My Identity ~ Five Minute Friday

A bundle of sunshine given to me by my 4-year-old :)

A bouquet of sunshine from my 4 year-old πŸ™‚

It’s that time of week.
Where I throw caution to the wind
And join others over at Lisa-Jo’s
To write uninhibited for 5 minutes
No editing or backtracking required
Just letting my fingers fly and do the talking for me on the word:

___IDENTITY___

I am a homemaker. That’s the box I check on my taxes anyway. Society says I’m a Stay-at-home-mom. Honestly, I’m honored to be either, but wouldn’t mind being called Vice President of Domestics. And no, I’ve never had anyone call me that.

I have a business background where job descriptions are clearly defined. And I must admit I struggled with this aspect of my new role. There is no clear checks and balance sheet to compare my performance to. There’s essentially no one to report to, rely on or delegate to.

And I worry about failing at this job that has no set standard. Because those that would be affected the most mean everything in the world to me. Failing at this would mean I failed them.

Before I had kids, I had the common misconception that mothers who didn’t work outside of the home had it easy. They could watch all the morning daytime talk shows if they wanted. They could shop when the stores weren’t crowded. They could volunteer wherever they felt led. This role almost sounded too easy for me. Before I had kids.

Now I wonder where on earth I ever dreamed those notions up.

Friends, this is the hardest job I’ve ever had to date. And I love every single stinking minute of it. Yes, even the stinky ones.

And I want to do it well.

So every day I check in with my Boss. Multiple times. I knock, He always answers. Always available. I run things passed Him, He shows me the way. I ask Him how I’m doing, He shows me things I’m excelling at and things I need to work on.

You see, I’ve found my way. With God as my guide. The Bible as my manual. My role clearly defined.

I know my identity. I’m a servant of the King of Kings. Stationed at home.

And I’m called to love. Love well.

It’s the hardest job I’ve ever had to date. And I love every single minute of it.

STOP.

Whoa did those fingers fly on this one…{and I went 20 seconds over–sorry!}

Would you like to see what others thought of the prompt?
Would you like to play along?
Simply click on the button below!

How about you? What’s your identity? I’d love to hear how you describe it.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

40 thoughts on “My Identity ~ Five Minute Friday

  1. Thanks for your thoughts on your identity! I agree with you that being a stay-at-home mom is a hard job…I learn new things everyday and my child is only 11 months old! πŸ™‚ I love how you referred to the Lord as your boss…sure puts things into perspective throughout the day!

  2. Sweet Nikki, like Renae, I also just love that you know who your boss is! And I love how you check in, knowing He has you, that you are seen (because this job of staying at home can feel so isolating sometimes). You always encourage me. Thank you.

  3. Oh yes – we are a servant to the King of Kings! Could there be a better identity? πŸ™‚

    If you stop by my blog, be sure to check out the giveaway for a personalized birthstone locket!

  4. I love the way you wrote this, Nikki. Checking in with the boss through out the day. That’s the only way to survive this calling, isn’t it? And like you, how terribly dissolusioned I was about motherhood! Ha! What lessons I constantly learn as I live this life, raising these four. This IS the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Bless you, sweet sister. Love it!

  5. Called to love. That’s the job description for every one of us. And yet, sometimes it takes changing jobs, to one without evaluations and clear requirements to see it. And staying home to mother? Yes, this is hard. Good hard.

    • Amazing how our perspective clears when we bend lower…become less, isn’t it. So blessed by this mother gig! Thrilled you stopped by today–thank you! And a very Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  6. I had to laugh as I read your words. I too had a misconception about this “job” would bring. And it has been more humbling and beautiful than I ever dared imagine. It’s so nice to meet you!

    • I had no idea how much this mother role would change me. I’m so grateful it did for what a blessing it has been! I’m thrilled you stopped by today–it was so nice to meet you, too! Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  7. oh great post…daughter of the king…stationed at home. wonderful. I went to to check at a dr. office…she said…you are unemployed…I said no…I am a SAM…she said we don’t have a box for that…so you have to be under unemployed…how sad…this is where our society places the most valuable job in the universe. so thankful that God is continues to raise more young mom’s who get the importance of their job. you…have a wonderful mother’s day!!!

    • Oh, that is sad. So thankless this society. I must share I had the opposite experience at my doctor last time. When they asked what I do and I said I am a SAHM, the receptionist stood up, out of her chair, looked me square in the eye and reached out to shake my hand. Then said, “Thank you. You don’t hear it enough, so I want to say thank you.” I almost started crying right then and there!
      and it opened my eyes to how I need to do that more for anyone of service…

      Hugs to you, friend. And THANK YOU for bending lower. becoming less so your children could become more. Thank you. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Ro!

  8. I love the Boss… and I completely relate to the not having a “neatly and clearly defined” job description.. this is a learn as your go — learn as you grow — kinda of job and one that God has used to refine me and draw me close.

    You are a good mama… and an inspiring one ❀ We journey together πŸ™‚

    Blessings friend…

  9. Amen! When you know who you are and who you belong to for eternity, it makes like a little less stressful I think. Have a fabulous weekend πŸ™‚ P.S. I went about a minute over, but whose counting – ha!

    • It DOES make it less stressful, doesn’t it! So blessed I know my identity in Him…I can’t imagine doing this mother gig without Him. Enjoy your weekend as well! And a very Happy Mother’s Day to you! (thanks for making me feel better about going over, too πŸ™‚ )

  10. Love that you are checking in with the Boss (smiles) and your heart for your family…what a blessing you are to them and to me as I read your words…Thank you, dear Nikki and Happy Mother’s Day πŸ™‚

  11. “Stationed at home.” I LOVE this! It IS where I am stationed. It’s where I’m supposed to be. And I know what you mean about thinking that this “should” be “easy” and I “should” have all this extra time to “volunteer” and stuff.

    Sometimes I put pressure on myself to volunteer for things, after all, I AM home “full-time.” But it never quite works out the way I envisioned in my head. I always have less time than I imagined. Sometimes I wonder where it all goes. You are so right. This is the hardest job I’ve ever done. But I’m so thankful I get to do it.

    May you have a wonderful Mother’s Day, friend. πŸ™‚

    • Oh the pressure! Yes! it wasn’t until recently that I realized I am the only one putting that pressure on myself. to do more, be more, serve more, etc… What a blessing this mother gig is. I’m grateful you get to do it, too! Happy Mother’s Day to you! And thanks for stopping by, friend. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I want to say the same thing to you, Janelle! Thank you. You bless me so. Hugs to you as I wish you a very blessed Mother’s Day! Praying you feel well enough that day to celebrate — for you are worth celebrating! Enjoy!

  12. “I know my identity. I’m a servant of the King of Kings. Stationed at home.
    And I’m called to love. Love well.”

    i love this part! actually ties into what i wrote on the word identity, though i missed the part about writing on being a mom (guess my mind was in other places, though i did write with a baby on me, so that counts right?).

    i totally agree that when we check in with Him, we have what we need to succeed at what He puts before us. and… being a mom is the hardest job i have ever had too!!

    beautiful post!

    my recent post: the number 1 distraction to knowing God

    • Thank you for stopping by, Charis! He does give us all we need, doesn’t He…when we seek Him. So blessed to do this mother gig with Him by my side! I can’t imagine it otherwise!
      (and yes–it so counts that you did your 5 min write while bouncing a babe!) πŸ™‚

      Thrilled you stopped by–thank you! And a very blessed Mother’s Day to you!

  13. “I know my identity. I’m a servant of the King of Kings. Stationed at home. And I’m called to love. Love well.” I LOVE this beautiful and confidently spoken statement! So true. But I must say that I actually quite like not having a clearly defined job description. It keeps me from feeling like a failure if I don’t live up to it. πŸ˜‰ ha! Beautifully written Nikki.

    • Oh, you made me smile to see how different one can feel. πŸ™‚ I wonder why it’s easier for me to feel like a failure when I don’t know the expectations…I might have to think on that one! Thanks for stopping by, Stacy, and for giving me a new perspective! πŸ˜‰ Happy Monday to you!

  14. I have so much admiration and respect for women who get the awesome privilege of staying home with their children. I am so thankful that even in my 9 to 5 job, that the Main Boss is always there for me to consult. Love & blessings!

    • And I have extreme respect and admiration for women who have to split their personalities and do two jobs well! You amaze me, Barbie. So thankful we both have a Boss of grace…and am thrilled you stopped by. Thank you! (Praying for you, friend)

I can't wait to hear from you...

