Inspired Utterance ~ The Mother’s Day Version

I spread the middle open wide. It’s worn binding no longer groans with the task. There’s Proverbs, and I turn to the last chapter. My journal is now opened to the next clear page, my fingers curled around my favorite pen. One last silent prayer and I’m ready to begin. This I must do.

When I chose my one word for 2012, I knew this was something I needed to overcome. To hold myself accountable, I posted it on my blogging bucket list. Because I determined the first step was proclaiming it. This unspoken fear I have of Proverbs 31. The fear that I don’t measure up. That I might not even know what character I am let alone noble.

After much prayer, I decide to read it slow, asking with each sentence for His Spirit to speak to mine. And if there’s one thing I’ve learned in recent years, it’s this:

If I show up, He does too.
If I come to Him with hands unclenched, He readily grabs hold.
And never lets go.

Today was no different. Except for one thing: His agenda was different from mine. You see, He stopped me at the first verse. Before the description of the woman even began.

The sayings of King Lemuel—an inspired utterance
his mother taught him.
Proverbs 31:1 NIV

My eyes wouldn’t move passed it. They read it over and over and over:

“inspired utterance…his mother taught him.”

In the Book of the Bible that is considered wisdom-packed. Where men of God, generally of higher stature, share wisdom they’ve gained with us. This King thought it was important to mention he learned his wise words from his own mother.

She was the reason his words were of importance. Why his words are remembered centuries later.

His mother. She taught him.

My intentions were thrown aside. Instead of listing lessons learned from the Proverbs 31 woman, my journal gained lessons I’ve learned from my own mother:

  • The comfort of others is more important than your own.
  • A song of praise can uplift any mood.
  • Some things can be forgotten and ignored. Respect is not one of them.
  • Love can be expressed in many forms, but the only way it will be remembered is through your actions. When you lay your own life down.
  • A mother’s work is never done. But always flexible.
  • You don’t have to know all the answers. You just need to be brave enough to ask for them.
  • It’s not where you live but how.
  • All that is required to make something out of nothing is creativity.
  • There is always someone hurting more than you. Help them and your own hurt will be forgotten.
  • A smile is beauty in any language. So take care of yours. And use it.
  • Change is merely a challenge of making your new situation better than your old. Embrace it and you’ll see the silver lining.

Before I knew it, I had listed 22 things. 22 nuggets of wisdom my mother has taught me.

Friends, in the portion of Proverbs 31 that describes the woman of noble character, there are 22 verses.

That’s when I felt it. The giant squeeze of love coming from my Heavenly Father. The whispers of encouragement telling me I’m not far off. In fact, I’m well on my way.

Because my mother taught me.

And now that I am blessed with the same title, I’m striving to pay it forward.

How about you? What has your mother taught you? I’d love to hear.

Might I challenge you to write down 22 things the one you consider mother has taught you this Mother’s Day? Consider it your own inspired utterance…

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Mom: I know you’re reading. You might as well know you are getting the complete list of 22 things, with a few narratives, this weekend. Happy Mother’s Day from me with love!

NOTE: This is the first post of a series I still plan on doing: The Woman of Noble Character. The week before Mother’s Day seemed appropriate to share this portion. Any additional posts when done will be added HERE.

Linking up to:

Allume’s Favorite Monthly Post Link Up Party and

And my dear friends over at:

29 thoughts on “Inspired Utterance ~ The Mother’s Day Version

  1. Loved reading about your mom and the list of nuggets. Look forward to your series on the woman of noble character. Proverbs 31 is every woman’s favorite, I think.

    • Thank you so much, Sherrey. I don’t know why I have feared the Proverbs 31 woman so…I’m anxious to see what God has for me through it. So grateful to have you along for my journey. Thank you!

  2. Nikki, I love this. I’m sure your mom will too! A few weeks ago I attended a women’s retreat at our church. The retreat covered Proverbs 31 and I gained this entirely new perspective of it I had never fully understood. I don’t want to share my thoughts on it until you’ve had a chance to write your series of posts about it because I know God can speak to each of us differently. All I can say is, wow, did He open my eyes!! 🙂

    • Oh, I cannot wait to hear your perspective, Rosann! Glad you’re along for my journey of discovering what He has in store for me. Might have to bounce some things off of you! 🙂 I’ll tweet you. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I can’t wait to get it. You make me so proud…the woman you have become. You have such a way with words. I’m anxious to see where you go with the “Proverbs 31” lady. I haven’t always agreed with her. 😉 love you!!

    • Thanks, Mom 😉 {{blush}}
      I’m anxious to see where He leads me, too. I must say, so far it isn’t even close to what I expected! Thankful you are here for my journey. thank you. Love you, too!!

  4. Oh my…this is just beautiful…I love when God comes with sweet surprises…Oh how I think he longs for do this for us more than we realize…but like you said…the more we come…come with open hearts and hands…he comes in life a flood. “I stand at the door and Knock”…he doesn’t bust it open…He knocks…waiting for us to open our heart to him. I know your mom will be very blessed…have a great day~

    • I’m so thrilled to be neighbors today over at Emily’s so we can share our hearts today. I, too, love God’s sweet surprises. They truly are new every morning and I’m striving each day to remember to seek. to hear that knock on my heart’s door. what joy! Happy Mother’s Day to you, friend!

  5. smiles…nice…you open up a scripture that many might glance over with new insight….his mother taught him…love the list you came up with as well…some good nuggets there…we are always teaching our kids whether it is intentional or not…i think it is good to think on the things we are teaching them…

  6. I get this. Proverbs 31:10-31 has been engrained on my brain these days.
    My mother taught me about forgivness, for anything and it’s not an option. She taught to sing a happy song too. She taught me so many things and I’m grateful.
    We can make or break as mothers. I am trying so hard to make.

    • forgiveness required always. what a valuable lesson to learn! so thrilled to hear you have taken some nuggets of joy from the lessons your mother has taught you! Thank you so much for sharing with me. and with God as our partner in this mother gig, I’m confident we’ll be among those that make it. not break it. To God be the glory. And Happy Mother’s Day to you, Alexis!

  7. What a beautiful testimony of love toward your mother. And a great example of God blessing your intentionality to seek him. My mother taught me that “everything is going to be okay.” I wish she were still here to remind me of that in person, but I’m thankful I still have the memory.

    • “Everything is going to be okay.” oh, that is on my list of 22, Lisa! What a blessing to have memories to treasure of your mother. Linger long in them this weekend, friend.

  8. Sadly, I didn’t learn much from my mother, but I have learned a great deal from my mother-in-law. One thing–always believe in your kids and love them unconditionally. Great post! Thanks, Nikki!

    • I’m going to have to hang out more at your place to learn more of your journey, Christina. I’m so thrilled to hear your mother-in-law has risen to the task that you so deserve! What a powerful lesson to learn. One I join with you in striving for every day. thank you for sharing with me, friend!

  9. This was just so beautiful . . . and I loved the picture of the momma duck and her littles! I lost my mom when I was only 8 years old, but she left me with one thing, A Bible she had given me the Christmas before her death. I still have it. I wrote about that gift in my post and all it has meant to me down through the years! Thank you for this today. It was beautiful!
    http://www.hiddenrichessecretplaces.blogspot.com/

    • Your post was a beautiful tribute to your mother, Cora. I was blessed to read it, thank you! What a treasure to leave your child behind…
      And thank you for your kind words. Am always so thrilled to see you have visited here. thank you!

  10. oh, how, truly special that God gave you that special squeeze as you read Proverbs 31 and the gift of a mom that imparted so much beautiful truth in your life…wow! Thanks for sharing, dear Nikki 🙂

    • Don’t you love those squeezes?!? I’m still not over it. How He slowed me down so when I thought I needed to go so far…His timing amazes me.
      Hugs to you, friend. Will be over soon to read your words (I have a hard time waiting for the email to come!) 🙂

  11. maybe that is the ultimate legacy, to be one who teaches good things? I think you’ve stumbled upon something quite profound, giving the Spirit the credit…I appreciate you sharing this with me. I felt encouraged…not by a “to do” list, but by the testimony of women, working hard, for their children.

    • I think you’re right, JoAnn. I know it’s a legacy I want to leave…so blessed to have been shown this nugget of wisdom. Thrilled you stopped by today–thank you!

  12. i find it so refreshing that you’re intimidated by proverbs 31, as well. and i love this: “there is always someone hurting more than you.” reminds me of the plato quote, “be kind. everyone has a battle to fight.” xo

    • I had a hard time not quoting plato in my lessons learned! that quote is one of my favorites….but its truth I learned from my mother. Thanks for stopping by, friend. And a very Happy Mother’s Day to you! love to you.

  13. I love this! I used to be scared of the verses, but now I embrace them! I really feel that she is a women to strive for. She wasn’t born perfect, and I bet she had plenty of bad days – but it was her attitude and her love for the Lord and her family that blessed her greatly. You, my friend, are well on your way!

    • You are so right, Aurie. It was her heart, wasn’t it. Thank you so much for your encouragement and kind words. You bless me so! I hope to share what God showed me soon when I finally faced those verses head on 😉

  14. Pingback: A Father’s Love « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

