending battle for me, keeping idols from creeping in. I think it’s probably my greatest temptation. Even after having our financial life knocked down to the bare bones from my husband’s lengthy season of unemployment, and all the lessons of not idolizing worldly things that I read about and lived day in and day out, it’s still so easy to fall into the trap of putting something before God. Every day I pray for Him to focus my eyes on what’s truly important.

  2. The easiest way for me to allow idols to creep in is in either justified anger or doing the right things for the wrong motives. I must learn how to be angry and sin not, and to do all things as unto the Lord. When I do not act according to His Word in these areas, I have might my right to them an idol….so I check my motives, over and over again.

  3. Just realized my comment didn’t take this morning. I was thinking about how those idols are so sneaky, how they show up in the passengers seat uninivited . . at least we thought we didn’t invite them. I also never responded to your tweet about praying for me (I am a mess after this trip) and the answer is of course and what a privilege to have you praying for me. Thank you so much.

    • Oh, you’re so sweet for stopping by again, Shelly. Thank you. silly comments. And no worries–I wasn’t expecting a reply. Just am thrilled about this prayer project I had to share it. Looking forward to praying with intention to those that have blessed me so. You included. I’m honored to pray for you, friend.

      And yes…idols are sneaky li’l buggers. They camouflage themselves so well… Hugs to you!

    • That’s what it takes, doesn’t it, Cherry. Focus.
      Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing with me!
      I need to stop over to your place soon. Your time off should be coming to a close soon I believe?
      Blessings to you,
      Nikki

  4. So glad He rescues us…I try to daily (but I forget sometimes) ask God to search my heart (Ps. 139:23,24) because the human heart is capable of deception (Jeremiah 17:9) so I need God to show me my idols etc. Frankly, it keeps me dependent on Him because I know I cannot follow Him fully in my own strength…hope that answers your question…love & prayers to you, Nikki 🙂

  5. Contentment and not chasing after material possessions is something that I constantly struggle with. Growing up I didn’t have much. And with a long season of unemployment for my husband and he loss of our home, I often find myself “seeking after worldly gain”. I know these things will never make me happy. Praise is so vital to helping me to keep my eyes fixed on Jesus! I want Him alone to be the only thing that I crave.

    • Your comment ties in so perfectly to what I posted today, Barbie. It’s the perfect segue. Yes–praise is vital to filling that hole we try to fill with stuff, isn’t it! Thanks for sharing with me, friend.
      and I feel you…it’s a tough lesson to learn. that with little we can have much. one that needs regular reminders, I think. . .

  6. Amen, Amen, Amen! Preach it girl!!! Praise really helps me through so much. Lately I’ve been reading the Bible at night before I go to sleep… I plan to read it straight through… God is so good!

    • Good for you, Ms. Kathleen! I just finished the Bible in 90 program and wow. was that ever an experience!
      Doesn’t it help set the tone for rest? To lay your mind down on the Word?
      Yes. God IS good. all the time. no matter what.
      Thanks for stopping by today, friend! I’ll be over soon.

I can't wait to hear from you...

