Yes, Lord!

♪♫ I’m trading my sorrow
I’m trading my shame
I’m laying it down for the joy of the Lord

I’m trading my sickness
I’m trading my pain
I’m laying it down for the joy of the Lord

And we say yes, Lord! Yes, Lord! Yes, yes, Lord!
Yes, Lord! Yes, Lord! Yes, yes, Lord!
Yes, Lord! Yes, Lord! Yes, yes, Lord! Amen

I’m pressed but not crushed persecuted not abandoned
Struck down but not destroyed
I’m blessed beyond the curse for His promise will endure
And His joy’s gonna be my strength

Though the sorrow may last for the night
His joy comes with the morning. (repeat through chorus) ♪♫

Trading My Sorrows” by Darrell Evans

~~~~~~~~~~

This worship song has always been one of my favorites. It’s one I never grow tired of singing. And I was so excited to hear our church’s worship team start the intro of it this last Sunday.

You see, my son has taken to worship songs lately, soaking in every word. He’ll then ask my husband and I questions about them later on. There’s no telling when, but one thing was certain: I was going to be ready to talk about this tune.

One thing I love about this relationship I have with my Savior is He always manages to put me in my place. And He has no problem using my 4 year-old to do it.

As I was tucking my son into bed last night, he said:

“Mom, when you were singing ‘yes, Lord, yes, Lord’,
what were you saying ‘yes’ to?”

I was ready to talk about the joy of the Lord. About trading in our sorrow, sins and even shame. But I had not anticipated this question.

In efforts of not leaving you hanging, I told my son I was saying yes to obeying Him. I was letting God know I was listening to Him and was willing to do whatever He asked of me through the Bible and through my prayer time. And left it at that.

But I’m still thinking about it.
And might ask myself this very question every day this week…

How about you? What are you saying “Yes, Lord!” to today? I’d love to hear.

If you want to listen in to this great worship song, you may click HERE.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking to:

16 thoughts on “Yes, Lord!

  1. Isn’t it a gift when our kids ask us questions that make us stop and ponder? I’ve been praying and asking God for the grace to follow Jesus wholeheartedly with courage, joy and love…can’t do it on my own…need Him! Praying that He will show you what to say “yes” to…love to you, Nikki 🙂

    • Oh, it is one big gift, Dolly! So blessed to be learning so much on this journey of parenting. I had no idea how much it would draw me closer to Him when I began. I need Him, too…more and more every day. The more knowledge I gain, the more I realize how much more I need Him! Thank you for the prayers, friend (and I’m so thrilled about Barbie and the 31 days of prayer…I’m thinking of joining in!)
      Hugs to you, friend!

  2. “I’m blessed beyond the curse” – oh how I thank God that His son broke the hold of the curse! It is sweet blessing when our children ask us about those seeds sinking deep into their souls – it encourages, doesn’t it!

  3. I love Darrell Evans. He used to go to our church and we were so blessed to hear his music all the time! What an intuitive question for your son to ask. And your answer was perfect!
    I found you through Paula Ebert’s Worship Wednesday Blog Hop!
    Blessings,
    ~Erin

    • So thrilled to have met you today, Erin! Thank you for stopping by! (Don’t you love Paula’s link up?!?)
      How fun to have sung Darrell Evans regularly! I thoroughly enjoy him. His music is so heart felt and inspiring all in one. Will be stopping by your place soon! Thank you!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

I can't wait to hear from you...

